We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-29 2017-10-30
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tangala Safari Camp

    Thornybush reserve | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-10-29 2017-10-30
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornybush Private Game ReserveSee available hotels in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
    Traveller (206)
    Room & Suite (33)
    Dining (22)
    Overview
    • Excellent79%
    • Very good15%
    • Average6%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “no electricity” (30 reviews)
    “oil lamps” (10 reviews)
    “swimming pool” (10 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Bar/Lounge
    Internet
    Air Conditioning
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    We're sorry, there are no rooms available on TripAdvisor. Please change your dates, or view all Thornybush Private Game Reserve hotels with availability
    Write a Review
    Reviews (130)
    There are newer reviews for Tangala Safari Camp
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    31 - 35 of 108 reviews

    Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

    I cannot say enough positive things about Tangala Safari Camp! The location is breathtaking on Thornybush reserve, with only the sounds of the bush to lull you to sleep. The action at the watering hole during the day was incredible. At one point 6 giraffes...More

    Thank delfuegofrancais
    Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 15 March 2017

    Dear delfuegofrancais. Thank you for your review. We at Tangala are glad you had a good time with us here and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Kyle Lewin

    Reviewed 12 September 2016

    My husband and I were at Tangala less than 2 weeks ago and we can't wait to go back!! We we met by the smiling faces of Nina, Kyle and Joe who took care of us for the next 3 days. We stayed in one...More

    1  Thank Sandra P
    Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 15 March 2017

    Thank you for the feedback it is highly appreciated. It is great to hear that the team's passion has rubbed off and that you enjoyed your time with us. Regards Kyle Lewin

    Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

    We spent a night at Tangala this past weekend for my husband's birthday. From our arrival where we were met by Nina and made to feel so welcome ,to the very informative and exciting game drives that Jaques and Caswell took us on, to the...More

    1  Thank Lucinda S
    Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 15 March 2017

    Dear Lucinda S. Thank you for the lovely review and for choosing us to celebrate your husbands birthday with. We hope to see you again for a longer stay. Regards Kyle Lewin

    Reviewed 16 July 2016

    We stayed at Tangala for two nights after a couple of nights in three other game reserves around Hoedspruit all arranged by the excellent On Track Safaris team. The view from the thatched, shaded terrace overlooked a waterhole and I spent many an hour relaxing...More

    Thank Tim R
    Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 15 March 2017

    Dear Tim R. Thank you for your review. Very glad that you had a good stay here with us. The team and I hope to see you again! Regards Kyle Lewin

    Reviewed 10 February 2015

    On returning to Tangala for our second visit we were not disappointed with the large amount of game on view. We saw all the Big 5 and could not believe our eyes when at least 15 elephants of all sizes came and drunk from our...More

    1  Thank Froghoppere64
    Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 20 March 2017

    Dear Froghoppere64 Sounds like you had some nice sightings at the lode. Sorry to hear about the management then, however the lodge has now been refurbished and has new management. I hope to see you at Tangala in the near future. Regards Kyle Lewin

    Kapama River Lodge
    1,780 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    410 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama Karula
    445 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama Southern Camp
    627 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Airport Transportation
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$93 - US$1,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 5
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Kruger National Park >
    • Thornybush Private Game Reserve
    • Also Known As
    • Tangala Safari Camp South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (206)
    Room & Suite (33)
    Dining (22)
    Pool & Beach (14)
    Hotel & Grounds (169)
    Bathroom (2)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,780 reviews
    15.72 km away
     
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    410 reviews
    12.16 km away
     
    Kapama Southern Camp
    627 reviews
    9.35 km away
     
    Kapama Karula
    445 reviews
    7.00 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
    434 reviews
    26.61 km away
    Potluck Boskombuis
    334 reviews
    42.11 km away
    Austrian Coffee Estate
    7 reviews
    42.21 km away
    Cala la Pasta Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
    295 reviews
    26.69 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Camp Jabulani Elephant Experience
    79 reviews
    12.23 km away
    Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
    843 reviews
    27.06 km away
    Blyderivierspoort Hiking Trail
    30 reviews
    37.29 km away
    Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre
    765 reviews
    12.78 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    simoncheape
    3 October 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Kyle_Lewin | Property representative |
    Hi there. Unfortunately, we don't provide binoculars. Please bring yours with. Look forward to seeing you soon.
    0
    Votes
    Flying4
    18 April 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Kyle_Lewin | Property representative |
    Dear Flying4 At Tangala Safari Camp we have solar power. We are able to charge any device. Cameras, iPads, phones. The solar runs our fridges and lights for the lodge as well. Hope that helps you. Kind regards Kyle
    1
    Vote
    john c
    4 February 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Christian N |
    They are to be found on the net, search for Tangala Thornybush
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "There are only a small amount of chalets and tented rooms on the property and all are good."
    Read review
    "We stayed in the cottages. They were very nice. Others stayed in the tents and they said they were warm..."
    Read review
    "A tent overlooking the water hole"
    Read review
    "If we were to return I would choose one of the tents facing the watering hole."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing