We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-09-03 2017-09-04
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Thakadu River Camp

    Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    2017-09-03 2017-09-04
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$465
    View Deal
    Traveller (321)
    Room & Suite (37)
    Dining (16)
    Overview
    • Excellent74%
    • Very good18%
    • Average5%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “luxury tents” (10 reviews)
    “family tent” (4 reviews)
    “game drives” (90 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Free Wifi
    Room Service
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Thakadu River Camp
    Deals (2)
    Sep 3Sep 4
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Family Room - Non-refundable
      US$465
      View Deal
    • Family Room - Non-refundable
      US$465
      View Deal
    • Family Room - Non-refundable
      US$465
      View Deal
    • Family Room - Non-refundable
      US$465
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 2
    The Palace of the Lost City
    1,905 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Sun City
     
    Bakubung Bush Lodge
    797 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
     
    Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
    660 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
     
    Cascades, Sun City
    615 reviews
    #4 of 6 hotels in Sun City
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (337)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Thakadu River Camp
    See the most recent reviews

    41 - 45 of 280 reviews

    Reviewed 10 January 2017

    This lodge offers fantastic value for money - with a lovely permanent tented accommodation, really high standard food, excellent service and not to mention fantastic game viewing :-) We're a family of 2 adults and 2 children 8yr and 5yrs. As children understandably need to...More

    1  Thank Ellinghamfam
    Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 17 January 2017

    Dear Ellinghamfam The Thakadu Team are looking forward to your next visit. We would love to share more of Madikwe Game Reserves beauty and our hospitality with your family.

    Reviewed 10 January 2017

    The service at the arrival was very poor. we had to fight to get our first game drive, which was really a shame. However the room, the environment and the overall experience are fantastic. There are no words for that. Amazingly beautiful!More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank tessav486
    Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 17 January 2017

    Dear tessav486 We realise that you were upset when you arrive to hear that the game drive vehicle have already departed. Unfortunately you did not made it in time for the game drive, your family were not our only guests on the vehicle and we...More

    Reviewed 8 January 2017

    Aamazing time at Thakadu River Camp, wonderful rooms (luxury tents), great views from the lodge with herds of elephants coming to bathe in the water whole, good food, super friendly and helpful staff. Our ranger Gery was excellent, great tracker and wit him, we got...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank N8052MMrobertv
    Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 17 January 2017

    Dear N8052MMrobertv We are glad that to see that you had a trilling adventure and good memories of your Safari experience at Thakadu River Lodge. It was a privilege hosting you and we are looking forward to welcome you back as returning guests.

    Reviewed 7 January 2017

    The place really is great value when all things are considered. We found the food in particular and caring staff really made our stay so special. The drives were equally great. The rooms aren't luxury but they are very nicely done out and are very...More

    Thank imjustthemessenger
    Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 9 January 2017

    Dear imjustthemessenger It was a pleasure hosting you. Except for clearing the pathways to the tents we try to leave the environment as natural as possible. Our friends the elephants are the only ones allowed to trim as they which. The Tents with better views...More

    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    We chose Thakadu River Camp as it represented excellent value for our Christmas and New Year break. The welcome was warm, and the staff were unfailingly friendly during our extended stay. Accommodation is in large permanent tents, set on wooden decks along the river. The...More

    3  Thank Blythspirit68
    Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 5 January 2017

    Dear Blythspirit68 Thank you for this very informative review. Much appreciated. It was a pleasure hosting you and it was quite strange for the first couple of nights not to have the late night chat on the Pool deck. It is always inspiring to meet...More

    The Palace of the Lost City
    1,905 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Sun City
     
    Bakubung Bush Lodge
    797 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
     
    Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
    660 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
     
    Cascades, Sun City
    615 reviews
    #4 of 6 hotels in Sun City
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$400 - US$572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • North-West Province >
    • Madikwe Game Reserve
    • Also Known As
    • Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve ,
    • Thakadu River Camp South Africa/Madikwe Game Reserve
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (321)
    Room & Suite (37)
    Dining (16)
    Pool & Beach (15)
    Hotel & Grounds (243)
    Bathroom (8)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Nearby
    Bakubung Bush Lodge
    797 reviews
    85.19 km away
     
    The Palace of the Lost City
    1,905 reviews
    87.60 km away
     
    Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
    660 reviews
    91.01 km away
     
    Cascades, Sun City
    615 reviews
    88.22 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Caravela Portuguese Restaurant
    288 reviews
    56.83 km away
    Sanitas Restaurant
    233 reviews
    56.57 km away
    The Daily Grind
    18 reviews
    57.21 km away
    Embassy
    98 reviews
    54.91 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Madikwe Nature Reserve
    148 reviews
    10.04 km away
    Mokolodi Nature Reserve
    241 reviews
    59.31 km away
    Gaborone Sun
    96 reviews
    56.19 km away
    Lion Park Resort
    68 reviews
    65.15 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Mishy77
    6 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Hanlie L | Property representative |
    Connection is not always strong but you will be able to connect with 3G.
    0
    Votes
    GabsGirl76
    8 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Hanlie L | Property representative |
    Dear Janloubse Yes the rate include two game drives per day.
    0
    Votes
    Ken R
    6 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Hanlie L | Property representative |
    Details are available on our web page.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "The higher number the tent the further it is from the lodge, great for privacy but it can be a long walk."
    Read review
    "All rooms 5 star"
    Read review
    "If you don't want to walk to far... get the rooms 1 - 4"
    Read review
    "On the River in the Combretum Trees"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing