We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Whale Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
White Whale Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for White Whale Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

If You want to Enjoy Barnegat Light during the Hot Summer Months - the White Whale Motel is a Nice Get Away! It's clean & quiet. Close to the Beach, restaurants, museum, shops & Barnegat Light Park. Nothing Fancy but very easy In & Out. No Food is served there but there are few restaurants close by. You can get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tssdeals
england
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Wonderful motel, very friendly owners, quiet unspoilt part of long beach island. Easy access to beach. Motel room 101 was clean, spacious enough for two people - it had two bedrooms, free wifi, seats outside on deck and access to lovely garden. I will definitely book here again.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rachel25
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 August 2015

As always we love coming to LBI and exploring! Especially for a night or two. The White Whale is just what my title states, not bad at all. It is VERY basic. Very small rooms. I do however have to say it is clean and you can park directly outside of your room. We had a basic room and had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EamonKid
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

EamonKid thank you for staying with us and posting a review: You are correct our dunes are long and our beaches are large but in the summer there is a free beach tram that takes you from the beach path at top of our street to where the lifeguard sits by the water. Our beaches have natural white sand and...

Exeter, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I have been staying in Barnegat Light for over 40 years , so I know the island extremely well. I could not get my normal house on 16th street for the week of my son's birthday, and I HAD to be there as it is tradition to spend his birthday on the island. I knew about the White Whale for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shoregirl1972
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I took care of the silverware shortage you pointed out.

Red Bank, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 July 2015

It was our first time staying in Barnegat Light, and we enjoyed every second at the quaint motel which offers exactly what you need at the beach for the right price...a bed, a bathroom, an outdoor shower, a small refrigerator & microwave and free access to the beach. The large backyard offers hammocks, grills and picnic tables. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carin H
New Jersey
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I gave this an average rating only because there's not much to this motel. It's a clean place to sleep and a place to shower after a day at the beach. That's about it. However, I felt this motel had some charm and enjoyed looking into the private back yard area from my room and also from the porch outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jrman66
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Jonathan, thank you for posting your feedback; I will add new refrigerators on our list of things to get before the 2015 season.

Kingston, New York
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in a downstairs room which was just large enough for a double bed and bathroom with a shower. The air conditioner didn't work, but it cooled off at night and was not a problem. I would not want to stay there on a hot night without a working air conditioner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Walt L
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Walt, you did not tell us that there was a problem with the air conditioner in your room. We keep spare AC units on the premises; if you told us we would have immediately rectified the problem.

Bronx, New York
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

After walking by this quaint motel countless times during trips to LBI, we decided to stay here as a partial-week alternative to the weekly beach house rental. We stayed in the HUGE Bay Suite and I'm writing this review because I couldn't be happier with our decision to stay here. With a sun porch and private deck, kitchen, living room,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MaryMommy
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We visited preseason. Four adults and an infant. We stayed in room 201, which is a huge 2 bedroom suite. More like an apartment. Fully equipped kitchen, great dining space, huge sun porch, we immediately felt right at home. No trouble cooking up a great meal with fresh seafood from Cassie's. If you are planning on cooking, bring spices and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joyinthedesert
Burdett, New York
Reviewed 2 April 2014

So close to all that Barnegat Light offers the serious birders and yet affordable, clean, comfortable with very friendly, concerned owners and....very reasonable rates. We walked everywhere and appreciated the great diner around the corner for coffee early in the AMs and a next door restaurant for some very good food and drink.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KestrelHaven

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat Light
16.1 km away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
111 reviews
15.1 km away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
22.7 km away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
56 reviews
21.9 km away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#7 of 8 in Beach Haven
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family friendly motel located in Barnegat Light, a small quiet town on the northern tip of Long Beach Island A short walk to the ocean, bay, inlet and some of the best beaches at the Jersey ShoreResturants, gift shops and antique shops located nearby We are the closest motel to the Barnegat Lighthouse and the Barnegat Inlet ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Whale Motel

Address: 20 W 7th St, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006-1591
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Price Range: $98 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
White Whale Hotel Barnegat Light
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Whale Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Whale Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from Kubel's Restaurant. It is down the road from the Motel, but was not worth the $$ or the wait...”
 of 5 bubbles 776elm, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose the back of the hotel that faces the yard.”
 of 5 bubbles christinemillerc, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the second floor in the back of the building”
  • Bathroom
  • frig and mircrowave
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles preciousness22, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms looked similar.”
 of 5 bubbles EamonKid, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Get a room in the back, facing the yard. Do not get room 105 as it has stair next to it that leads to the top floor room.”
  • View from Room 105
  • Bathroom
  • Microwave and Refrigerator Area
  • Room 105
  • Bed in Room 105
 of 5 bubbles jrman66, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5