We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Grenville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Grenville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Grenville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed at the Grenville Hotel and it was the worst experience that I had in my 50 years of attaining accomodations. The Grenvile is advertised with central air and central heat. When I entered the room I wondered why did they have a space heater/fireplace and a stand alone AC unit that vented out thru the window which was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary D
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Upon arrival you were not sure your dog would be quiet in the room because it was locate next to the elevator. The elevator is near to all of the 29 rooms on 3 floors. Front desk clerk explained the dog could not be left alone. I think it was down hill after that. You inquired about a suite located...

Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We chose the Grenville because we were looking for a dog friendly hotel. It was a great choice!!! The Grenville is a beautiful building.We were so very impressed w/ Renee and Harry and the staff for their personal touch. Our room was very clean and comfortable I loved the hand painted florals which, to me, added to the delightful Victorian...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marge O
grenville3100, Public Relations Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Everyone at The Grenville was delighted to read your sincere good wishes. We Thank You again for taking your time to write a truthful and kind review. We look forward to your return. Have a wonderful winter, Renee and Harry and Staff

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stepping into this this charming hotel is stepping into yesteryear! On Friday afternoon we checked into the hotel. We settled into the beautiful,victorian Georgette Room with it's vaulted ceiling and chandalier. While waiting for guests to check in,Renee and I went over last minute details for wedding. She was so helpful and accomodating! When our guests arrived, Renee checked them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheryl n
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Truthfully words can not describe how wonderful that weekend was. A couple whose hearts are filled with kindness and love were married by the fireplace. The room was filled with happy spirits anxious to see this blessed Marriage take place. Gerard and Cheryl, we wish you a lifetime of happiness. Have a wonderful Holiday Season , Merry Christmas, and we'll...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I decided to go down to Bay Head to my favorite resting spot for a couple of days after the hurricane. I was very glad to see there was no damage to the building. I have been going down for almost a decade now and I can definitely say the service just keeps getting better. The building may be geting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john p
grenville3100, General Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Yes, The Grenville was one of the very few buildings that did not flood during the storm. We were able to remain open and take care of numerous guests that had no where to go since other locations were forced to close. The Grenville is celebrating 122 years. It is the tallest building in Bay Head. The winter winds and...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the Grenville on 9/8/11. We were greeted by a nice gentleman, Marty. Due to hurricane reports there were some cancelations and we were upgraded to a more expensive room. It was newly remodeled and very clean. The carpet was older but clean. The mattress was very comfortable and the bedding was clean/ smelled fresh. Do not expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rncsue
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You for your honest review. Yes we try to upgrade guests whenever possible. Your truthfulness concerning the room air quality and cleanliness was greatfully appreciated. Our constant goal is to make every customer feel at home, comfortable and happy. Service is our priority. Your photos are amazing. With 122 years of history the walls and spirits must have amusing...

Freehold, New York
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just awful. Will never go back. We paid for an extended weekend but went home after one night. And of course no refund. Deluxe room was dingy and smelled musty. No one at the desk until we had to yell 'hello' a few times. But dinner in the restaurant was delicious albeit expensive. The website originally boasted a wrap-around porch...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TMullins1957
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Mullins, We were very surprised and disappointed to see your review on Tripadvisor.com. We were very accommodating in honoring an expired restaurant.com reservation that was cancelled twice last year. Upon early check out you were asked if everything was OK. As You looked upward to the sky your answer was “we have no reason to stay longer”. Naturally...

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Booked a 3 night stay because we wanted to enjoy labor day at the shore, wasnt expecting a great place but was totally unprepared for the horror show that occured. The hotel is completely run down - broken bathroom door, peeling paint, windows that dont open etc. All bareable until we got back from enjoying the sun to take a...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank NJtravelPro80
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

repeat of previous customer who could not get refund from hotel.com and decided this might be the perfect solution. NO, Bed bugs here!! Rooms are sprayed regularly by company to prevent any problem. Customer thought this would be a good way to get a free 3 day weekend, did not work, sorry. Yes hotel is dated but it is CLEAN...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We booked a room to stay at the hotel and apon arriving it was decent for a hotel near the shore. After falling asleep for a couple hours I woke up and there were 5 bed bugs on my pillow!!! It was absolutely disgusting. Don't waste your time or money in this place. Management denies there are any bugs when...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank NJBird
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

SCAM , yes you were not refunded because you are trying to extort monies from hotel and booking agent. both refused to be apart of your scam. phony photos, leaving luggage for days in room and then presenting hugh bill for new items. you have been reading and watching too many shows on how to SCAM hotels.

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Everything is run down and dirty or broken. Management follows up on every poor review with a hilarious mangement response; and then a fake great review. I just regret that I didn't check trip advisor before going. 10-15 years ago this a great hotel, no longer. We came to visit friends who live in the area and when they found...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Daisy1217
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay. Unfortunately we do not have any record of your complaint while you were staying here. It is also disheartening to hear your friends did not speak highly of us. We can only improve our service by listening to the feedback from our customers. After an exteremly busy summer, with constant...

Verona, New Jersey
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Booked it originally because it was pet friendly and I am familiar with the beautiful, classy area of Bay Head. i had brunch there about 15 years ago but never stayed in the hotel. The front desk staff was friendly immediately and we got a comfortable, clean room. From my room I could see the sun rise on the ocean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stilettosong
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time from your review. We appreciate your time and kind words. We look forward to your next visit. Wishing you a wonderful winter, Renee and Staff

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Head
0.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
145 reviews
1.8 km away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
190 reviews
10.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
580 reviews
1.5 km away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
674 reviews
1.0 km away
The Bentley Inn
The Bentley Inn
#1 of 3 in Bay Head
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
125 Year old Victorian Hotel 100 yards from the ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grenville

Address: 345 Main Ave, Bay Head, NJ 08742-4735
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Price Range: $130 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grenville 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Bay Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Grenville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in # 301 which overlooked the two neighbors yards & pools...AC worked great”
  • Nice safe area to walk and visit
  • Room #301 grey area with small pink triangle.....
  • Toilet and shower separate room, sink is in the room
  • table lamps had outlets to charge your phone overnight
 of 5 bubbles MagikalMom, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“parking is all on street 24/7 but one night we had to park on the side street as there was no parking in the front.”
 of 5 bubbles barryd540, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We like the front rooms with a balcony. You can leave to door open for a nice breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles Totowanj, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“4th floor has the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Spm888, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Dont stay here at all”
 of 5 bubbles kdkrenzel, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay