We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Camino Lodge

Hotels.comUS$67*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$69*
US$67*
Great Deal
US$69*
US$69*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
El Camino Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 233: English reviews
Start your review of El Camino Lodge
 Click to rate
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good Old Priceline. Another very acceptable hotel / motel for a good price without me having to do all of the shopping on-my-own. I booked my room the same day that I arrived and I did not even have to give them a credit card to guarantee my room. Check in was fast and efficient. I needed some assistance finding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kanbaatar
Medicine Bow, Wy.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was nice and friendly which is about the only good thing I can say about this place! We got to our room and there was no light at the door so it was hard to unlock the door. When we got into the room there was no light switch by the door so you had to feel your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lonieberg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were greeted very well by the front desk lady. She quickly checked us in, had good a good attitude for being after 9 p.m. U can park wherever in the lot but they're are only two ways up on each side of all the rooms. so, u have to haul your luggage up the stairs then down the long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naniban
Stansbury Park, Utah
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The room was very dirty. When we got there the floor had torn carpet with holes in it. It was not vacuumed the whole time. Locks were missing off the front door. Pillow cases had dried blood on them. Toilet did not flush correctly. All towels were stained and grey colored. One even had left over make up on it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beebergeron
Management response:

I'm sorry you were booked in such a sad room. The carpet issue, I understand, but the other issues I do not understand. I suppose you could have been checked into a room that hadn't been cleaned, unlikely, but anything can happen. We are working very hard at updating and remodeling this hotel, and we will succeed. It will take...

glenwood springs
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Our room was fresh, clean and recently updated, and we are glad to see this hotel getting the work needed for such a long time. We have been coming here for a few years and we are glad to see the changes in progress. Our family likes Taos, the ski area, the fun restaurants and the grandkids enjoyed the indoor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flyboytwo
Management response:

I'm so glad you had such a wonderful trip to Taos and also that you stayed at our hotel. Yes, you are right, we are working very hard to make this place what it should be. It is going to take a lot of hard work and some time to in order for it to reach it's full potential, but...

Colorado
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This place is the worst motel we have ever stayed in. The carpet in the entry was shredded, and had holes in several places, besides being just dirty. There was 1/3 of a roll of toilet paper, no soap in dispenser, no amenities such as shampoo or lotion. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee pot or coffee making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KandJ80482
Management response:

I have read your review and I would like to apologize for your apparent bad stay at the hotel. We are still in the process of putting our team together and sometimes it just doesn't work like we planned. The carpet, I understand, as it is not being replaced till April/May. But the rest of it, is just unacceptable. Please...

Frisco
Reviewed 6 March 2017

From the property's reply's to previous reviews on TripAdvisor I was under the impression that the new ownership was re-branding the property making vast improvements to the rooms and surroundings, retraining the housekeeping staff and making guarantees as to the quality of the new continental breakfast. I can unequivocally say I did not see any changes or improvements from my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MSMCIB
Management response:

I have read your review and I cannot apologize enough for your terrible stay at the hotel. I offer no excuses, all I know is we failed you and your party, completely. I just don't even know what to say. Everything you have read about updating and remodeling, is true. I cannot understand why we would have put you in...

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We tried it because some reviews were positive. It is dirty. We had to go out and buy toilet bowl cleaner and clean the bathroom. Blanket on bed had a burn hole, stains on rug and walls. None cleaned the room during our 4 day stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jhenri_13
Management response:

Please accept our apology for your stay at the hotel. When you check into a hotel, at the very least, you expect to get a clean room. You didn't and we are so sorry. We've only just started on this project and sometimes it seems like you just take one step forward and two steps back. We are a work...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel was absolutely amazing. The rooms were clean and provided everything you need for your visit. The staff was very friendly and was very helpful. The hotel breakfast was delicious and it was a great way to start your morning. All in all, a great experience !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dalibor Z
Management response:

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We love to read reviews like yours, I makes us feel like we are headed in the right direction. It also gives the staff an incentive to work harder to make our guests happy. Customer service is our prime concern. We hope to see you again, real soon. Again, thank you...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

When we first got to the room I noticed that there were some used tissues under the table, toilet paper in the bowl, and blue cleaning product that had not been rinsed out of the shower. This is the cheapest place in Taos, so I somewhat expected it to be less that impressive and forgave these offenses. However, when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanessa c
Management response:

I have just read your review and I wanted to apologize for your experience in our hotel. Yes, we are the new owners and we are working very hard at rebuilding the reputation the hotel has acquired over the years. We are in the process of retraining and rebuilding our entire staff. As you mentioned, they need more training. We...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.3 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.2 km away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
1.0 km away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
356 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.3 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently under new ownership with improvements underway in 2017/18! With all new updated rooms, refreshed lobby/breakfast area, updated indoor pool/spa. We look forward to welcoming new and previous guests to experience our new updates in the coming months. Our team extends much appreciation in the patience and support in the completion of our progress. We look forward to a successful outcome with a new and improved guest experience for all! Warmest Regards, TVL Team of Taos, NM ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Camino Lodge

Address: 615 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5228
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range: $89 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Camino Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your El Camino Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Taos
Paragon Hotel Taos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Camino Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Camino Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere!”
lonieberg, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“I would ask to see a room before checking in, some reviews do add that all rooms are not as nice.”
naniban, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in recently (Room 104) remodeled rooms! the others seem under construction”
flyboytwo, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!”
MSMCIB, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the 2nd floor in the back. Quiet, with parking lot in front.”
173bernadettel, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$67* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$69
TripAdvisorUS$69
TravelocityUS$69
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates