We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Umlani Bushcamp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Umlani Bushcamp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Umlani Bushcamp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 350: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We flew into Hoedspruit from Johannesburg and were received by Amos who was our designated ranger. Umlani was a 45 minute drive away from the airport and we went through a detailed briefing by Rouxle and a very late light lunch (we had landed only at around 1:30). Having been on safari before, we realize that animal sightings are up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhyncus
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed and delightful review of Umlani .Thembi,Amos and Andrew are proud to be specifically mentioned . We are pleased you found the Umlani team helpful and :) Hope you manage another visit one day in the future.

nuneaton
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Last year we did our first safari which was brilliant and in super luxury accommodation at a 5* lodge. We wanted to go again this year but could not afford 5* so looked for alternatives. My search found Umlani and I am glad it did! What a fantastic place. Firstly the people. Umlani is well run and nicely managed by...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank noiretti
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Its big pleasure .... thank you for your lovely review of Umlani We are happy you found Umlani and booked . Amos & Andrew are pleased to be mentioned and are glad you found their game drives well managed and fun. Also thank you for mentioning the 3 night stay we agree 100% that should be minimum stay. The team...

Rugby
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We normally don't return to a place we have visited before but for Umlani we made an exception and we were not disappointed. We were lucky enough to be staying in Rondavel No 8 again and thank goodness it has not changed. It is so nice to have the outdoor African shower and to be able to lay in your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gina S
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Wow........ thank you for all the compliments and wonderful review of Umlani it means a lot to all of us as a team. Sinhle,Cabinate,Nanette,Thembi and Joana all appreciate your special mention of them. We very pleased you returned to Umlani and that you had Rondavel 8 . We all look forward to your next return visit ! best regards Marco

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Exceeded my expectations! Was a little nervous about not having electricity, but ended up loving the rustic conditions. Our guide, Adam, and tracker, Ephram, were amazing! We saw the Big 5 within 24 hrs. The animals we so oblivious to us; we were able to very close to them. I already miss seeing the "elephant family reunion" at the treehouse,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RobinLisaC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Glad to see we exceeded your expectations on your first safari experience . Thank you for the mention that Adam & Ephriam were amazing , we hope you get to return one day and we appreciate you reviewing Umlani . all our best Marco

Brightwell-cum-Sotwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We have visited several other reserves from Namibia to Malawi. But Umlani, while not being Serengatti gives you the fun of a true safari, search and discover game in their natural surroundings. Our Tracker and Guide were excellent, And because we could go 'off road' in certain parts we had some very special game viewing. Sitting right under the tree...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eldore50
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Thank you for the good description of the Umlani experience I am pleased you found the team helpful and charming and that you would return which we hope happens one day :) just to mention Game viewing is generally good any time of the year . Also Thank you for your mention of the all inclusive rates being generous.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 5 October 2015

A total surprise to find and stay at this Camp. From the moment we arrive till we leaving, there is always some one willing to help you. Had 2 great game drive (evening/sunset), and morning one. Abundant wild life to see. Really like to chance to have diner and chat staff and other guests together. We were like a family...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tintden
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Thank you for the review glad you found Umlani and enjoyed being with the team. Hope you can come back one day a stay a little longer :) best regards Marco

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We saw the big 5 in less than 24 hours. Really excellent experience the shower under a full moon wow something I will never forget. The knowledge of the rangers is absolutely mind blowing. We would surely go back to Umlaninwith our kids.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P5283OWjohns
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Umlani happy to see you had an excellent experience we look forward to meeting your kids one day . best regards Marco

Falun, Sweden
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I had a wonderful three day visit at Umlani in the end of September. The camp is powered only by the sun and you are able to get wifi at the reception area. The accomidation is very convenient with flushing toilets and private bathrooms. With two game drives a day I got multiple sightings of the big five as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D9766OHdaniela
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor we are pleased to hear you had a wonderful visit hope to see you again one day in the future. Regards Marco

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We had stayed at Umlani for 3 days 2 nights, and what was interesting about this place is the eco friendly system they had. Limited wifi hours (which transcend to higher frequency of interaction between visitors). Low usage of electricity (Minimal usage of modern lights). night lighting are by the used of oil lamp and the bush camp had consolidated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchshuf
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Umlani and mentioning our eco friendly system and hosting. nice tips for other guest . regards Marco

Brisbane, Queensland
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I stayed with my son at Umlani Bush Camp in 2008, and we had such a fabulous time that I've been wanting to return for years. This year, 2015, I final did, and brought a mate with me on his first trip to Africa. Umlani really delivered in the wildlife stakes! We saw leopard (including a mother and cub) a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank seagullrob
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review

Wow..... thank you for your lovely detailed review. Happy that you returned to Umlani also thank you for the mention of Nanette,Thembi,Joana,Sinhle and Cabinate . I was pleased you enjoyed your stay in the new Eco Rondawel ,your description is helpful for others. I am super envious that you saw an Aardvark with your son. I have been trying for...

482 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (464)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (340)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
30.5 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,597 reviews
5.8 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
577 reviews
18.3 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
409 reviews
12.7 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
208 reviews
6.2 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Umlani Bushcamp, a rustic yet exclusive lodge, accommodates guests in cozy en-suite reed and thatch rondavels. Early morning and evening game drives are in open four wheel drive vehicles accompanied by experienced rangers and trackers offers exceptional game viewing opportunitys. Umlani makes the whole event personalized and specializes in escorted walks into this unspoiled wilderness. Umlani, meaning Place of Rest, was established in 1990 by Marco and Marie-Louise Schiess, in the central section of the Timbavati Nature Reserve, which is part of the greater Kruger National Park. Umlani is the perfect nature lovers choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Umlani Bushcamp

Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $589 - $824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umlani Bushcamp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umlani Bushcamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umlani Bushcamp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Umlani Bushcamp South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Umlani Bushcamp staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Umlani Bushcamp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all 'rooms' are great!”
SandLHighlands, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Eco rooms are less open to the outside environment, preferred the more open thatched hut.”
cathymack2016, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would say that all the rooms (huts) were the same.”
Timmerhus, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Oh yes : go the the "tree house" !”
, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Room 4 as it is right on the edge of camp and very close to the dry river bed. Great view and very, very, peaceful.”
KrugerC, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5