We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aztec Ocean Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aztec Ocean Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Aztec Ocean Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 January 2008

The Aztec front desk people are pleasant and helpful; maintenance tries very hard to keep up with problems; but it's the location of the Aztec that is its BEST feature --right on the boardwalk and just a couple of steps from the beach! If you're looking for easy access to EVERYTHING, the Aztec is the place to stay in Seaside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PABeach6
Hudson Valley, NY
Reviewed 9 September 2007

This was the worst hotel/motel we have ever stayed in. Checked in Friday 09/7 for 2 nights in a "kitchenette" unit.. Immediately upon registering we noted no TV remote. Asked front desk and was given one. Didn't work, Got a second one. Didn't work. They gave us a third one with a booklet for us to program the remote. Spent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NewYorker55
Union County, NJ
Reviewed 20 August 2007

From my first phone call I was treated like a VIP. The woman who answered was friendly, helpful and extremely polite. I made my reservation with MaryAnn. The only trouble at checkin, was deciding which of the ladies would help me. I met MaryAnn, and her desk partner, Donna. Both ladies appeared to be happy to be able to welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gowiththeflo055
new york
Reviewed 15 August 2007

This by far was the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in. Could it have been the pubic hair on the pillow upon our first attempt of sleep? How about the wet washcloth that was placed on the wall towel rack? Or, the drapes that couldn't close completely because they were half hanging up or maybe it was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkMaximus
azteco98, Manager at Aztec Ocean Resort, responded to this review

At check out, the only complaint you voiced was that we had rusty doors. And you mentioned that we had patched our walls. You were not happy with your room at check in and you were told that morning when you called for your same day reservation, we only had this one room available for you. Yes, our kitchenettes are...

fairfield twp,new jersey
Reviewed 12 August 2007

the motel was not bad the rooms were dirty the bath room was / disaster

 Report
Helpful?
Thank surprise5866
azteco98, manager at Aztec Ocean Resort, responded to this review

You state that your age is 13-17. We do not allow guests under the age of 21 without their parents accompaniment. So, what did your parents think of our rooms.? I really find it quite annoying when a guest claims that we have dirty rooms. After the housekeepers clean the rooms, the head of housekeeping inspects the rooms. And, if...

new york
Reviewed 14 July 2007

Oh my god! the sheets were dirty and the floors were covered with sand when we first walked in. We asked for a kitchenette ( which they told us had a small kitchen) but all we got was a mircowave!!! I paid 40$ extra for a mircowave!! and Oh my god they gave us a coffee maker which had mold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beejnerica
azteco98, manager at Aztec Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Hi Please note--we do not charge $40 extra for a microwave. We are in the process of upgrading our kitchenettes. We thought we were doing a good thing by upgrading you to a renovated room at no extra fee so you'd have a tiled floor and a microwave. Also, I have traveled extensively and have always paid for my accommodations...

NJ
Reviewed 7 July 2007

This was by far the worst hotel we ever stayed in. The pillows were lumpy, the sheets and the bedding old and decrepit. The bathroom was in horrid shape. There was dirt in the corners of the bathroom. The shower curtain and the bathtub tiles were moldy. The floor was disgusting. And we apparently had one of the nicer rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anothertravellernj
azteco98, manager at Aztec Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Hello I am bewildered. The only large group that has been here all summer was a baseball team from NY. And if you are a large group, you get a sizeable discount. So your complaint about pricing seems ludicrous. By the way, all of the hotels/motels in SSH have adopted a similar cancellation policy--for good reason. Guests like to play...

newyork
Reviewed 26 January 2007

Right on the boardwalk is this great motel,my husband and I,have been coming here for over 20years.yes it's old and not the Ritz,but it's clean.The staff is very friendly.The new owners have been updating the rooms.We happen to get one of those room,and Iwas very happy with it.The aztec is great to stay at because it is right on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leeannnewyork
Bayonne, NJ
Reviewed 16 October 2006

Not only was the room small & dingey looking, the refridgerator didn't work either. There were several late nite/early a.m. prank phone calls for a drunk girl made to my room, the police showed up to eject several UNDERAGE LOOKING DRUNKS one nite and last but certainly MOST memorable, was going to the elevator one morning to find someone had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sleaze-Side
Allentown
Reviewed 18 September 2006

well lets just say that it was very uncomfortable being there when it is raining there, The room had a terrible smell and also there was mold on the walls and that there was also the ceiling was leaking inside by the balcony windows. The rooms had a few towels but no wash towel either. They give u something like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dwilli9233

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.4 km away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
31 reviews
0.2 km away
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartm...
#23 of 39 in Seaside Heights
73 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#20 of 39 in Seaside Heights
89 reviews
0.1 km away
Buoy 16 Motel
Buoy 16 Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
86 reviews
0.2 km away
Sand & Surf Motel
Sand & Surf Motel
#25 of 39 in Seaside Heights
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Boardwalk at Sherman Avenue in Seaside Heights, the Aztec Ocean Resort is just steps from the Atlantic Ocean, Seaside’s Casino Pier Amusements, and Breakwater Beach. Amenities include heated pool, air-conditioning, grille (serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner), and coffee shop. Also on the premise is the Seaside Crab House Restaurant offering spectacular views of the ocean (serving lunch and dinner) and the Aztec Bar featuring entertainment in season. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aztec Ocean Resort

Address: 901 Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Price Range: $132 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aztec Ocean Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Aztec Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztec Ocean Hotel Seaside Heights
Aztec Ocean Seaside Heights
Aztec Ocean Resort Seaside Heights
Aztec Hotel Nj
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aztec Ocean Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aztec Ocean Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“have kids, lower floors, BUT be alerted for the upper ones with the kids playing ball.... kitchen rooms are nice too”
 of 5 bubbles sprcmc, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in a room facing the street. Was very quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles Alexandrakelly3, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stay on third floor..great views”
 of 5 bubbles Skinlilbtch, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“go to the Hershey”
 of 5 bubbles Larry62NewJersey, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“another motel!”
 of 5 bubbles 448anthonya, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5