We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ravineside Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Ravineside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 50: English reviews
Lephalale, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We received warm welcome when we arrived. The room is comfortable, spacious and peaceful, I love the fact that there is no TV, I was just enjoying hearing the sound of birds and amazing view. Our Ranger Mashudu is very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the game drives and there are lot of animals compare to other game reserves.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillism2017
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Phillism2017 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the wildlife and excellent service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to Mashudu and the rest of the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Mokopane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ravineside Lodge at Entabeni is highly overpriced and very disappointing. The facilities are old, unkept and dirty. The food and service is less than average. There are many other lodges in the area that offer a lot more value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yolandie K
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Yolandie K, We are disheartened to read that you did not enjoy your time with us at Ravineside Lodge. Whilst Ravineside is one of the older lodges on the property, it has recently undergone an upgrade to its facilities and interiors and has received a number of positive reviews since. We have however escalated your comments to Executive Management...

Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The public roads to the area up to about 20 Km from the gate are fine but from there on they are gravel and in very poor condition with a number of dangerous holes in darainage pipes crossing the road. It is also poorly signposted to both the upper and lower camps and a number of foreign gusts we met...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimhA891ZR
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kimhA891ZR Thank you for taking the time to review our lodges. We thank you for your positive comments and have passed those on to Management to share with their teams. We welcome constructive comments as we feel they can only assist us in bettering our service delivery, and thank you for taking your time to send us yours. The...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an entrance, in the middle of the wild. Very nice cottages next to a ravine, we saw elephants and giraffes when we woke up on the other side. Excellent service from ranger Eugene and the other staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luco O
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Luco O Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the wildlife and excellent service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to Eugene and the rest of the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We enjoyed our stay very much and even saw a leopard! Our main comment is that the layout of the Ravineside guests area and restaurant to our opinion is totally wrong: none of these areas offer a view over Entabeni's main asset: the plain with the animals (dubbed the Serengeti). All the rooms that overlook the plain are currently occupied...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick H
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dick H Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ravineside Lodge. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, especially the Leopard sighting. We have passed on your comments to Management and would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back again in the...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2016

On our arrival nobody assisted us with our luggage. Then just before 14:00 we proceed to the restaurant and the food was already packed away except for the salads which remained. Once returned the food was a meagre compilation with the two meat dishes being pork and beef short ribs. Both dry and untasteful and the firs time ever that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hendrikferreira
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Mr Ferreira, Thank you for your review. We understand from our booking system that you in fact stayed at Lakeside and not Ravineside Lodge. Having investigated the matter we would like to provide you with some feedback. Our apologies for the delay in coming back to you on this matter. The lack of assistance with your luggage has...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The arrival was good . Food in general is not good. The high tea is dismal and I understand there are flies but it is not ok that there is no deterrent for them. The staff are ok not amazingly friendly. The game drive was so fast it felt like a roller coaster ride and the only reason we found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharna D
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sharna D, Having read your review we are most dismayed to see that your time with us was not the Legendary experience we strive to create for all our guests. We apologise that this was the case for you. We can however assure you this is not the norm and that corrective action is being taken against the team...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Ravineside is well run yet laid back, that made our stay very relaxing. There is no fence around the camp so animals may come inside the camp - which made it quite exciting. The rooms share a communal living room with a fridge/freeze. They offer 2 lengthy game drives per day. The swimming pool offers welcome relief on the hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devilliers
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear devilliers Thank you for sharing your 'peaceful bush retreat' with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, especially the safaris, accommodations and welcoming pool. We will be sure to pass on your great compliments to Gibson and the rest of the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

After staying at both Lakeside & Ravineside, Ravineside is my pick. The views from your accommodation were spectacular. Especially the stars at night & the sunrise. Also your close proximity to the wildlife is outstanding. The guided drive exceeds expectations as you drive from the upper escarpment to the lower. The Scenery & natural beauty are breathtaking with different aspects...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
MichelleBouic, Company Liaison at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear dadmacrae, Thank you very much for the positive feedback from your stay at Ravineside lodge; we are so happy to hear that the game drives exceeded your expectations;However,we are surprised and quite disheartened to read that you felt our food offerings did not live up to expectation. We have not received any other complaints from guests over the same...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The whole experience was wonderful, a short but very effective brake away to face the last term of the year. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was great and the accommodation neat. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarykevdWalt
MichelleBouic, Company Liaison at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marykevdwalt, We would like to thank you for such a positive feedback about Ravineside Lodge; we are glad t hear the your overall experience was such a success and that the staff was helpful and friendly to you, and we will mention to the Chef that you enjoyed the meals. We hope to welcome you back again very soon....

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
37 reviews
12.0 km away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
222 reviews
0.0 km away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
55 reviews
23.0 km away
Olievenfontein Private Game Reserve
Olievenfontein Private Game Rese...
#1 of 1 in Behoudeniskloof
12 reviews
32.4 km away
Jembisa Bush Home
Jembisa Bush Home
#3 of 36 in Vaalwater
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ravineside Lodge comprises tranquil thatched wooden lodges on stilts with magnificent views. Each lodge has 3 or 4 luxury en-suite bedrooms with an African ethnic theme. A private open-plan lounge and bar area extends to the open sundecks. From here guests may indulge in bird and game watching and experience the beauty of the ravine with the rippling sound of water far down in the valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ravineside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range: $159 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravineside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Ravineside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ravineside Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Los Angeles, California
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ravineside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The mattresses need to be replaced. The showerhead (which is in the bath) should be replaced. The fan should be replaced. The wood needs to be maintained (sanded down and varnished).”
 of 5 bubbles y0landiek, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A TV set in the room would be nice, especially because there is not much to do between the early morning and late afternoon game drives. For a 4-star game reserve it is remarkable that there are no TV's (except for 1 TV in the main bar).”
 of 5 bubbles dickh856, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room closest to the reception area because a lot of rooms are situated a distance from the amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles hendrikferreira, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy the view!!”
 of 5 bubbles MarykevdWalt, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the end which seemed a little bigger than the average room”
 of 5 bubbles Jaqueen2016, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5