We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lost River Valley Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lost River Valley Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Pro: Site was on brook. Cons: Customer Service, VERY narrow roads, Bathroom not well maintained, Swimming area Customer service issues: There were originally 3 families travelling with us, one family needed to cancel. Someone at the campground cancelled the wrong site so the two families that were supposed to be camping together were not next to each other. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave G
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Gee I hardly know where to start. It seems we totally blew this one. First of all I of course apologize if any of the staff came off as being rude or unconcerned for your problems. sometimes responses can be taken wrong and i certainly hope this was the case, but I will discuss this with my staff. I know...

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Eveyone that worked at the camp was very friendly. The sites and bathrooms were extremely well maintained and never too busy. I stayed at site 53 and couldn't have been happier. The view was amazing and it was just far enough away from the other sites that I didn't feel sandwiched. I will absolutely stay here agian and would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Talia14
Jim K, Front Desk at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much we are so glad that you enjoyed it and hope to see you again!

New Jersey
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We were very impressed with how shady all the sites were in addition to the spacing between them. They really cater nicely to tent sites - you can get some along the river although it is pretty low in the summer. We were there in a 30 ft class C and loved our site which was #32 - they don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katebrymom
Jim K, Camp Store at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope you come back again sometime!

Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 night stay. Have been camping here for 30 years and would highly recommend it. The campsites on the river are scenic and relaxing. Love falling asleep to the sound of the water moving over the rocks. The campground is very clean and well run.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TRNQLTY
Jim K, Front Desk at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you next year!

Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We have visited this campground every year for the past 5 years and have always loved it. This year we decided to bring some business and allow 12 of our friends to tag along. As soon as we came into the office to check in one woman immediately had an unfriendly approach. Once we set up our sites we all...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Jessica G
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Everything has to be put in perspective. I had three different campers come in the office to complain about how the music was blasting through the campground. I had a security person tell them to lower the music but he came back saying he asked them to turn it off because they had the bass so high even at low...

Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

This campground was fantastic. We stayed there for a week at site 85. The staff was super friendly, our site was clean, flat, and HUGE, and there was plenty of activities to keep us busy the whole time. The only two things are that the sites are very close with little to no vegetation between them, there are also only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UOlive
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for all the nice things you said about the campground and we appreciate you taking the time to do so. Next visit we will try to find you a site that is a bit more private.

Newton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

We have chosen to have our family/couples camping trips here for the last 5 years. The tent sites are very nice and groomed daily. The brook sites in the back are the best as they are quiet and surprising private considering the proximity of the sites. The camp store has EVERYTHING you would need! Literally..if you forget something silly they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NHbearguide
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

wow what a great review. So nice of you to say such nice things about our campground. we appreciate you taking the time to tell us and others.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I went with some family members to Lost River during Fourth of July Weekend. It was a lovely experience! I had gone with friends a few years back to Jigger Johnson campground and had an extremely, extremely horrible experience there with the ill mannered ranger and sheriff so I was super hesitant to camp in NH ever again! But the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlueAstrid23
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate you taking the time. You can be sure I will have a talk with the crew about driving so fast. I will read this review to them and let them know they are just as responsible for driving slow as are the campers.

Hope, RI
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We were visitors to the campground at 8:30 pm on a weeknight after being invited by friends staying at the campground to stop by for a fireside visit. We didn't make it past the office. The employee at the office informed us we would be charged the per visitor daily usage fee and then proceeded to watch us like imposters...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rita P
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

It is fine if you do not want to pay the visitor fees. As far as being watched I guess years of operating a campground has left me a little skeptical of people. I have over the years found several people who complain about visitors fees which many campgrounds charge and them find them trying to sneak in to see...

Merrimack, New Hampshire
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We stayed at Lost River Valley Campground the weekend of July 10th 2015. We are tent campers with young children. Pros: - The staff in the office are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and attractions. They made suggestions for our family and I overheard them doing the same with other campers. - As other reviews have said, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NHFamily0f5
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Sorry about the rocks as we always rake every site every time someone leave so I don't know if kids were playing and threw them on the site or what the situation was but if you had let us know I would have sent someone over right away to clean that up for you. thank you for letting us know...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
7.5 km away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
592 reviews
2.6 km away
The Notch Hostel
The Notch Hostel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Maple Lodge Cabins and Motel
7.0 km away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#4 of 20 in Lincoln
421 reviews
7.4 km away
Days Inn Lincoln
Days Inn Lincoln
#15 of 20 in Lincoln
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lost River Campground is set on 180 acres in the White Mountains of New Hampshire and surrounded by the White Mountain National Forest. We are right in the middle of all the attractions in the White Mountains and can accommodate tents, pop ups, trailers and motorhomes. Camping cabins can sleep up to four in the one room or up to 6 in the two room cabins. Many sites are right next to either the Lost River or Walker Brook. Seasonal sites are also available with beautiful mountain top views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lost River Valley Campground

Address: 951 Lost River Rd, Woodstock, NH 03262-2438
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Woodstock
Number of rooms: 139
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lost River Valley Campground staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Seacoast NH

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Lost River Valley Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“this is a campground so "rooms" doesn't fit, but a campsite along the river is best”
 of 5 bubbles ValFromCT_11, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early for creek side sites.”
 of 5 bubbles nyglover, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Tell them your preferences--wooded site, site near the river, close to the restroom, etc. They will try to accommodate you.”
 of 5 bubbles R6399SYbethc, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The sites along Lost River seem to be closer to the road. You can check out a map on their website which is pretty cool in itself. Those along Walker Brook seem to be further away.”
 of 5 bubbles lisadA4607XT, 12 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Stay along the brook if noise bothers you. Sites beside the river are along Route 112 and you can hear the vehicles go by.”
 of 5 bubbles andreaw694, 4 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5