We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Malaika Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Malaika Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Malaika Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 17: English reviews
berlin
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed with our grandma and two children (2years and 4 month old) in the king suite and the princess suite. The rooms are stunning, specially the bath rooms. The king suite is super spacious. Marc and Astrid are perfect hosts and made us feel at home. They were there when needed and disappeared like the staff in a 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dudeBerlin
Netherlands
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We had a very nice stay at Malaika Lodge,we rented the Cottage which is separate from the main house and has its own private parking space, it also has its own separate little garden which was wonderful for our two dogs who travelled with us. The bedroom is equipped with a wonderful big and comfortable bed, plenty enough clean towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2xstitch
Voorhout
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We had a perfect time at Malaika lodge. All the rooms were well equipped. Especially the bath room with whirl pool was excellent. The kids really enjoyed the swimming pool and we enjoyed the pool bar... :-) Both hosts were great and helped us in getting the most out of our visit to Cape town. The lodge is located only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burck001
Barcelona
Reviewed 20 December 2009

The rooms at Malaika are just stunning. Every room has its own character and all have huge, luxury bathrooms which i really enjoyed.The lodge with garden and swimming pool are waiting for you and combined with the hospitality of the owners, a stay in Malaika is just a super relaxed experience in one of Africa´s most beautiful regions. Marc and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vroomie
uk
Reviewed 10 November 2009

After reading the two previous comments on tripadvisor, we took a chance with Malaika Lodge and booked to stay for 9 nights. We had paid 4 nights deposit before we arrived. We did not have the best of starts, when we arrived at the dark accommodation (with no signs), on a windy evening we waited in a taxi for 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easytraveller9
MarcCapeTown, Owner at Malaika Lodge, responded to this review

Unfortunately it is the second time that we had guests that failed to do their homework and failed to arrange their own transportation in Cape Town. Cape Town is a very beautiful but vast city and not all hotspots are around the corner. It is therefore very advisable to arrange for a rental car in this amazing city or to...

Europe
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We enjoyed every moment during our stay at Malaika Lodge! The warm homy atmosphere left us feeling relaxed and welcomed. The hosts, Astrid and Marc, were wonderful in every way and I must say they really spoilt us. The staff of Malaika Lodge are very child friendly. The lovely set up of the guesthouse between the trees, luscious garden and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mischa1
Europe
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We started with high expectations after all Cape Town has seen us often and we've stayed in many CT self caterering spots and always been happy. I have never written a negative review but the poor attitude of this owner led me to tell the truth about our experience there. Whilst I have no objections to staying in a done-over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank houtbayvisit
MarcCapeTown, Owner at Malaika Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, I have read your comments about our lodge on the trip advisor website and regret that you did not enjoy your stay at the lodge. I remember meeting with yourself and your partner on arrival and recall that you had had issues with renting a car because you did not book one in advance in high...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.4 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.1 km away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 61 in Hout Bay
67 reviews
2.0 km away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#28 of 61 in Hout Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#6 of 61 in Hout Bay
151 reviews
1.9 km away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#12 of 61 in Hout Bay
244 reviews
4.4 km away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Malaika Lodge

Address: 8 Karakal Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — Malaika Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Malaika Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“two rooms in the house and two in the garden next to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles josenjannie, 20 Aug 2012 | Read review
1 of 1