We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

River Bend Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
River Bend Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for River Bend Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

River bend was the 3rd stop on our South African adventure we stayed in some fantastic locations and hotels but this out did them. It's mixture of rustic charm and unbelievable service made all the hard work saving for our holiday of a life time well worth it. Darlington, Sam and the team treated us like kings and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steveu1960
Jolene W, Guest Relations Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Steveu1960 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Long Hope Villa. We really appreciate your positive feedback but more so we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to share your feedback with Darlington and Sam as well as the rest of the River Bend Lodge entire team....

Addo Elephant National Park
Reviewed 5 October 2016

River Bend Logde is a very good and clean place. Thank you for your perfekt hospitality. We have been happy to stay in this Lodge. On the Game Drive we saw a lot of animals, We like to visite this place again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank liselotteb997
Jolene W, Guest Relations Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Liselotteb997 Greetings from River Bend Lodge. Thank you so much for taking the time to review River Bend Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at River Bend Lodge. We take great pride in constantly striving to provide the best possible service and it is always gratifying to receive such praise! We hope to welcome...

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

This lodge was wonderful! The morning game drives started at 6:30a, which was fabulous after other lodge start times at 6:00a--the extra 1/2 hour makes a difference. We loved that the morning wake up was a lovely pot of coffee or tea brought to our room. We also enjoyed the flexibility and intimacy of the meals. Meals were available in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sleddoggie
Jolene W, Guest Relations Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sleddoggie Greetings from River Bend Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to share with me your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We aim for nothing less than a wonderful experience for all of our guests and we are delighted that we met your expectations. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

This lodge provides best of both worlds in game drives, with a focus on elephants, but also other animals, like zebras, wardhogs and ostriches, and superb facilities and food and wine. We felt pampered from start to finish. Thanks to Steve and the rest of the staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjo v
Jolene W, Guest Relations Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marjo v Greetings from River Bend Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at River Bend Lodge. We take great pride in constantly striving to provide the best possible service and it is always gratifying to receive such praise! Warm Regards The River Bend Lodge Team

maastricht/ the Netherlands
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

The Riverbend lodge is located just outside the Addo Elephant park: it's a private concession with a great abundance and diversity of game. The concession is huge, the nature outstanding. The hurd of elephants is a special treat: you're able to see up to 80 elephants at one site very close by, at less then 100 meters. The lodge is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petervanminderhout_9
Addo Elephant National Park
Reviewed 19 September 2016

River Bend lodge is a nice and confortable place. The staff is kind. Nevertheless, the game drives are disappointing for several reasons in my opinion: the environment is very bushy, so it's not easy to spot the animals and even the birds; the density of wildlife seems to be low except for general game and elephants- but we did'nt se...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank didierb298
MP_RBL12345, Executive Director at River Bend Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Didier298, I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your Game Viewing experience. One of the vagaries of Wild Animals is that they are not always available precisely when one wants them, and the weather and climate at the time all have an impact. The density of Wildlife is monitored by SANParks to the highest specifications. However...

Nuertingen, Germany
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Fantastic lodge in the middle of the park and its animals. Great Staff - thanks to Samuel for his delicious cooking and to Moses for his perfect service. Also thanks to David - he made our first game drive to an unforgettable event

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank silkek171
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We arrived at the Gates of Addo after taking the gravel Road . Arriving at the Lodge our Personal Ranger welcomed us and guided us to our Villa for the next 3 days. The Villa had a pool, 3 bedrooms and a nice Garden around where 2 turtles joined us every afternoon. Our Personal Cook Provider 3 deliciuos meal s...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirk K
Oakland, California
Reviewed 3 September 2016

My husband, his parents, our 8-year-old son and I spent a couple of days at River Bend Lodge in August. It was not enough. Everything about this place exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were lovely and quite luxurious. The service was impeccable. And the food was the best we had in South Africa. Additionally, the location, a private concession in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahColby510
Addo Elephant National Park
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Great hospitality. Very luxurious accommodation. Clean and welcoming, great attitude to children. The staff is very friendly The tours are well organized and interesting. The guides are professional. Had a great time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shlomos836

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
5:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
37.1 km away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
291 reviews
10.2 km away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
292 reviews
14.7 km away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
987 reviews
6.9 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
7.4 km away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#3 of 10 in Addo
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on a 14,000ha private concession within the Addo Elephant National Park, RiverBend is a mere 45 minute drive from Port Elizabeth. Home to an abundance of wildlife including elephant, lion, hyena, buffalo, black rhino and a variety of antelope and over 300 bird species, RiverBend is an ideal malaria-free safari addition to a Garden Route holiday. Children of all ages welcome. Pampering treatments are available in the Vitality Studio. Personalized game drives are led by enthusiastic and experienced guides, who will ensure you have a truly memorable safari experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Bend Lodge

Address: Zuurberg Road, | PO Box 249, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: $448 - $2,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Bend Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Bend Hotel Addo Elephant National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Bend Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from River Bend Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each of the rooms are lovely and located around a semi circle”
 of 5 bubbles RobEberstein, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 has its own private pool. The general is not that busy, but still a nice touch for a small extra payment.”
 of 5 bubbles PapsiFresh, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They are all wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles Steveu1960, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great. The honeymoon suite has its own pool with a view of the bush, which is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles PantheraLeo, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“To be honest, all the rooms are amazing, and you feel like you are by yourself. No need to pre-choose a room”
 of 5 bubbles BrianK950, 2 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay