We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Cape Motel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
West Cape Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for West Cape Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed at this motel over Father's Day weekend. When we checked in the woman said our room is on the second floor. I then asked if we could be on the first floor but she said the only room available on the first floor was a suite. She then gave us the suite for the same price as a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Megan W
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I have to say, after reading some of the negative reviews, I was totally blown away!!! We have stayed at the West Cape May Motel for several years & absolutely love it!!!! As a matter of fact, a teacher friend of ours was getting married last summer in Cape May & we recommended it to other teacher friends & they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anita M
Abington, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The website says the rooms were completely renovated but the rooms on the first level appear to only have had the bathroom renovated and a new floor in the refrigerator area. Old, musty rugs and the room had such a mildew smell that we had to keep our clothes in the car. TV didn't work, refrigerator was turned off, outside...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank drh56
oakdale
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at the West Cape Motel when our plans changed. The room was comfortable and would be great for someone traveling with children. While it wasn't walking distance to the beach and town area it was nearby. An outdoor pool was available for a break. It was quiet and reasonably priced. Very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SherrybabyOakdale
cheltenham
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We also had ants in our room,they were all over the kitchen area.The room had a terrible mildew smell. We left early because of the smell. When we received our credit card statement, I noticed that we were double charged for our stay. They gave us the run around for months, saying that they would credit us the money back.I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank kim h
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had were unsatisfied with your stay. If food is left out in kitchens they will attract ants, however we do not have a record of you checking out early or complaining of ants. We believe the actual source of your displeasure stems from the alleged double charge you reference. Hence a negative review being...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed the end of August 2011 as a last minute getaway. The location is not in close proximity to the beach (at least a 10 minute walk) and you will certainly need a car to travel into the main town area (5 minute drive). But, it was quiet, the room was clean and big (and a renovated bathroom) and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Laci B
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please know we are terribly sorry about your TV troubles. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve upon the property in the future.

Manlius, New York
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We got this room because it was the cheapest hotel in the area without heading up to Cape May Courthouse. My expectations were more or less calibrated correctly (it beat sleeping in a car). My only disappointment is that there was no free WiFi (I've stayed at similarly priced hotels that include this). It also took a while for the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank James L
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 26 August 2011

beach not in walking distance beds and furniture well seasoned no WiFi

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank n_und_e
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please note that the West Cape Motel is a low cost leader, and we do not profess to be more than that. We provide guests with a budget friendly, clean and comfortable setting that is located on the way to famed Sunset Beach and close to the rest of Cape May's attractions. We are proud...

New Jersey
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Made reservations ahead requesting a room we can cook in. Arrived in our room to find the place had no microwave, no pots and pans, only a small fridge, a poor working two burner electric stove. This was not the remodeled place as stated (seems some places think a fast coat of cheap paint is remodeling). AC works poorly, we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Hereitis
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unsatisfied with your stay at the WCM. Please note that you reserved an efficiency which does not include a full kitchen. This is explained on both our website and whenever guests call. Cooking can only be done on the stovetop. Our suites come equipped with a full kitchen. Our irons are available upon request, and...

Wappingers Falls, New York
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If you want to commit Suicide this is the place for you. Very Dirty Smelled disgusting Mold everywhere bugs - See welts in photos on my girlfriends back in photos staff was unfriendly and down right bizarre - very similar to the Bates Motel in Alfred Hitchcock's film Psych Stay away - we left and got another hotel We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SurfCityDuo
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were displeased with your stay. We are always working to improve upon our facilities, and we work hard to ensure guests have a pleasant stay with us. Please note that we strongly disagree with a few items in your review. Our staff works tirelessly to ensure that the rooms are spotless. While they may not appeal...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.7 km away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#22 of 37 in Cape May
25 reviews
1.7 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
491 reviews
2.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Colton Court Motor Inn
Colton Court Motor Inn
#36 of 37 in Cape May
159 reviews
0.8 km away
Mt. Vernon Motel
Mt. Vernon Motel
#29 of 37 in Cape May
38 reviews
2.5 km away
Buckingham Motel
Buckingham Motel
#34 of 37 in Cape May
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The West Cape Motel is located in the picturesque Victorian Cape May resort area. This budget friendly gem is the closest lodging to the acclaimed bird sanctuary so bring along your binoculars to catch a glimpse of some of the rare species that pass through Cape May each year. Or if you prefer fins to feathers, the West Cape Motel is just minutes from the sparkling waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Splash in the surf or just soak up the sunshine on the sandy, tranquil beaches of the Jersey Shore. After an exciting and eventful day, you'll welcome the charming and comfortable country accommodations at the West Cape Motel. Choose from attractive rooms with twin double beds, efficiencies with fully equipped kitchenettes, and spacious one-bedroom suites. Our tastefully furnished accommodations feature refrigerators, air conditioning, and color cable TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Cape Motel

Address: 307 Sunset Blvd, Cape May, NJ 08204-4139
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
West Cape Hotel Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from West Cape Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you favor lots of pool-time request a ground-floor room especially if you have children.”
Celya723, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a second-floor room if you want a view of Cape May Meadows.”
MarcC_New_Jersey, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a newly renovated room! Although may be a bit more, worth it for cleanliness and style.”
curlyKar24, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the newer renovated rooms. They're a bit nicer and bigger!”
  • View from room
andrewo371, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Since this was my first time and it was a last minute reservation, would prob say try a name brand place”
rwtt2013, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5