We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Vaughan, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2015

I stayed here with a group of people. I thought my experience was unique, but everyone in my group had issues, and some were a lot worse than mine. I walked into a lobby that smelled like a cross between an old ashtray that hadn't been emptied since the 1980's and an Indian restaurant. I was not going to judge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BeachMelonMama
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the guest room which is now being effectively cleaned and serviced...

Hampton, Georgia
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vickie61400
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Peabody, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank servantofgodnjesus
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank samanthat531
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

tampa, fl
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I went to NJ for a wedding and booked this last minute. I do have to say it was better then i expected. It looked older but you could tell it was a recent or fresh renovation. I would stay here again. Decent place clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank techjob4u
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello techjob4u, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had a positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay to all our guests. We hope...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Staff are very helpful and strive hard to keep you happy. Rooms are clean and facing the hill (non smoking). Had a large balcony where I could sit and work in my laptop enjoying the evening breeze. Had a king size room and the average room rent per day was $60. Stayed there 5 nights and no complains

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RNM-007
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello RNM-007 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had a positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay to all our guests. The staff...

Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank binigirl
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Our stay was very pleasant. The room was clean and the staff helpful. I removed one star because the patio door was very hard to open and close. It was even harder to lock. I removed the second star because the wifi hardly worked the second and third night of my stay. The best connection I could get (hojo 8)...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P1338YZryanp
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the wifi services as they have been enhanced and improved.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Bathroom smelled strongly of mod and the mold could be easily seen on the floor, bathtub, and shower curtain. I asked for a shampoo bottle everyday but housekeeping left multiple bottles of body/hand lotions. No shampoo bottles but 5 lotion bottles one day.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 483wontbeback
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the room .

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 25 August 2015

They seem to be understaffed with English speaking hotel personnel. The place could use a good deep cleaning. Hallways and rooms had a stale smell to them. I fixed the window screen to get some fresh air circulating and I also unclogged the tub, due to a hairball that caused white foam to come up in the drain. Im not...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonis163
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the room and the service from our...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Plainfield
10.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#2 of 4 in South Plainfield
155 reviews
7.0 km away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 4 in South Plainfield
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Westfield Inn
11.0 km away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
10 miles from New York City, Manhattan. 10 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Address: 1025 Route 22 West, West End Avenue, North Plainfield, NJ 07060
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Plainfield
Price Range: $96 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield Hotel North Plainfield
Howard Johnson North Plainfield
North Plainfield Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“love the room on 2nd floor. It has balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles ishua_13, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“Rear of the building on an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles richardsK5090SV, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“When they say "non-smoking" don't be so sure.”
 of 5 bubbles BeachMelonMama, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for Kingsize bed facing the mountain”
 of 5 bubbles RNM-007, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Request a room that is far away from the main hallway door by the stairs.”
  • The armchair that tripped me in the darkness
 of 5 bubbles gdionelli, 19 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5