We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thakadu River Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thakadu River Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thakadu River Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The service at the arrival was very poor. we had to fight to get our first game drive, which was really a shame. However the room, the environment and the overall experience are fantastic. There are no words for that. Amazingly beautiful!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tessav486
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear tessav486 We realise that you were upset when you arrive to hear that the game drive vehicle have already departed. Unfortunately you did not made it in time for the game drive, your family were not our only guests on the vehicle and we can not expect guests to wait for arriving guests that were not able to arrive...

Paris, France
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Aamazing time at Thakadu River Camp, wonderful rooms (luxury tents), great views from the lodge with herds of elephants coming to bathe in the water whole, good food, super friendly and helpful staff. Our ranger Gery was excellent, great tracker and wit him, we got to see the Big 5, followed a pack of wild dogs on their hunt, spotted...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N8052MMrobertv
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear N8052MMrobertv We are glad that to see that you had a trilling adventure and good memories of your Safari experience at Thakadu River Lodge. It was a privilege hosting you and we are looking forward to welcome you back as returning guests.

Oxford
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The place really is great value when all things are considered. We found the food in particular and caring staff really made our stay so special. The drives were equally great. The rooms aren't luxury but they are very nicely done out and are very comfortable as well. Seems some rooms have a much better view from their balcony than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imjustthemessenger
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear imjustthemessenger It was a pleasure hosting you. Except for clearing the pathways to the tents we try to leave the environment as natural as possible. Our friends the elephants are the only ones allowed to trim as they which. The Tents with better views in summer might not be as nice during the winter months. We are glad to...

Blythburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We chose Thakadu River Camp as it represented excellent value for our Christmas and New Year break. The welcome was warm, and the staff were unfailingly friendly during our extended stay. Accommodation is in large permanent tents, set on wooden decks along the river. The tents have large patio windows that lead on to a covered deck area overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Blythspirit68
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Blythspirit68 Thank you for this very informative review. Much appreciated. It was a pleasure hosting you and it was quite strange for the first couple of nights not to have the late night chat on the Pool deck. It is always inspiring to meet people like yourselves that really love the bush and will do anything to spend time...

Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 19 December 2016

If you're after great food and accommodation and a quick sighting of the big 5, this is the place for you. If you are more for the unspoiled experience, pay a little extra and go elsewhere. Too many roads, fences, power lines, traffic and buildings on each of our four game drives. I know how beautiful Madikwe is, so felt...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vschulz2017
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. All our game drives are in the larger Madikwe Game Reserve and are planned that our guests see most parts of the reserve, obviously depending on the amount of days you are staying. Our rangers concentrate first on the areas where the most animals are at that specific time. It was a pleasure...

Buhl, Germany
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Our guide Lazarus was very friendly and has a good knowledge about the animals and their behaviour. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious. We enjoyed the sundowners during the afternoon safari.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jochen Bianca O
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jochen And Bianca Thank you for your stay and positive feedback, the chefs are trilled about your comment on the food. It will be a pleasure for the Thakadu Team to welcome you back as returning guests.

Bela Bela
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

From the moment you arrive to the time you leave, you are encountered by friendly and competent staff. Your every comfort their priority. From hot water bottles greeting you in bed after a thoughtfully prepared dinner. Every meal never disappointed. It is truly a mavalous home away from home. The community owned and operated establishment is one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samiksha m
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear samiksha m We are delighted to see that you felt at home staying at Thakadu River Camp. We appreciate your visit and review. It will be a pleasure hosting you as returning guests at Thakadu River Camp.

Hollywood
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Our trip was arranged through Idube Photo Safari and far exceeded my expectations. The staff and guides at Thakadu were exceptional! Accommodations were very nice, comfortable and clean. Everyone there was very welcoming and efficient from arrival to departure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnrA3281GL
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear johnrA3281G1 It was a great pleasure to meet and host you. We enjoyed your humour. We trilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your photo's came out well. We hope to receive you back as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Thakadu River Camp at Madikwe is one of the best places to get your complete African experience. We take our guests at least twice a year because of the most beautiful location, amazing animal viewing and excellent service and it is malaria free area. Unlike the Kruger National Park, all Game drives are conducted by Professional Game Rangers who are...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tricia847
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear tricia847. Indeed you are family to us. Thank you for years of support. Always great excitement to host your groups. We are grateful for all that you do for the local school. We are looking forward to welcome you and your photography groups in March.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Thakadu met our expectations in all respects. The setting was lovely - authentic tented suites - and the staff were friendly and hospitable. The game viewing was incredible - rare and beautiful sightings of cheetah and wild dog! The holiday was everything we could wish for. The braai in the boma was a special highlight.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisakB9560QD
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear IisakB9560QD We are trilled to see that you enjoyed your stay at Thakadu River Camp. It was a pleasure to share Madikwe Game Reserve with you and to host you. The Thakadu Team hope to welcome you back as returning guests.

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (190)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17.9 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
431 reviews
20.1 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
328 reviews
5.1 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
410 reviews
18.6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
262 reviews
10.5 km away
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $401 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Thakadu River Camp South Africa/Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are twelve tents and we were in tent four; just a short 3-5 minute walk to the main lodge.”
  • This elephant was right outside of our balcony. Amazing.
 of 5 bubbles frankcK7249SW, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms were wonderful. Although it was a tent and therefore felt very romantic; they were very clean and absolutely beautiful. There was a gorgeous bath with brass taps, very comfortable beds and a lovely balcony. There was brilliant air conditioning and mosquito nets to keep out the insects. The rooms couldn't have been more perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles joannabenedictf, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The are all great, but if you want a good view of the river ask for the higher numbered rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dieselblade, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bed was amazing! My compliments!”
 of 5 bubbles tessav486, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 7 and other rooms for the same price definitely had better views from their balconies”
 of 5 bubbles imjustthemessenger, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5