We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dormer House

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dormer House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Millington, Maryland
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was probably our 10th time of staying at The Dormer House. It has a nice central location and is a good value. Hosts are always friendly Nd the accommodations are inviting. Tea time and breakfast are tasty and served on the porch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank number3girl
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your loyalty and coming back all these years! It means so much to us. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!

Hamilton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Planned a romantic weekend with my wife. After searching many B&Bs found what I was looking for in the Smith Cottage. We live in an old house and know what to expect but found the ceilings cracked, caulking peeling, torn shades and painting nearly falling off. The furniture was comfortable and we appreciated the periodness of it. Was disappointed that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don728
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review our bed and breakfast. It is extremely important to us that you enjoy your visit, so I am deeply sorry that you felt we didn't live up to your expectations. We definitely appreciate the feedback because we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you again! Diana The Dormer...

Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have stayed at the Dormer House a few times. It is clean but needs to be updated. The price I guess reflects this which is fine since it is one of the affordable B&B's in Cape May you can't complain about that. Breakfast was delicious!! I would stay again with no problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shoreluver
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and will pass this along to our staff. We are always looking for ways to improve and will absolutely take your comments into consideration. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again! Diana The Dormer House

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a great time at the Dormer House.The breakfasts were very good.You can't beat the location- close to the beach and close to the Washington Mall. The room was charming and the video that Dennis and Lucille made was a riot!The afternoon snacks were wonderful after a relaxing day on the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the location. Thank you for your kind words about our videos on our website as well. We are in the process of making a few more right now so stay tuned!! Thanks again, Diana The Dormer House

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I just got back from our vacation at the Dormer House. This was our second stay at the Dormer House, and we just love it there. Dennis and Lucille are so nice and really make you feel welcome. The location is great, we just parked our car and never had to worry about moving it if we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank troyt10
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! It means so much to us that you enjoyed yourselves during your return visit. All feedback is much appreciated and we are grateful for your kind words. We absolutely hope to see you again in the future! Thanks again, Diana The Dormer House

Garden City, New York
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Dormer House is a beautiful and charming home right in the center of Cape May. I especially loved relaxing on the wrap around porch during tea time. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
Mayslanding
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Me and my husband came to the Dormer House for our 20th anniversary.Once again Dennis and Lucille did not disappoint. From the delicious breakfast "crepes and eggs benedict" to the tea time and snacks. Every part of our trip was delightful. We will be back to the Dormer House again next year. See you soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faith O
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great location, one of the best staff crew i ever seen, nice and clean rooms. Tea time was surprisingly good and and was a great setup. Overall i can truly and honestly say i had a great stay and cant wait to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelerboy96
Virginia
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed at the Dormer House for many years. This year the place is really showing it's age. The room is nice, afternoon tea and snacks good. Breakfast is below average. It just is not special for us any moreWe are going to look for a new B&B next year.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peanut04
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. I am so sorry you felt that way. We are always trying to improve in any way possible and we look to these reviews for help. We pass these along to our staff and use them to better ourselves for the future. So sorry we didn't live up to your...

Berlin, Maryland
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have stayed here before. I knew what to expect in advance. Nothing fancy, hence the lower price. But this return trip... Well, the place is going down hill.. Upon entering the lobby we were greeted by old rotten roses on the coffee table that had been dead at least a week and were sitting in stagnant water.. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Krista V

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,218 reviews
0.5 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,116 reviews
0.5 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#7 of 40 in Cape May
577 reviews
1.0 km away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#9 of 40 in Cape May
343 reviews
0.3 km away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dormer House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dormer House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms pictures and details are online”
 of 5 bubbles Lingo114, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“first floor room, with windows looking on to the outside porch. Shady.”
 of 5 bubbles 727lindaw, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dormer suite was a LUXURY: spacious, hidden from traffic areas on the third floor of the house (very quite), and tons of windows!”
 of 5 bubbles torin465, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Check out their website for a detailed list and location of each room to choose which is best for you.”
 of 5 bubbles shawnc866, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Our favorite is the Smith Cottage-also the priciest. We have stayed in 2 other delightful suites also.”
 of 5 bubbles S9199ACrichardg, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5