We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
baltimore
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

The outside definitely needs a fresh coat of paint, but the room was comfortable & clean. We had a room that overlooked a shed, some dumpsters & an abandoned Coke machine, but it's easy enough to shut the blind. There is no included breakfast in the off season. The bathroom is quite small (so small the sink is in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwithtwointow
Taylor P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for your review! It sounds like you stayed in a room at the back of the house-- though the view isn't ocean front like in some of our rooms, it does tend to be quiet and peaceful in those rooms due to a reduced amount of foot traffic. Though there isn't much we can do...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I had a group in that expired but could still apply the money paid for it as credit to stay. Booked two rooms with private baths and Ocean view. Great location across from beach. Place is dated but they try to keep it clean. Bathrooms were small. One so small had sink actually out in bedroom. Big dissapointment was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Anita P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

Hi! First of all, thanks for your review, we are always looking for honesty from our guests so we can improve in the future. In regards to your stay with us, it looks like you mentioned a Livingsocial voucher. Those vouchers specifically state in the fine print section on them on the Livingsocial website that breakfast is not included. We...

Goldsmith NY
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We spent several nights at the Grand Victorian and enjoyed it immensely. Situated right on the water front, my wife was watching the sun rise and was treated to a 20 minute display of hundreds of dolphins jumping out of the water. The property is quaint, and rooms are small, but very clean. We opted for a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kippo_the_hippo
Anita P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Our hotel staff does our best to be as accommodating as possible, so we're glad to hear you thought we were welcoming. You're right--we're definitely not a Hilton, and we'd like to think our historic charm (we were built it 1883) sets us and Spring Lake in general apart! Though the in-house restaurant is a separate...

Denville, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We visited for the first time with a living social coupon. We will definitely return. We had a lovely room with air conditioning, large bathroom, very very comfortable. The people are very nice. They even give you chairs for the beach. Looking forward to returning. They also have a lovely restaurant called "Black Trumphet" The food was excellent! Lovely waitress...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 584Deb
Anita P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply! We do our best to be as welcoming as possible, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again!

Boston, MA
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I know this hotel is tired but it is in the best location. It has comfortable beds, good sheets, fluffy towels and plentiful beach towels. It is clean and the people at the desk, especially Lacey, are so great. You can borrow their chairs and walk across the street and across the boardwalk to one of the best beaches anywhere....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reynold
Taylor P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words! We try to be as accommodating and welcoming as possible, so it makes us happy to hear you mention that. We're in the process of making some major renovations around the building-- taking care of a historic building is hard!-- so next time you come visit us there may be a little more luxury than...

Reviewed 2 August 2016

The location was very good but the room we had boarded on being dangerous. Someone over 6 ft should not be put in such a small room (number 19). The receptionist knew this room would not be acceptable and even apologized for it as we registered. However, that did not help. In addition the TV was not hooked up and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Taylor P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for taking the time to give us a review! It's the best way that we can improve as a business. We do try to be as up front as possible about the sloping ceilings on our third floor, so we apologize if we did not mention that while you were booking. Additionally, we apologize again...

Rutherford, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 July 2016

First, the location is great and the b&b could be charming, but it is terribly worn. I arrived and my door lock was broken and the shared shower next to my room did not work. I was told they would fix the lock "later" and I could leave my things at the front desk while I went out. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teacher2urist
New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This hotel is an excellent alternative to stay in the Jersey Shore. First of all, the location is outstanding. Spring Lake is beautiful, the beaches are clean and gorgeous and the crowd is upscale. The hotel is ON the beach! The hotel itself looks more like a bed and breakfast, but with full hotel services. It has 3 floors: in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fernando-Botargues
Taylor P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm happy to say that, since the time this review was written, we replaced all of our older televisions with flat screen smart televisions! Unfortunately, because we are a historic building, we were not originally built with bathrooms in each of our rooms, which is why they tend to be a little on the small...

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

The location is amazing right across the street from the ocean. The staff very friendly. Breakfast is wonderful ( vouchers for restaurant on premises included).. rooms clean and cheerful . Towels for beach provided. Recommend for family beach trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
Taylor P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again!

Vernon, New Jersey
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The foundation of a Bed and Breakfast is a good bed and a decent breakfast the Grand Victorian had neither! The bed was so close to the air conditioning unit that you have the choice of freezing your face or back ? The mattress is totally shot, I got no sleep. The towels in the bathroom had stains on them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlmugavero
Taylor P, Manager at Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake, responded to this review

First of all, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We did take some of your points into account, especially in terms of mattresses-- several have been replaced over the course of the season! We also ordered a large number of brand new towels to prevent any with stains for entering hotel circulation. Unfortunately, we contract our breakfast out to...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
1.1 km away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
580 reviews
1.6 km away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
128 reviews
1.7 km away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
378 reviews
8.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
145 reviews
1.8 km away
Villa Park House
Villa Park House
#3 of 8 in Spring Lake
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
13 modern guest rooms with pillow top mattresses and some with an ocean view in a Victorian home built in 1883. Location: On the beach and boardwalk. Amenities: Restaurant, patio dining area, cocktail lounge and wrap-around porch with lounge chairs. Dining and dreams packages. Beach passes included. Year-round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake

Address: 1505 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range: $195 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2end floor rooms have private bath, 3rd floor shares bath”
 of 5 bubbles kippo_the_hippo, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose the second floor over looking the ocean. Room 2 was super quiet, had a great bed and a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles Reynold, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't agree to take room 19”
  • This is a picture of the room and the non-working TV
 of 5 bubbles C2634TMkarenh, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles Teacher2urist, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“1st floor and at the front”
  • Direct view from lateral window
  • Could have been taken care better
  • Small bathroom
  • The TV
  • Our view
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles Fernando-Botargues, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay