We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Summit Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Summit Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 443: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Summit Hotel
 Click to rate
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My family enjoyed staying at the Grand Summit. Room was clean, staff was accommodating, and the hotel had a great restaurant. The morning breakfast was always delightful, but we also enjoyed the restaurant for dinner. It is in walking distance to the train into NYC.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a business trip and, if you follow my reviews, you know I love classic old hotels. This one, from the 1800's I believe, isn't much on the outside, but delightful on the inside. I was upgraded to a Jr. Suite which was quite spacious. Service was good and the bar was really happening with lots of choices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_old_guy_ATL
Hale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everything at the hotel is tired. From the reception with a soupçon of old people's home to the noisy floorboards, ancient bathroom and scarcity of sockets. Light bulbs weren't working (I discovered that just as I needed a shower) There was. I welcome into the restaurant at breakfast. Parking has a charge!? Positives: receptionist at check in was lovely. Summit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IRT68
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IRT68, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay with us both positive and negative. We are in the process of renovating all of our rooms including new carpet, bedding, and upgrades to the bathrooms. We are disappointed to hear of your impression of the hotel as being dated. The hotel was...

Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This hotel is in a great location just adjacent to downtown Summit. I needed this precise location and the price was much less than the closest hotel in Short Hills. The rooms are tired. The HVAC left my room dry and too warm. I turned it off and the room became cold. The bed was mushy. The toilet is too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The first impression one gets when entering the lobby of the Grand Summit Hotel was of an old fashioned, dignified, well maintained hotel. While this was quite true of the public spaces the rooms were not quite as appealing. The three rooms I observed were small, poorly lit and most disappointingly were inadequately heated. In fact, in the the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Popoo
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Popoo, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay both positive and negative. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you more about the fire alarm incident. We did have a guest who made the reckless decision to pull the alarm forcing a quick response from both the Summit fire and police and...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed there to celebrate New Year's Eve. The staff was so kind, courteous and friendly. The food at the Tavern was spectacular and we had lots of fun dancing to the DJ's music. What a great way for a family to celebrate!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz W
Reviewed 21 December 2016

The staff is just great going out of their way to help and accommodate any way they can. This goes for the front desk to housekeeping. I would try to avoid the lower level rooms. They appeared to us to be outdated. We were on the 4th Floor facing out towards the street and the room was quiet and quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joel T
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Had to find a room in the area for a last minute business trip where no rooms were available at the national chain where I belong to their rewards program. Ended up being so thankful that circumstance brought me to the Summit Grand instead. A few minutes out of the way and there are times when the property shows its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Top Notch Experience coming from a hotel professional myself with high expectations. From the moment I decided to plan an event to checking out on Sunday everything was perfect. Michael directing me to Jimmy and Theresa in Catering who attended to every detail with professionalism and sincere appreciation of the event. Last minute changes and additions were handled immediately and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dancat22
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dancat22, Thank you so much for the wonderful comments both here on Tripadvisor and to me personally while you were at our property. It means so much for us to host a great University like Seton Hall and its Alumni, and even more so when guests like yourselves stop to tell us how well we treated them. Providing a...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Went back to The Grand Summit for the third or fourth time. Have had a wedding and two reunions there. Hard to imagine a nicer venue with a more friendly, attentive and accommodating staff. Great, comfortable rooms and a first rate restaurant and bar. you can't go wrong if you want comfort and convenience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggmdmd
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ggmdmd, We cannot thank you enough for providing us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We work very hard to provide the type of experience you describe here, and when it is recognized it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you back at the hotel and HAT Tavern again soon. Sincerely, Michael Marino...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
3.1 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
945 reviews
8.5 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
405 reviews
9.6 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
9.3 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
592 reviews
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Avenue, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Price Range: $215 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Summit Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Summit Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I got a corner room, jr. suite, facing the main street, but was still quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpy_old_guy_ATL, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the lower level are dated. I would try to avoid them if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles joelt557, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive King corner room is quiet, spacious and,well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor are less than adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles 505eileenb, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I understand they have some newer, brighter furnished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles IraC24, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5