We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Gallup
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Sussex
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a stop over while doing Route 66. On arrival it looked clean so wasn't worried. Disappointed that the pool was shut as was the laundry. Went to our room and being on the ground floor noticed lots of different entrance doors and people running outside. Asked at reception if the outside doors were locked at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maysmum
Management response:

This is a very exaggerated review. The fact that Red Lion Staff called the police, as soon as there was a comment made to the front desk, shows the importance of our guest safety. I would have been more upset if my staff had not cared, and not called the police. I cannot be here 24 hours per day, therefore,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Like most touring travellers we look for not the ritz but just a good clean ,safe and quiet room at a bargain price .this motel achieves this easily . The room was large everything worked and no traffic noise was present . It is away from downtown but if you want a peaceful sleep this is an advantage. Included in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil E
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. I will share this with my staff.

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Very rude woman at the counter was extremely short with my girlfriend when she was asked basic questions about the area and property. All amenities advertised (pool, spa, and restaurant) were all closed. Hotel its self was clean enough but is defiantly showing its age.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David I
Management response:

I am so sorry about your experience with our front desk person. I will research and see who was working and speak with them. Again, I am sorry you were not treated as you should have been.

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Their website says that they had a pool and hot tub. Well they don't. Both are closed because of burst pipes. They also said they had a fitness center. They don't have that either. For some unknown reason it was closed when we tried to use it at 10am. That being said, it was still too good of a deal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey R
Management response:

We have removed anything regarding a pool or hot-tub, exercise center. I am sorry these were not open. We are in the process of getting some renovation done and at that time everything will reopen.

Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed there one evening. Room was clean, carpet was vacuumed and smelled ok. Hotel needs some improvements as it looks it's age mid 80's. Non the less the thing that was really diapointing was the breakfast, I showed up 5 minutes before they were to close the breakfast area and was told that breakfast was over and they would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
Management response:

I totally agree with you. I am researching who was on duty that day. I will speak with them regarding the correct way to treat a guest.

Heartland Illinois
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The beds were very comfortable. Some are a long ways from the lobby. The complementary breakfast is a hot meal prepared in their restaurant and was excellent. The accessible bathroom was just what I needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BearTrapTC
Management response:

Thank you so much for your pleasant reply.

Cortez, Colorado
Reviewed 19 March 2016

The Red Lion is nicely appointed and the room functions were all operative. Hotel staff were pleasant. That said the hotel is not anyway near downtown--or anything really. We were disappointed that the pool and spa were closed and that in the morning there was a sign indicating that the cook was not available and our breakfast offerings were limited....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank byronnack
Management response:

I apologize for the problem with the cook. The staff tried to call in another cook, however, the distance he had to travel was too far, as he would have taken over an hour to get in. Again, I apologize.

Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewed 17 March 2016

This is an out-of-the-way property that is well maintained with a great staff. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The breakfast cook did not show up but that could happen to anyone. The cold breakfast was adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times over the years and it has progressively gotten worse. We will start with the "renovations". I always thought renovations meant something was being upgraded. At this Red Lion I think it means they just don't want to maintain those facilities any more. The bar and restaurant hasn't been open for at least 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
Management response:

I apologize for the problems you encountered. I have had a meeting with my staff, they understand they did not perform the way they are expected. Just for your information, this hotel was sold, lot of new employees. Please accept my apologies.

Reviewed 8 March 2016

This is a venerable old hotel that in spite of a great staff is just worn out. Everything was clean and the huge rooms are typical of Red Lions but it's impossible to make old new without new furniture, floor coverings etc. Breakfast was a highlight of our stay, however, hot, real eggs and bacon served on real plates by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
Management response:

I understand your reply. This hotel has sold and we are hoping for renovations to start soon.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.2 km away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#13 of 34 in Gallup
408 reviews
9.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#17 of 34 in Gallup
72 reviews
14.5 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 34 in Gallup
242 reviews
13.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Price Range: $85 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Gallup staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not check in!1”
 of 5 bubbles lenoreyazzie, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a non-smoking room because the smoking rooms stink.”
 of 5 bubbles lisasZ5296NP, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay”
 of 5 bubbles R9813FYdavidm, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask what amenities are actually available when you reserve”
 of 5 bubbles byronnack, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Hard to find but it is worth looking. Gallup is very spread out.”
 of 5 bubbles H2425GDdavidb, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay