We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Simbavati River Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Simbavati River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

448 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Simbavati River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We really enjoyed our two days here before moving up the hill to Hill Top Lodge for a further two days. Hill Top is a little more up market but River Lodge couldn't be faulted. The accommodation overlooking the river bed was first rate, the food very good, the game drives exciting with Shaddy and Nicholas trying their best to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBirdie
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SydneyBirdie Thank you for writing a review for both of our lodges. We are glad you got to experience both of them and that you found the service and lodges both enjoyable. We also appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit. Keep well, regards Nadine

Bargstedt, Germany
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Very luxurious lodge with extreme nice staff. This is the place to be, when you travel to a game lodg. Food is excellent. All very comfortable and you feel so welcome. Go there, when you want a real Sout African bush experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drcoelle
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear drcoelle Thank you for the huge compliment! "Go there, when you want a real South African bush experience." We love this! We work so hard to provide our guests with an unforgettable bush experience and you have confirmed that we have gotten it right! Your review is appreciated and we hope you will come back and visit us again....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We are a family of 5 - my wife, kids (8, 10 and 12) and me. The Lodge - the lodge was great and the food was nice. We had two fussy eaters, and the chefs made sure they were looked after. Its great value for money, though not the high luxury compared to some of the Sabi Sands lodges....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale G
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dale G Thank you for bringing your family to our lodge. We are thrilled they had a great time especially the kids. Hopefully their stay will turn them into future game rangers? Your game drives sound stunning, wish I was their to view them with you. We will pass on your compliments to the team - they will love...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 October 2016

At least once a year my wife and i like to get away from it all and go to the Kruger Park whether it be in the government side or the private reserves. This time we decided to get the bigger wallet out and go private. We have not been to Timbavati before and decided on Simbavati river reserve. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerryban
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jerryban Thank you for your detailed review it is greatly appreciated. I am sorry you felt that our lodge did not meet your expectations. The Nharalumi river in front of the lodge is a seasonal river and mainly flows in the rainy season. It is unfortunate that South Africa is experiencing a drought at the moment so everything is...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We were two parents and a teenage child who spent 3 nights at the River Lodge. Our stay was fantastic and exceeded our expectations by far. Accomodation was very nice in a hut with two separate double rooms and balcony overlooking the now dried out river and all the animal life passing by. Food and service was excellent and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgjestvang
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear bgjestvang Thank you for recommending our lodge, we really appreciate it! We are glad to hear that your family had an enjoyable stay with us, that you love your accommodation, food and our service and your game drives. You all had some pretty amazing sightings. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Keep well, regards Nadine

Kiryat Ono, Israel
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My wife and I spent 5 days at the Simbavati river lodge on the first week of October 2016, and we had a really amazing stay there which exceeded even what we hoped to have. I'll start with the entire staff being very kind, honestly willing to do everything for the guests pleasure and always with a smile. This starts...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amitliber
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear amitliber We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing photography safari with us. Hopefully your wife enjoyed it as much as you? We would love to see the photos that you took. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations, it was our pleasure to give you an unforgettable safari. Thank you for the detailed...

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights , Lodge was very well sign posted and easy find , upon arrival we were greeted with a cool drink and a brief introduction to facilities , accommodation was comfortable and contained all the expected trimmings , you are given an early morning wake up call at 5:30 for a 6 o'clock game drive,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Cascade, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 September 2016

There were 5 of us, mother, father, grown daughter and two grandsons, 7,9. We had a great time!! The accomadatioms were very good, food was good, staff very pleasant and helpful and our tracker and guide excellent. We had 4 very successful drives. The staff was especially accommodating to our grandkids. We saw all of the big 5 and many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donandbobbi
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear donandbobbi We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at our lodge. Hopefully we have created future game rangers out of your grand children :) We offer the best game drives if I do say so myself. Our staff are very knowledgeable and our trackers are the best at finding all that nature has to...

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at the Sumbavari River Lodge in November 2015. Everything from our first welcome, the staff, the food, the safari drives and our accommodations were excellent. You are right in the park with no barriers and as a result we had breakfast with monkeys, and a group of elephants stopped by for a drink of water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShandaRoslyn
Simbavati, Online Matketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ShandaRoslyn Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge. Our staff are definitely passionate about what they do as you saw and they are one of the many reasons why our guests enjoy their stay at our lodge. Thank you for letting us be part...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This was our second time at Simbavati. We stayed here two years ago and after looking at other options decided to return. We had a great time. Hemet is a star tracker and Mike was our very enthusiastic and great Guide. Unfortunately Mike has moved on but we know they have other great guides also. The "tents" are getting fancier...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeanSD
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SeanSD Thank you for choosing to stay at our lodge for a 2nd time. We are so glad you came back and that you got to experience our new refurbishment "glamping" as you called it :) It was lovely to be able to provide you with a new memorable safari experience and we were happy that we could live...

456 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (445)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Other (258)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
1.0 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
183 reviews
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
669 reviews
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
208 reviews
8.1 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
341 reviews
34.7 km away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $959 - $1,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simbavati River Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Simbavati River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room had no view of the river, but it was very quiet and you could hear the animals at night, which was so special”
migafre, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view. We were stuck at the end of the row of tents with no view at all.”
Archie9898, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wild dog room”
908cindy, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river are best”
SydneyBirdie, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The tents and rooms are both good. Ones with view over river or waterhole would be better.”
17daleg, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5