We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Start your review of L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a great stay here. The room had a fantastic view, the room decor was a little dated but very spacious and great choice at breakfast. We had some problems checking in (our booking could not be found) but they found another villa for us and very kindly reimbursed us for the inconvenience. We were very impressed with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMC1395
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and your comments are noted. Again our sincerest apologies for the mix up with your booking. Kind regards Cynthia

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived by car and found the hotel just outside the village. We were met by Cystal who was on duty when we arrived. She was very helpful and even tried to sort out the internet problems for us. The rest of the staff where helpful. Breakfast was served on the terrace near the reception. plenty of choice. Nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Sue Thank you for taking the time to review the property. It is greatly appreciated and only through your feedback can we improve. We are currently working with our ISP to rectify and resolve the issues we are experiencing with free WiFi to all the rooms and it should be resolved shortly. My sincerest apologies for the internet problems...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights in the villa accommodation (#29). Based on the 5* price ($350/night) and the wonderful photos and descriptions on the web-site, I was expecting something fairly luxurious. What is not clear on the web-site is that some or all of these villas are privately owned and L'ermitage has no control over what is and is not included....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveW_MSP
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your input and your complaints have been forwarded to the owner. Please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the owner and we will address all the issues with the owner. Kind regards Cynthia

Moreton-in-marsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first impression after our arrival was of a little village plus church at the end of a lovely valley. On a Sunday lunchtime we were surprised at so few people in the restaurant, the food was fairly standard but tasted very nice, with lovely friendly service. Only afterwards did we realise that there are so many fantastic rearaurants here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your comments are noted. There are so many fabulous restaurants in Franschhoek and it is worth another visit to experiencing but a few of what the valley has to offer. Kind regards Cynthia

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a fabulous property! We were a party of 11 and booked 4 rooms. The rooms are like a palace- we had a two bedroom and it had enough space for all of us( almost). The views and finishing of the property, the service and friendliness is top notch. I am amazed how it is not 5 star but perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy J
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive comments. it is greatly appreciated and I will pass on to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Cynthia

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I feel compelled to write this review about our stay here because this place has a lot of potential despite falling short of the four star promise. The property itself is beautiful - adjacent to a tranquil dam with a backdrop of mountains. My wife and I loved sitting there with our morning coffee or to take some time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmorum
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback and it is well noted. It is only through feedback that we can uplift and improve our service and offering. Your review has been circulated to all the departments and will be used in staff training. Please accept my apologies for the not up to standard experience but I can assure...

Reviewed 24 January 2017

We stayed for only 1 night and it was just not enough to soak in the beauty! The property is gorgeous for families and for couples. We booked the mid-level room and it was so beautiful. They even did a small turn around for us for our anniversary. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne. Breakfast was had enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mehak C
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to let us know where we can improve. Kind regards Cynthia

Cape Town
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed for 2 days as a family. Spacious rooms - with wonderful surroundings. Easy to park, nice breakfast and helpfull staff. Rooms coul be upgraded - but still ok. Franchohoek have a lot af art gallery and nice restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Espen W
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we have noted your comment on the condition of the rooms. It will be discussed with the villa owners and we look forward to a fresh look and feel. Kind regards Cynthia

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed at La'ermitage while on our trip to Cape Town for our 25th wedding anniversary. This is a beautiful place. The surroundings are breath-taking and the scenery out of this world. It was quite cold and rainy on our stay, but there are so many things to do that it was not a problem. The staff was exceptionally friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rina M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed at l'Hermitage for two nights and were very excited by the beautiful look of the property as we arrived. When we reached our villa, however, the porter had difficulty opening the door, as the handle was stuck. We then used the bathroom and the taps on the basins were loose. These problems persisted during our stay. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 1982LondonTraveller

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.8 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
3.5 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
603 reviews
1.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.4 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
456 reviews
1.2 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $227 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles AMC1395, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be careful about villa vs hotel. Avoid villa #29”
 of 5 bubbles SteveW_MSP, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms/villas overlooking the lake and mountains”
 of 5 bubbles 559annc, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rent a car if you can!”
 of 5 bubbles 975mehakc, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room is great”
 of 5 bubbles 776rinam, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5