We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oude Wellington Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oude Wellington Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oude Wellington Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Old establshment dating from 1700s. My wife and I spent 4 nights here. Room was in the "Hen House"😀. Very clean comfortable beds, fridge (wine and mineral water for sale), tea, coffee, etc. Large doors at back opened to a view of beautiful horses and mountains. Shower had a problem with water pressure one morning, but one should remember that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vernon V
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear Vernon What a pleasure to read your extensive description of Oude Wellington and how to enjoy your stay. It always amazes me how different opinions can be about the same place. Thank you for the many details you mentioned. All staff and myself are dedicated to provide comfort and a happy environment. We like you to return and experience...

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 13 March 2016

People very friendly. Taps in the shower were broken and had to be repaired twice in two days. Braai was dirty with old bones and ash. The curtain fell halfway off and was told just too rip it completely off if it worried us. The cleaning staff only came at 3hoo on the afternoon when we wanted to have a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marietjie E S
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear Marieke My apologies for the damaged tap in the shower and the sad looking roman blind in the bed room. We managed to find new handles and replaced them on the same day, hoping you would forgive us for the oversight. We have been awarded 4 starts (not 5) again very recently and are dedicated to deliver on this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Oude Wellington is one of the ordinal wineries in Wellington with original Cape Dutch buildings surrounded by fields and vines. The Deluxe room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool, and our own drinks at sunset before walking to the restaurant on site. Very quiet and relaxing. The manager, Colin, was very welcoming and gave great service....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 463hughp
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear guest We could not be more pleased to read your comment. Thank you for highlighting what Oude Wellington stands for. Colin will be pleased that his efforts are noticed and valued so highly. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and enjoy our surroundings. We hope you will return With kind regards Rolf Schumacher

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We really liked staying at Oude Wellington and appreciated the old original fittings, frames, deco, all in an immaculate condition. After hearing of our room having no shower but only a tub I voiced my dissappointment to the owner, his reaction could have been a bit more positive and constructive, perhaps offering bubble bath or similar...instead he was a bit...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vero F
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear guests Did I really came across that grumpy? My apologies. Next time you come I will make up for it I promise ! Please ask for room 2 which is our only room that has both shower and bath. Am am however planning to add showers to some other bath rooms as we have that request often. But it...

Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Had some nice days on this old farm. Like the atmosphere from the old buildings. Showering was sometimes a little tricky, because of the waterpressure, but no big problem for us. Nice that there is a cosy, lovely restaurant on this Estate with good food. Bought wonderful brandy, which they make on this farm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y2156RLjank
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear guests Thank you for your time to write a few words about Oude Wellington. We can only learn from our guest's comments and interaction. We have meanwhile improved water pressure, but it can still happen if several rooms draw water at the same time. Keep in mind we are not connected to municipal water. With kind regards Rolf

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Fine location, good room, restaurant on property was average, friendly service trifle too much constant muzac, great breakfast with excellent views. Bathroom well-fitted with quality items. Attentive staff with good advice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 278christiaanv
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear Dave &C What a pleasure to hear from you again. Thank you for your kind words and we enjoyed your company very much. Colin will be happy to read your comment about the breakfast. Please do come again and explore some more of Wellington and our area With kind regards Rolf

Sweden
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Helpful staff. Nicely styled rooms in a very old building. Excellent restaurang, wich was not run by Oude Wellington Estate. With the heat we experienced it was nice to have a pool. Very local made good brandy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 26sveng
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for mentioning my Brandy. Made with passion and our own grapes on the farm. The restaurant is a separate business and the chef has been here for many years in fact it is the oldest run restaurant in Wellington. I am glad you liked the old walls and the charme they ooze. I still love them...

Wellington, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

It took the kitchen 4 hours to serve dinner to the guests. Guests have to wait up to 30 minutes to try and pay their bills. Shortage if qualified staff, a rude cheff rounded this experience for guests of as one of the worst Christmas gifts ever received. However the cusine was excelent guests left before they had the full...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohannJLemmer
oudewellington, Owner of the Estate at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Oude Wellington Restaurant is an independent business. You are complaining to the guesthouse instead. But since I dined there myself I might as well respond to you too. It was Christmas day and staff (that actually came to work) did their very best to please the guests. Please have a bit of passion for the girls that worked on that...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 20 December 2015

The administration was a bit muddled as my room has been given to another guest. I was given a better room though The staff were friendly and kind. The breakfast was good and the environment is very pretty.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretcD4063MB
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are glad you liked your stay and ound gentle riendly words to appreciate Oude Wellington's hospitality. Confusions with bookings do happen but I am proud to say that in 20years we had only two double booking we could not resolve internaly and had to ask a neighbouring guesthouse to help out. modern booking systems make it possible....

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We stay one night at the Oude Wellington Estates, the service was above expectation as we asked for special request. Rolf the owner was very friendly and always made sure that we were OK. I will most definitely come back to the place without hesitation. The food at the restaurant was very good and the Estates location is a corner...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cescape
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write and the kind words about Oude Wellington. It was a pleasure to have you. There are quite a few bycicle races and mountain bike treks in and around Wellington and of course the challenging Bainskloof so we do hope to see you again in the near future. With kind regards...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
2.5 km away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
2.2 km away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 22 in Wellington
197 reviews
4.4 km away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 22 in Wellington
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Diemersfontein Country House
Diemersfontein Country House
#5 of 22 in Wellington
124 reviews
5.4 km away
De Kleijne Bos Country House
5.5 km away
Lady Loch Guesthouse
Lady Loch Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Wellington
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oude Wellington is a Boutique Wine and Brandy Estate. Imagine Cape Dutch thatched buildings with fat walls and terracotta hand-formed tiles. Modern amenities like air-conditioning combined with rustic wood and Victorian style bathrooms. Free standing bathtubs with lion claw feet and flat-screen TV, DVD. Bath-robes, Horse riding, walks, nature, wine tastings and an ala carte restaurant. Only 50 Minutes away from most attractions like the 2 oceans, Table mountain, Franshoek, Stellenbosch. Oude Wellington is truly in the centre of the winelands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oude Wellington Estate

Address: Bainskloof (R303), Wellington 7654, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Price Range: $81 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Wellington Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oude Wellington Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oude Wellington Estate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Oude Wellington Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 had a private stoep with table and chairs and nicely secluded.”
 of 5 bubbles Tierfontein, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are bigger rooms available on request”
 of 5 bubbles Shereen148, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Go for room 11!”
  • Views of the hills and mountains
  • View of the rooms
 of 5 bubbles Stellenbosch1987, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“All of them are nice. I liked the cottage with the kitchen for a longer stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 322marionm, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Check there is not a wedding party.”
 of 5 bubbles 434PaulT, 14 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5