We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Start your review of Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Pietermaritzburg
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved the big Karoo farmhouse style of this guesthouse. The bedroom was appropriately furnished and well equipped. At the end of a walk into the village and back a swim in the reservoir pool was great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolbR9089GR
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear carolbR9089GR, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could offer your some enjoyment in Prince Albert. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

During an exciting trip along the garden route in beautiful South Africa, we spent a relaxing night at Dennehof. The rooms, the location and the service were exquisite and we wished we'd had more time to stay longer. Looking forward to our next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ulrichk480
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear ulrich480, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and that we could offer you all you required and needed during your stay in Prince Albert. Hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on a bike trip and were lucky enough to be accommodated once again! We have probably slept in most of the suites, this time were given what I think is a new edition to Dennehof. Absolutely beutifully furnished, spacious, with all the amenities, great lawns, swimming pool, privicy, the photos will do further justice to this superb establishment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dewaal
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Dewaal, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay at Dennehof Guesthouse. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Safe travels with those bikes. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my "coup de coeur" of our trip to SA. Prince Albert is a surprising village in the heart of the Karoo. Definitely worth the stop. The Dennehof is beautiful, well located and super comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the staff great. I have no complaints. Next time I will definitely try to stay more than one night to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 810alexandran
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear 810alexandran, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with Dennehof Guesthouse. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we surpassed your expectations. We look forward to welcomin you back on a longer trip. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

newbury
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dennehof is a beautiful old Karoo farm house with a long stoep to lounge on and pleasantly landscaped gardens with lots of trees for shade. We were well looked after by Michelle, Joanna and the excellent team at Dennehof. The rooms and beds are comfortable and we all slept well. Our bathroom was a bit on the small side but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingtutt
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear kingtutt, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recenst stay with us at Dennehof Gueshouse. We truely appreciate your custom and time. We are thrilled that you found our rooms comfortable and staff friendly. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the end of the date to a room with two single tiny beds and there was nothing else available. When we complained, as we had made reservation for two well in advanced, the response was that they thought we were two friends, rather than husband and wife.... They gave us a not very good bottle of wine...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 382alejandros
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear 382alejandros, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay at Dennehof Guesthouse. I do apologise that your room was not as you had expected. The two twin beds you did receive were to standard and extra length. It was the only room were the beds could not be made into a double bed. We did apologise...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As usual nothing could be better than a stop over at this venue , spotless , exquisite linen , perfect decor , I'm always astonished at the high standard time after time I stay here . Nothing is ever left to get jaded and the quality control is exceptional. I couldn't rate it any higher . Quite perfect .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finchattum
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Finchattum, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. Your kind words highlighting all that we work so hard at every day is mentioned in your comments, thank you for this. We look forwad to welcoming you back to Dennehof in the future. Kind regards Ria & Lindsay

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us stayed here for two nights earlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed it. A beautiful guest house with great rooms, comfy beds and bedding, and great breakfasts taken al fresco. In addition, we did the Hell Tour with Lindsay which was very impressive - glad he was driving and not any of us. Hope to return as Prince...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve1205
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Steve1205, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the trip inthe Gamkaskloof (The Hel) with Lindsay STeyn. I am particularly pleased that you also enjoyed the lovely linen and bedrooms we offer our guests. We always have our...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not the first time we have stayed at Dennehof and we loved our second visit as much as the first. It really has everything we want. It is slightly on the edge of the village so it is quiet with cow pastures and open fields giving an agricultural feel to the surroundings. The architecture is well done and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 634henryp
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear 634henryp, Thank you for deciding to spend your birthday with Dennehof Guesthouse. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We work hard at ensuring our guests want for nothing and it is always lovely to know when we have succeeded with this. We look forward to welcoming you back to Prince Albert and Dennehof in the...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed two nights in this magnificient guesthouse in Prince Albert with friends-warm welcome from hosts Ria and Lindsey-we were allocated a self catering unit at the front of the house-airy and spacious with period furnishings-superb breakfast served on terracing-did the Die Hell trip with Lindsey as guide-very informative and interesting-a full day which we enjoyed but would not be for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Mick D, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in the self catering house and that you enjoyed your trip into Gamkaskloof (The Hel) with Lindsay Steyn. We look forward to seeing you back in Prince Albert and Dennehof in the future....

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prince Albert
17.5 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
163 reviews
1.6 km away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
241 reviews
1.4 km away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
121 reviews
2.1 km away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
97 reviews
2.6 km away
Bushman Valley
Bushman Valley
#8 of 10 in Prince Albert
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the grandeur of South Africa's unexplored spaces from Prince Albert's oldest homestead, a serene & comfortable base at the foot of the Swartberg Pass. Ria and Lindsay, are your hosts. "We know that your visit to Prince Albert will be a memorable one and we are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us at our historic farmstead. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse

Address: 20 De Wit Street | Great Karoo, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Price Range: $119 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles Dewaal, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check the rooms for ants...”
 of 5 bubbles Bootsyfan, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not all rooms have TV.”
 of 5 bubbles 619sandyr, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are excellent, although some are larger than others.”
 of 5 bubbles stuartandalison187, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are all unique and beautiful. Try the Wagonshed for the outdoor bath, and The Barn for larger groups.”
 of 5 bubbles KelseyB268, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5