We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mont Rochelle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mont Rochelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mont Rochelle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 397: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Simply the best hotel I've stayed in. The welcome was warm & extremely friendly, the room & amenities excellent, breakfast delicious and the service superb! We were welcomed with a big fire, and a large (good quality) glass of wine each (while the bags were taken to the room). The manager was so friendly it was infectious, and quite a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgpb
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear dgpb, It’s not very often that the team at Mont Rochelle are left speechless, but we really were overwhelmed by these lovely words. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences of staying with us. It was wonderful to read that this was simply the best hotel you have ever stayed in; what a compliment!...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

From the moment you arrive at the security Front Gate to the moment you leave. You know you are in a Beautiful Stunning Hotel. The location of the Hotel looking over the village of Franschhoek is just fantastic. We were greeted warmly and offered a welcoming drink when we arrived. We arrived early and only waited about 30 Mins before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigChris67
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear BigChris67, Wow, where do we begin! Thank you very much for sharing these lovely comments about your stay at Mont Rochelle. We were so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be beautiful and stunning, and it was so wonderful to read that you enjoyed such a warm welcome. Every guests is so special to us and...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed just for 1 night. Lovely place and made to feel very welcome. Excellent SPA treatment, although need to book in advance as quite small facility. Lovely spot and great views. All in all a super hotel and spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ofacey
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear ofacey, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review of Mont Rochelle. We were so happy to hear that you thought the hotel was a lovely place and that you were made to feel so welcome. It was fantastic to read that you found the spa treatment to be excellent and that you enjoyed...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The best hotel we've ever stayed at - true 5*. We were here for a couple of nights for our honeymoon during early April 2016 and had a fantastic stay. Upon arrival we were greeted by first name and whisked through to some comfortable chairs and some champagne whilst our car was parked and luggage taken to the rooms. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Richard and Claire, Wow wow wow indeed, our whole team was thrilled to read this wonderful review of your time with us! It was such an honour to welcome you for your honeymoon; thank you for choosing to spend such a special experience with us at Mont Rochelle. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the service from...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 27 April 2016

No atmosphere, average food, no support from waiters when complaining. However, we did get a free dinner another day. Only New Years fun was a plastic hat for the men and a bracelet for the women. DG forgot to announce midnight - as a result he got the manager to do the count down at 8 minutes past midnight. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoulandInga
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear PoulandInga, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your New Year visit to Mont Rochelle. I would like to take this opportunity to personally apologise that your experience was not quite what you were expecting, particularly on such a special occasion. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to chat to you further...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016

This is a really good hotel, with very nice rooms, excellent service and fantastic views. We cannot fault our stay here. We stayed in one of the Cap Classique suites and it was enormous and more like an apartment. Like a number of the rooms it is built into the hillside under the main hotel which gives uninterrupted views over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huntsy
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Huntsy, Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review of your visit to Mont Rochelle. You certainly know how to make the team smile; they were absolutely beaming ear to ear to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We were thrilled to hear that you liked your suite, and thought the room...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016

This hotel never fails to impress, for the second consecutive year we have spent time here. Every facet of this place is superb, If you go try Miko restaurant for dinner, you must try wine tasting at The Kitchen including lunch. I had the Pigs cheek for the first time, and it was absolutely superb. During our stay it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Philip H, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Mont Rochelle, we were so thrilled to see that you thought the hotel never fails to impress, and that you have chosen to visit us two years in a row, what an honour for us! We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and wine,...

Guildford, surrey
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a Cabernet room, which was spectacular. Our friends stayed in a pilotage suite, which was just ridiculously luxurious and beautiful. We were all very happy. The service was impeccable, the pool amazing, food was very good, but not amazing. But, the views, the views! This place is pure luxury. Go on, spoil yourself!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank japers
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear japers, Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review of Mont Rochelle. We were so pleased to hear that you found your room to be spectacular and your friend’s room to be so luxurious and beautiful. It was also fantastic to hear that you were all very happy and found the service to be impeccable and...

London
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Enjoyed a relaxing few days in a beautiful setting with lovely team looking after us. Restaurant was excellent, rooms comfortable although few design issues that can easily be resolved ( bathroom door doesn't give privacy). Its a lovely walk to the town or a car is available so you are close enough to enjoy the delights of Franschhoek but have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendypb
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Wendypb, It was an absolute pleasure to read your lovely review and we couldn’t be happier to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. The team were delighted to hear your kind comment about how lovely they are, we may be biased but we couldn’t agree more with you! It was wonderful to hear that you thought...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

This is quite a hard review to write as the hotel is great in many ways, but has a few really unforgiving traits... The location lends itself to amazing views, and the recent renovations have been beautifully designed and executed. Therefore it's a beautiful hotel in an unparalleled location... All good!?? However, service is patchy at best, this ranges from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rose S
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Rose S, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent stay at Mont Rochelle. Whilst it was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the views and thought our recent renovation work has been beautifully designed and executed, I was very concerned to hear that you felt the service you received...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
266 reviews
1.9 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
506 reviews
1.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
133 reviews
1.3 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $434 - $1,293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mont Rochelle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Rochelle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“suspect there are no bad rooms”
 of 5 bubbles melstein13, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best Views”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hard to say as far as we are concerned every room that we saw had many advantages. Views great everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles SallyE_12, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Cabernet rooms in the Vinyard Wing are quiet and well appointed with excellent views”
  • View over Franschhoek
  • Cabernet room in the Vinyard Wing
  • You need not be alone in your bath
 of 5 bubbles AlexanderD398, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suite was spacious and facilities were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 715bh, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5