We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
See the most recent reviews
Showing 316: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and booked in at this hotel. This is our 2nd time and we enjoyed both our stays. Excellent service and great breakfast. This hotel is situated in our favorite city Franschoek. Hotel is located in the Centre of all the wine farms and Restuarants. Well done to the management for their staffs excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edison S
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear Edison S Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them...

Reviewed 25 December 2016

We booked three rooms here for a two-night stay and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished with bathrooms with both a bath tub and a huge shower. All the rooms we had faced the pool and interior courtyard which was really lovely. The breakfast was delicious with excellent coffee (the cappuccino was among the best I've...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna U
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Nice hotel, not fancy, but very nice and clean with all the necessary components for a pleasant stay. Great hospitality and service and great location to walk to shops restaurants. Quiet location with adequate parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear Rick B Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you for your valued feedback, we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek. Kind...

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Peaceful comfortable hotel within walking distance of the centre of town. Spacious rooms. Good buffet breakfast. Central swimming pool to cool of after the heat of the day. Friendly helpful staff. Reasonably priced. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear Anthony D Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 16 December 2016

We spent just one night at this hotel. The room was the right size for two people with a king size bed. The staff was really nice ... the plug adapter we had didn't work, but the staff had one ready for us to borrow. The pool area is nice with towels available. The breakfast is not very rich, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cricca72
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear Cricca72 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our...

Manama, Bahrain
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Spent one night here whilst visiting the town to do the wine tram experience - which starts off only a few minutes walking from the hotel (reason for our booking). The hotel is solid with clean rooms and well-working AC and wifi. Breakfast is a little sparse, but has everything you need. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SvenjaZ85
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear SvenjaZ85 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Comfortable and very neat rooms with beautiful furnishings. Breakfast staff slow and not very well trained. Had to constantly remind them of order. Buffet poorly managed and also constantly running short of refills. Buffet lacked variety. Unripened fruit disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia A
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear Virginia A Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek with us. As a valued customer we pride ourselves in providing a premium dining experience that not only meet, but exceed your expectations; however your valued feedback highlighted a number of areas for improvement that I have since shared with the...

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

My travel agent made all the bookings for our South African holiday,and generally the accommodation has been excellent with wonderful and very helpful service. However our reception at the Protea was very disappointing. The booking was for 3 adults and states two rooms: 1 single and 1 twin. On arrival I was told that I had been given 2 rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinegranny
JRJennyJR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear Catherinegranny Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay, as per our conversation thank you for your patience and...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I completed the hotel survey as we were disappointed on a recent visit. It is apparent that certain rooms/areas are a bit tatty but they are commencing a refurbishment which might tempt a return visit in future. Breakfast was chaotic & poorly supervised with basics not being attended to, glasses, cups, spoons, replenishing food etc but what we ate was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TnTdurbs
JRJennyJR, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear TnTdurbs Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay. As our Valued GUEST we appreciate the feedback and as such have shared your recent experience with the TEAM. The service provided whilst dining is definitely not to our standard, we will most certainly put more focus to this area. We apologise for the experience. We thank you...

Reviewed 6 December 2016

We had a good two night stay here while we visited for a trip on the wine tram (highly recommended!). Staff were friendly and helpful, and it was a <5 minute walk to the main strip of Franschhoek shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
JRJennyJR, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and...

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.3 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
594 reviews
1.4 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.6 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.4 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
455 reviews
0.8 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $136 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room no. 3 - right at the end of the passage.... very quiet & private .... the room is huge”
 of 5 bubbles jenikambo, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not get a room on the street side”
 of 5 bubbles LondonHi, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any room apart from the suit!”
 of 5 bubbles P8519GNtomr, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a good location”
 of 5 bubbles lindan678, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms are near the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles paulinarakgotho, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5