We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thakadu River Camp

Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Madikwe Nature Reserve
    3.5 km
  • 5 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed 30 October 2016
Wonderful time
We were absolutely enchanted by this place. Very friendly and... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thakadu River Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 243: English reviews
Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were absolutely enchanted by this place. Very friendly and welcoming staff. We have seen the big Five animals on the game drives. This is a perfect place to relax and enjoy a very authentic South African bush lodge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 724steffiv
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear 724Steffiv We are glad to see that you could relax and enjoyed your stay at Thakadu River Camp. It was a pleasure sharing Madikwe Game Reserve beauty with you and hope to do so again.

Oviedo, Spain
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Wonderful experinece at Madikwe-Thakadu River Camp. Tent complex completely integrated in the natural park. Very good game drive experience, guided by a very nice lady. Rooms were enough for a family of 4 people,with a terrace where you can see elephants,monkeys or buffalos. Kids enjoy the swimming pool.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Ricardo R The Thakadu Team are trilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to share Madikwe with you and to be part of your wonderful experience. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back as returning guests to Thakadu River camp.

gauteng
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We booked for thakadu river camp for my husbands birthday. What a special place! The staff were helpful and friendly and even sang for my husbands birthday along with a freshly baked chocolate cake, the food was delicious,the rooms were beautiful. Falling asleep to the sound of lions roaring near by was an added bonus.Our game driver Gerry took the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 167candicef
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear 167candicef It was a great pleasure to host you as a family. Madikwe Game Reserve is a very special Safari destination and we are glad that Thakadu River Camp made this a " Magical" experience for you. We looking forward to receive you back as returning guests.

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We booked the entire lodge for a group recently. While I must say that guests enjoyed their stay, our experience dealing with management at Thakadu and Aha Resorts was not a good one. On the day of guest arrival, after we had paid in full and confirmed everything in writing and personal meetings, we were advised that they booked other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaell1232014
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear MICHAELL1232014 I understand that on a very important day of preparations for the wedding you had to deal with this extra stress load and for that I give you my censure apologies. Our CRO received an updated Rooming list on 19 Sep 2016 from one of the Agents of the Tour Operate / Traveling Agent that you did your...

Limburg Province, Belgium
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We visited Thakadu for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. Great service, nice staff, nice breakfast, lunch and dinner. The tents were very large and comfortabel, even with an extra bed for our daughter. We had a great Ranger, Patience, very experienced and kind. I will recommend this camp to all our friends!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 15lon
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear 15lon Thank you for your recommendation. It is always wonderful to see that our guests did enjoyed their stay at Thakadu River Camp. Our aim is always to give our guests a safari experience that they will not forget.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited for 3 nights in September and had an amazing time. We were initially concerned that our small 2wd car wouldn't make it as the Thakadu website advised a 4x4 was necessary however we just took it slowly and had no problems. The camp itself is lovely and relaxed, the food was delicious and there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMDew
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear KMDew We are glad to see that you had a memorable time, enjoying your safari experience and stay with us. We are looking forward to host you again and welcome you back as returning guests to Thakadu river Camp.

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Stayed here for four nights in September. Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing food (especially the antelope steak and the outdoor BBQ). Safari was incredible, Duncan was our guide and he was great, we saw the most incredible things including the big 5. Rooms were extremely clean, spacious, beds were so comfy. I have not stayed in safari elsewhere so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalieda
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Natalieda Thank you for your recommendation. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your Safari experience at Thakadu River Camp. It would be a pleasure to hosts you as returning guests.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Thakadu was just what we were looking for - to sleep in a tent and hear a lion roar outside. But it turns out to be even more thrilling to sleep in a tent and hear the leopard you have just seen outside NOT making a sound! Seriously, we had a wonderful experience at Thakadu. Our ranger, Lazarus, was excellent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Nancy D We are trilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Staying in a tent is the answer to be completely part of a bush experience. There is nothing as excited as the sound of lion waking you up while one is in the bush. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We stayed at Thakdu River Camp for three nights. This was the perfect amount of time as you have an opportunity to go on a number of game drives and see plenty of animals. We had Patience as our guide and she was incredible! She was so friendly and informative. She is passionate and exited about what she does and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leannepauls
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear leannepauls It was a great pleasure for the Thakadu Team to be part of organising an exciting engagement. We are trilled to see that it was a extra special day for the two of you. We hope to receive you back as Mr and Mrs at Thakadu River Camp.

Elp
Reviewed 18 September 2016

A once in a live time experience. Very friendly people with excellent service, great place to do a safari. We have been seeing elephants, giraffe, lions eating there prey, impala, wild dog, gnoe, kudu, young lions drinking at there mother, zebra, jackal, kingfisher, apes. I can highly recommand thuis place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene-Henri
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Irene-Henri We are trilled to see that you enjoyed your Safari experience. It was a pleasure to host you and to showcase Madikwe's wonders to you. We hope to see you back as returning guests at Thakadu River Camp.

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (174)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17.9 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
427 reviews
20.1 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
322 reviews
5.1 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
406 reviews
10.5 km away
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
162 reviews
18.6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#11 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $386 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Thakadu River Camp South Africa/Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms were wonderful. Although it was a tent and therefore felt very romantic; they were very clean and absolutely beautiful. There was a gorgeous bath with brass taps, very comfortable beds and a lovely balcony. There was brilliant air conditioning and mosquito nets to keep out the insects. The rooms couldn't have been more perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles joannabenedictf, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The are all great, but if you want a good view of the river ask for the higher numbered rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dieselblade, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bed was amazing! My compliments!”
 of 5 bubbles tessav486, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 7 and other rooms for the same price definitely had better views from their balconies”
 of 5 bubbles imjustthemessenger, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Tents are numbered from 1 to 12, with lower numbers closer to the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Blythspirit68, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5