We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kalahari Trails

Twee Riverien, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa
Save
Best prices for your stay
2017-08-06 2017-08-07
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kgalagadi Transfrontier ParkSee available hotels in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Traveller (50)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good29%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“morning walk” (6 reviews)
“bird species” (2 reviews)
“hot water” (3 reviews)
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
All hotel details
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Morning walk was a bit disappointing. Friendly guide, but was rather slow and not much for the R200 per person paid. Walked a bit in the veld and saw some trees and tracks on the dunes. I think a morning guided walk in Kgalagadi would...More

2  Thank Paul J
Response from Kalaharitrails, Owner at Kalahari TrailsResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Paul, I'm sorry you were disappointed but our morning walks are rather like a game drive in the Transfrontier Park. Sometimes you see a lot, sometimes not, it's dependent on the weather and especially the temperature the previous night. This walk is slow because...More

Reviewed 1 March 2017

We were 4 adults and had booked the chalet for our two night stay. We booked two nights because I was particularly looking forward to the early morning walk with The Prof...Ha! guess what, she does not do the walks anymore. Maybe the website should...More

3  Thank traveloggers62
Response from Kalaharitrails, Owner at Kalahari TrailsResponded 8 March 2017

I am sorry you were disappointed in your stay here. Owing to health reasons, I have been unable to do the walks for 3 years now, I am just too old at 77 to manage them any more but Jaco Reichert is a qualified and...More

Reviewed 2 January 2017

Clean and well equipped rooms with shared facilities in large house. Secure parking and friendly, helpful staff. Nice braai facilities. A guided early morning walk to read the "Kalahari newspaper" is a must !!

Thank henkt509
Response from Kalaharitrails, Owner at Kalahari TrailsResponded 4 January 2017

Thanks so much for your kind review Henk. It was a pleasure to have you here and both Jaco and I wish you all the very best for 2017. Anne

Reviewed 17 August 2016

We booked the cottage for 4 nights which was a great decision. It has its own little water point very close by so we were able to view numerous bird species as well as gemsbok, springbok and other small mammals. We thoroughly enjoyed our walk...More

Thank Wendy G
Response from Kalaharitrails, Owner at Kalahari TrailsResponded 19 August 2016

Thanks so much for your kind words Wendy. Its great to know that there are people who really appreciate what we are trying to do here - to give people a Kalahari experience that they will find nowhere else. Thanks again, Anne

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

THIS IS WHAT WE READ ONLINE: "Highly recommended by Lonely Planet, Kalahari Trails Meerkat Sanctuary is a 3 500ha private reserve situated 35km south of Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. The setting is a nature-lover’s paradise. Given over exclusively to game, it offers a wide range of...More

2  Thank Jennifer-Sannieshof
About
Amenities
  • Top amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Hotel Amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Details
  • Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
  • Kitchenette
  • Number of rooms
  • 14
  • Location
  • South Africa >
  • Northern Cape >
  • Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (50)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kalahari Trails staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Nice meerkats"
Read review
"Book a room with on-suite bathroom."
Read review
"There are no good rooms in this guest house. Don't stay here."
Read review
"En suite bedrooms are more spacious"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing