We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Flanders Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Flanders Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Flanders Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We had high hopes of staying at this historic hotel. Once we arrived we found leftover clothes in the drawers from a previous guest, someone else's dirty sock on the floor, the bathroom lock was broken and my sister got stuck in there, bathroom tub was clogged. The floor had sand, no toilet paper, lights were not working. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lologg
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you received a less than satisfactory level of service; this is not the standard we set. I would like to discuss this situation with you, please give me a call at your convenience. Thank you for staying with us and we do...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Charming, good food, reasonable prices. Like most of Ocean City, it's kind of a step back in time! However, the menu selections were good - love those fried green bean appetizers! - and the prices were very fair. Portions were mostly enormous. Two in our party had a shrimp- tortellini dish that was awesome and quite large. Don't forget that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 183colleenk
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank for selecting Emily's Ocean Room in the Flanders Hotel for your dinner and taking the time to provide us with a review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your meal especially the fried green beans. They are my favorite too! We look forward to your next visit to The Flanders Hotel. Have a wonderful day,...

Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Room was filthy and smelled bad. Dirty sheets. Gross bathroom. The service was the worst I've experienced in a long time. Long waits for mediocre food at the pool and restaurant inside. We complained to management that our sheets had stains all over them and their response was that they clean a lot of rooms and cant make sure that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBSchmitty
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. This is in no way a typical standard of service for The Flanders Hotel. I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again so...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

We paid more for an "upgraded" ocean front room and got dirty sheets, cold water in the shower after 5 minutes, an AC unit so loud that it was hard to sleep, and the slowest wifi I've seen since dial up. You could also barley see the ocean in the "Ocean Front" room which was blocked by part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tara D
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate the review of your recent stay at The Flanders Hotel. We are sorry that you received a less than satisfactory level of service; this is not the standard we set for our hotel. Your comments have been shared with the managers and will assist us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We do hope...

Morgantown PA
Reviewed 16 August 2016

An Ocean City Landmark that shows dating in the entrance, lobby, and elevators. If you are checking out mid-morning, expect elevator delays. I recommend the restaurant if you are not in a hurry. The staff was very helpful with suggestions on how to maximize our stay with free beach tags, parking, directions, etc. The room and hallway were surprisingly modern,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David N
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying at the Historic Flanders Hotel and for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. All comments are received with the utmost respect and appreciation. Your comments help us to continually work to improve our guest experience. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your suite and the location...

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We've stayed at the Flanders many times because of the location and suite set-up but we're done! Way too expensive for the lousy service. Specifically, this is the second year that our room was not cleaned during our stay. This year, they even left a note under our door stating that they couldn't clean the room because the "Do Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bis0nette
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Have a...

Elkton
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Flanders at least a dozen times over the past several years. We have never had a bad experience. The rooms are beautiful, each one is different. The staff is helpful. You are right on the boardwalk at 11th street so you are within easy walking distance to everything. You won't be disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul P
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for being a loyal Flanders Hotel guest and for providing us with a very nice review of your stay. One of the enjoyable parts of our job is welcoming guests back time after time. We always look forward to seeing old friends, watching their children grow up and making new friends. Thank you again for the beautiful...

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Our stay was very nice. The elevators are small, but we didn't experience the problems that others had with the elevators. We couldn't ask for a better location, right at the boardwalk and beach. Parking was across the street and was very easy to leave to go elsewhere and return. I would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1kimteacher
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying at the Historic Flanders Hotel and for providing us with feedback about your stay. It is always wonderful to hear how much our guests enjoy your hotel, the amenities and of course the great location. Thank you again for the review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Please...

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Went with our two kids (ages 5 and 6) and really enjoyed our stay. Perfect location, room was a decent size, and clean. Loved having a kitchen and we liked how it separated the bedroom from the living room. Front desk was very helpful. Basically right on the boardwalk and next to the rides - perfect for the kiddos! Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for selecting the Flanders Hotel for your summer vacation and for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Our one bedroom suites are perfect for families, nice living space plus a kitchen that is perfect for preparing snacks to take to the beach. Thank you...

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Flew to New Jersey for a family friends wedding and this hotel was perfect. The wedding was huge with over 250 people and the hotel and ballroom had plenty of room for everyone. The staff was friendly and patient (it's hard to be that patient with 250+ drunk people) but they handled everything perfectly. The hotel itself is stunning and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikaylerrr
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying at The Flanders Hotel for your friends wedding and taking the time to provide us with a very nice review. We are delighted hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and the weddings. Our staff takes pride in making our wedding couples dreams come true! Thank you again for staying with us and for recommending...

774 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (675)
Viewed
2-Bedroom, 2-Bath Oceanfront Penthouse (124)
Viewed
2-Bedroom, 2-Bath Promenade Suite (78)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite (40)
Viewed
3-Bedroom, 2-Bath Lanai Suite (70)
Viewed
3-Bedroom, 3-Bath Skyline Terrace Penthouse (124)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite (52)
Viewed
One Bedroom Oceanfront Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
0.8 km away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
332 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
292 reviews
0.5 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
226 reviews
5.0 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
0.6 km away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 E 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Price Range: $99 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Flanders Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Flanders Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ours was wonderful - one bedroom suite”
 of 5 bubbles 393daled, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Promenade suites are large and beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles rere2016, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great location but we did not stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles 183colleenk, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a an ocean view. You also get to see the boardwalk! We had a nice view of the Ferris Wheel which was awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles cha-cha1319, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Everything they said it would have it did”
 of 5 bubbles teresasZ1392DW, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay