We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Many years ago this used to be a nice property. Not anymore ! Management hasn't done a thing to update the rooms and it is barely acceptable ! Smells of smoke the minute you walk in. Stained carpet, ratty drapes that don't hang correctly, busted windows, horrible bed, despicable threadbare bedding I wouldn't give to goodwill, old TV, old scratched...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pwrightnm
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I've stayed at the Don Fernando many times over the years. It has always been quiet, clean and comfortable... until now. I haven't stayed there in a year or so and man oh man has it gone down hill. I know that Motel 6 gets a bad rap for a budget motel but that place is the Taj compared to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clay W
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write TripAdvisor of your recent visit to the Hotel Don Fernando de Taos. Needless to say, we were dismayed to learn of the problems you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention, as it is the only way that we can correct and improve. We highly value your...

newark
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed here due to the great price on Expedia. We stayed for 7 nights/8 days with airfare from PHL to ABQ for $416.00. After reading the reviews and for the price we paid my expectations were not much. But I do believe you get what you pay for. For all of the bad reviews I read before our trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snacks30
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My family and I and two other families stayed at Don Fernando's at the end of 2012. Usually, on trips, we tend to stay at hotels like Comfort Inn or Days Inn. Fortunately, these hotels did not have any rooms available at that time. Fortunately because it was a pleasant surprise to stay at this hotel. We were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manny T
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed here with my daughter over the Christmas Holiday. We were very excited about the location and we were looking forward to skiing and having a nice place to stay. The skiing was great but the room was FILTHY! Right after we checked in we went to walmart and bought cleaning supplies to clean the room. The next day...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank propaneman2
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Rooms were cold, not just saying the temp in the air, but the walls, floor, beds, etc.....everything felt so cold. Good location, and average service, definitely nothing special but your choices are very limited in Taos. Surprised that this expensive artist community doesn't have any top brand hotels in it. Decent stay though, different look than your avg hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bruce p
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write TripAdvisor of your recent visit to the Hotel Don Fernando de Taos. We appreciate your concerns and are currently working on hopefully renovating our hotel in the near future. We do appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, as it is the only way that we can correct and improve. We highly...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The staff was excellent. However... The grounds of this old, worn hotel were littered with cigarette butts and trash. The rooms needed major updating with a little paint, rust cleaner in the sinks, a good tossing of the icky bedspreads and pink, thin foam blankets. I could never fully relax. I kept looking around at all of the obvious, glaring...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 81skate
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I booked this hotel because it was on the end of town near my friends' house. I was pleasantly surprised. The room is arranged in clusters of buildings, kind of looks like stacked adobes. I lucked out and got a room at the very back of the complex in the Georgia O'Keefe building. Each cluster has its own parking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
FLAGSTAFF
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I got a great price on Priceline for this hotel ($53.00/night), which is great for the Taos area. The hotel is located on the main road through town. The room was clean and very large. The bed was king-sized and very comfortable. The TV's need upgrading. The free made to order breakfast at the hotel was horrible. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baseballbill2
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and I have stayed here 4 or 5 times since 2010. We have always enjoyed the friendly people and nice rooms. Something has changed. Room 213 was really dirty. When I plugged in computers I found bags of snacks behind the bed, the bathroom had black mold, and the sink drain was leaking onto the floor. The sheets,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank russ789

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.2 km away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
338 reviews
2.1 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.4 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 km away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bargain affordable Taos hotels, 1.5 mi south of plaza on Rt 68, the main street, free breakfast, indoor pool, long term stay, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, plus Stray Catt II Restaurant casual dining - traditional Northern New Mexican plus American favorites.Don Fernando Taos Hotel - sitting on the Camino Real - Route #68, 1.5 miles from the heart of town - the plaza,Now under new management:- with indoor swimming pool- free hotel breakfast- extended stay accommodation- pets welcome - lots of green space for walking- hotel layout is that of small versions of the Taos Pueblo "look" - set in grass courtyards and under trees.- 112 rooms, many with sleeper sofas or two twins, arranged in six courtyard like pavillions- Plus 12 suites with fireplaces - one and two bedrooms plus sleeper sofa - superior for a family get-away- 2 large boardrooms- restaurant space for catering functions- all rooms are in "pods" of 22 rooms - built to look like the Taos Pueblo- built around a small pueblo-like courtyard- Two floors onlyHeated Pool All Year Round at our Taos Hotel. We are the only Taos Hotel with an indoor pool all year round. It is a standard oblong pool but we do have blow-up toys, wading pool, water games and a family resort feel. Our pool is open year-round, heated, and under glass. As the one indoor pool at a Taos hotel, we see many of our guests with families taking a break here in Taos, taking advantage of our affordable one and two bedroom suites with fireplaces and, then, after a day of exploring mountains and gorges, spending the evening at the pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: 1005 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range: $111 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Don Fernando De Taos
Don Fernando De Hotel Taos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Don Fernando de Taos - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay at your own risk of intestation”
 of 5 bubbles nancylou82, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There are room in the back section that will eliminate the sounds of the main highway that goes through town.”
 of 5 bubbles debclementi, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Choose one in the main lodge if available.”
 of 5 bubbles grand672015, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The Martinez Room was great”
 of 5 bubbles TexasSAgirl2013, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I do not recommend spending a night here, nor your money, select another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 565PatriciaC, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5