We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mont Rochelle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mont Rochelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

496 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 434: English reviews
Start your review of Mont Rochelle
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Mont Rochelle has a wonderful ambience, feels like a country house. The service was good and the staff extremely helpful. We liked the enthusiasm and passion of Peter (?) the staff member originally from Kenya. He was keen to ensure all our needs were met. The food at the Miko restaurant is superb – on par with the steep competition...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cenini25
London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

In summary, it’s a good hotel but décor is certainly not luxury. For me, the view from our room was excellent and with that being a large percentage of my criteria I’d give the hotel a good rating, but only a poor or average rating for most other aspects. The good • Reception staff at the hotel made us welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SeriousTraveller01
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear SeriousTraveller01, Whilst it was fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed the views from your room, I was very sorry to hear that other aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would like to reassure you that your valued feedback has been shared with our team to help us as we continually strive to...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no doubt that the location of the Miko restaurant is quite wonderful, with panoramic views across the Franschhoek valley. It is a pity that the food goes no way to matching the vista. First, the food is expensive. Secondly my Trout (a fillet of trout, not the normal full fish) was badly presented and hugely over cooked. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reganeng2017
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear reganeng2017, Whilst we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the views from our restaurant Miko, we were disappointed to hear that you felt the food wasn’t quite on par. Please rest assured that your valued feedback has been shared with our Head Chef. We’d really love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to offer you...

Brisbane
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came for lunch - loved it. Special place, looks very nice to stay. Franschhoek is a really special place - lots of great winery's and cute shops and cafes. Staff were excellent and it's a pleasant place to spend a few hours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Dean C, We loved welcoming you for lunch and it was such a joy to hear that you felt Mont Rochelle was a special place. We hope we have the chance to see you again one day soon; maybe next time we can tempt you to stay a little longer. Kind regards, James Basson General Manager gm@montrochelle.virgin.com

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an amazing place with great views over Franschouk valley. The service and food is excellent.we had friends who were staying here.a car is needed to explore the valley to its best.This is only 45mins from Cape Town so could be visited in a day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DandJE
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear DandJE, It was such a delight to hear how much you enjoyed the service, the views and the food. We hope that one day we will have the chance to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle. Kind regards, James Basson General Manager gm@montrochelle.virgin.com

London England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last in 2005 when it was La Couronne. Fortunately they haven't changed it that much and it is still a fantastic place to stay. The position and the views are perfect, the rooms lovely, breakfast fantastic. Unfortunately and exactly like last time, the evening meal was not good. There are so many great restaurants in Franschoek and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salbags
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear salbags, It was such a delight to welcome you once again after your first stay back in 2005 at La Couronne. Thank you for your wonderful words about the room, the wine tasting and the service; your amazing compliments had our team beaming from ear to ear. I would also like to thank you for sharing the feedback about...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent our 2-week honeymoon in South Africa, starting with the wineries outside Cape Town, then Cape Town, and wrapping up with a safari at andBeyond in Kruger Park. Our travel agent with andBeyond recommended Mont Rochelle for the first portion of our honeymoon. We were looking for something peaceful and relaxing after the 24-hour flight--and of course lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leila S
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Leila S, We were honoured to welcome you to Mont Rochelle for your honeymoon and would like to once again extend a huge heartfelt congratulations to you both! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wines, the views and your room so much. Your kind comments really do mean the world to us and we very much...

Mid East
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We returned to Mont Rochelle 5 years after our first visit, excited to see what impact Sir Richard Branson's acquisition had made. Our observations as follows: Location Location is ideal, a 5 minute drive away from the main strip, which is a nice walk if the weather permits. The views are spectacular with beautiful grounds. This property is truly blessed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank girlinthedesert
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear girlinthedesert, It was with great concern that I read about your recent experience of a stay at Mont Rochelle. This certainly does not sound like the level of service we ordinarily pride ourselves in and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to try and make amends. I have included my contact details below and would be grateful if...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at 'Branson' properties before and this did not disappoint. Lovely setting and excellent service, room excellent. Our only comment would be that the menu in the Miko Restaurant needs more choice and flair. The Manager James was exceptional, especially when the property was threatened with wild fires.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 70sueandgeoff
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear 70sueandgeoff, We loved reading your review so thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful words. Our entire team were overjoyed to hear your compliments about the service and our Head Chef was very grateful for your thoughtful feedback about the menu at Miko. It’s not often that I receive a personal mention, and so I would...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to pop in for a wine tasting on the back of the fact that Sir Richard Branson owned this wine farm. If he realized that his staff acted so disinterested he would be mad as hell. The manageress hung around the tasting area for 15 mins or so without even acknowledging us. We finally managed to catch the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Brent M, It was with great concern that I read about your recent wine tasting experience. This certainly does not sound like the level of service we ordinarily pride ourselves in and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to chat to you further and to try and make amends. I have included my contact details below and would...

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Other (178)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
275 reviews
2.1 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
458 reviews
1.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
148 reviews
1.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $445 - $1,204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mont Rochelle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Rochelle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 nights was not enough.”
70sueandgeoff, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pinotage suite, upstairs”
  • Bathroom humour
  • Christmas 'goodies' on the bed
MaryLewis747, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early and take whatever is on offer. It won't be available for long!”
RichardVUK, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pinotage suites are large and airy.”
BsurreyUK, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All room at excellent just a matter of price which one you choose.”
stevemY6175GS, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5