We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gable Manor Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Gable Manor Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gable Manor Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Petersburg, AK
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have to say we were utterly disappointed in our stay at Gable Manor. It was by far the most expensive place we stayed on our month long trip to Africa (except safari) and felt like we were staying in a miniature attic with a little tiny window. To get to the room you walk through the house, which would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlaskaGirlSE
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this review

I would like to respond on 5 points of fact. 1) This is not a miniature room – it’s 30.7 m2 with a 6.5 m2 bathroom. (330 sq ft and 70 sq ft) 2) The window is 1.13m wide by 1.24 m high – not tiny. (3’ 8” by 4’ 1”) There is also a 0.63 x 1.16 m roof...

Essex
Reviewed 2 March 2013

By all measures this boarding house was perfect. The owners have clearly gone to great lengths to make it so. We had a charming first floor room with fabulous views access to the gardens and pool. The room was immaculate. Just a little thing was not meeting the owners which by South African standards was a surprise. Oh yes breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnandCarolineUK
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry we missed you - we were a bit tied up with specialist and hospital in Cape Town while you were here. Hopefully we'll meet you next time. Don

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Gable Manor is a lovely house in a residential street within walking distance of the main street. Very nice accommodation, lots of residents' space in the house including a lounge, pool house and breakfast room by the pool. Good effective aircon in the room was welcome as it was 36degC outside. Nice swimming pool. Very helpful and friendly staff make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 15_hilltops
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Gable Manor is away from the main street of Franschoek, and so quiet at all times. Our room was a good size, spotlessly clean, very recently redecorated, and with an excellent bathroom. We had a balcony with great views of the mountains. We slept well. The gardens are beautiful with a good sized pool alongside which you can relax after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogjacgill
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at Gable Manor for 4 nights to attend a friends wedding. The staff were just amazing not only very friendly but more than willing to help even if the problem wasn't related to my stay at Gable Manor, they did go the extra mile. The accommodation and gardens were of the highest standard all kept beautifully. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fourpups
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this review. We really enjoyed having you here. Please do email me the name of your local cricket field. Best wishes, Don.

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The very best of South African hospitality. Truly special. We loved it so much we are planning on staying there next time we are in franschhoek. So pretty and perfect. Great value for money too! The staff and management were very warm and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nokuphiwa M
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Beautifully appointed B&B, excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. Helped us arrange private wine tasting tour which was fabulous, saw some beautifully situated estates and did some over the top wine tastings. The prices are very reasonable here, not like any other place we have visited before.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ischu
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in Gable Manor for two nights 1 & 2 May 2012 having read reviews on Trip.We were not disappointed, the Manager ( sorry have forgotten his name) and Thelma were so helpful. The house and our accommodation was spotless!!! The breakfast was to-die-for, even the home made jams!! We did not get to use the pool or the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank milkyway1954
Münster
Reviewed 16 April 2012

In April, we stayed at Gable manor for the fourth time. As we feel very comfortable there, the entire staff is very friendly and helpful, we have already booked our next stay for January 2013. We love the breakfast and highly appreciate that we always had enough towels. Looking forward to 2013 and our next stay at Gable Manor

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Floi1987
UK
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This year 's our 7th annual stay with expert hosts Marlyn and Don. Pretty unique as us tourists go - and a rare subject to be able to review about. So, why Gable Manor each visit? And what's been the differentiator that brings us back to this 'rated' guest house each year? Well, for us it's been the Gable Manor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tourer14

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
2.5 km away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 65 in Franschhoek
290 reviews
2.5 km away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#24 of 65 in Franschhoek
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 65 in Franschhoek
487 reviews
0.8 km away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#15 of 65 in Franschhoek
213 reviews
0.4 km away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 65 in Franschhoek
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Gable Manor Guest House

Address: 4 Malherbe Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $171 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Gable Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gable Manor Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the main house, room 5 and the grand suite share the upstairs balcony and were ideal for us and our son.”
 of 5 bubbles SandbachBlondie, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All of the bedrooms are attractive. Ours was room 5 on the first floor .”
 of 5 bubbles Hunter48, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Although we had a really lovely garden room, the rooms on the top floor with terraces would be the ones to request.”
 of 5 bubbles MandyR508, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view, thus not on the ground floor!”
 of 5 bubbles David_brackley, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We had a ground floor room which was handy for entry, parking, the breakfast room and the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles philk803, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay