We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-29 2017-10-30
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

    20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3718
    +1 800-467-4600
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-10-29 2017-10-30
     2 people are viewing this hotel
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$85
    View Deal
    Traveller (37)
    Room & Suite (222)
    Dining (1)
    Overview
    • Excellent7%
    • Very good18%
    • Average30%
    • Poor20%
    • Terrible25%
    3 days ago
    “not to expectations”
    6 days ago
    “What can you do?”
    Free Wifi
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Free Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair Access
    Meeting Rooms
    Shuttle Bus Service
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
    Special Offer: Save $5 Off Per Night
    Hotel deals
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$85
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$85
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$85
      View Deal
    View all 25 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,311)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 1,201 reviews

    Reviewed 3 days ago

    Room was ok nothing fancy. Could be cleaner . Beds were not well made. No breakfast and they charge for parking ., Shuttle ok too. The front desk wasn't very friendly but they did their job. Has room for improvement.

    1  Thank rhonda c
    Hotel's Favourite
    Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

    I was very nervous after reading some reviews of this property. After staying here, however, I found that some of the negative attention seemed misplaced. We found the front desk staff to be very pleasant and courteous. The rooms were clean and comfortable and up-to-date....More

    Thank Steven G
    Reviewed 5 days ago

    The value of this hotel can't be beat. The staff is not all that friendly, but for a clean comfortable place to stay it's great.

    Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
    Thank Q4450ULbrianh
    Reviewed 6 days ago

    An average generally cheaper hotel with a not so good location. The "nominal fee" for parking is $15 per day. Rooms are dated, dark, somewhat larger and average for clean. The is a small restaurant (diner type food) on the premises and the food I...More

    Thank tom h
    Reviewed 6 days ago

    There is a $15 parking fee and that is not disclosed anywhere on the website or the check out. The front desk clerk was very rude when I asked about it and he lied. As a guest everything about my stay should have been convenient...More

    Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
    Thank Bakirah
    Holiday Inn Newark Airport
    965 reviews
    #3 of 16 hotels in Newark
     
    Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
    1,850 reviews
    #14 of 16 hotels in Newark
     
    Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
    1,326 reviews
    #6 of 16 hotels in Newark
     
    SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
    883 reviews
    #5 of 16 hotels in Newark
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Room Service
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Room Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$80 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 171
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • New Jersey >
    • Newark
    • Also Known As
    • Howard Johnson Newark ,
    • Newark Howard Johnson
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (37)
    Room & Suite (222)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (72)
    Bathroom (5)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
    1,850 reviews
    2.53 km away
     
    Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
    1,326 reviews
    3.36 km away
     
    Holiday Inn Newark Airport
    965 reviews
    2.84 km away
     
    SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
    883 reviews
    1.08 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    De Caneca Restaurant
    47 reviews
    1.19 km away
    Taste of Portugal
    37 reviews
    1.18 km away
    Ce Qui Sabe
    6 reviews
    1.46 km away
    Ted's
    79 reviews
    .81 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Prudential Center
    603 reviews
    2.85 km away
    Red Bull Arena
    125 reviews
    3.05 km away
    New Jersey Performing Arts Center
    310 reviews
    3.40 km away
    Newark Museum
    224 reviews
    3.92 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    26 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from Jaime N | Reviewed this property |
    Yes, you are able to.
    2
    Votes
    Keith M
    5 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from olivenfla | Reviewed this property |
    You are writing to a fellow-traveler. You'd have to contact the hotel.
    1
    Vote
    Sayli G
    4 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Linda N | Reviewed this property |
    Yes, they transported us without additional fee. But we did have to pay for parking at the hotel, in addition to the room fee. We found a better place to stay on subsequent trips.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "If you have luggage - Ground floor rooms are preferable."
    Read review
    "Try to get the rooms as near to the reception as possible. There is a weird musky odor spread thru ought the..."
    Read review
    "I'll repeat, don't stay there."
    Read review
    "Don't stay until they clean it!!!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing