We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Zarafa Camp

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Zarafa Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Zarafa Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We recently spent 2 nights at Zarafa (May 2016) for our honeymoon. The camp exceeded every expectation and we had had very high expectations for it in the first place. I work for a tour operator and specialise in African safari lodges so have been to a great many and Zarafa was without a doubt the finest I have ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliza W
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others! It was great to host you on your honeymoon and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful visit. The Zibidianja Lagoon in front of camp attracts a multitude of wildlife as you have mentioned, so there is always some activity in and around the camp. We offer each...

San Clemente, California
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This gem of a property was our first safari stop and did not disappoint. The food was great and the staff very accommodating, our guide Obie was fantastic, he got us into perfect position as the sun was rising to watch mama leopard move her babies to a new den. We saw the all the usual animals, but our guide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. It sounds like you had some incredible game viewing - Aardvark! Wow! There is a lot of animal activity around Zarafa Camp, due to the location and permanent water source of the lagoon in front of camp. On the occasion that guests skip an activity to...

New York
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Zarafa is a fabulous experience. This place is well run, staff most accommodating. Accomadations and staff are lovely. It was truly what we thought Africa would be. Game drives and guides are wonderful. Though not as polished as some of the S. African resorts this place is truly special ! The delta is magnificent and the game sightings are awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mamaski912
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review, we appreciate the kind words. We are delighted that you experienced your stay as a true, authentic African safari as this is the feel we hope to create. The entire camp is built in such a way to minimise the footprint, and if it had to be removed it would be as...

Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

To be kind I would say that like buying a wedding dress you just know which one feels right- sadly for me Zerafa didn't feel right so I haven't given it 5 stars although it had many 5 star components My husband & I stayed for 4nights at the end of March The schedule was really good- going straight out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisaloolah
GreatPlainsConserve, Front Office Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all our reviews seriously and we are truly sorry to hear that you felt Zarafa was not a good fit for you. We have had a late summer this year, compounded by the drought conditions Southern Africa is experiencing has resulted in slightly higher than normal temperatures . We apologise that you found...

Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

To start - if you are traveling around this time of year, the weather is very pleasant (check zoover.com for details in the Delta) - cool in the morning (so fleece jacket definitely needed in a moving vehicle in the early morning hours). The camp is well equipped with essentials like insect repellent and ponchos for the rain, so no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank painthorsegirl
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. You have written a wonderfully detailed review which will be helpful to many. April is our Autumn so the mornings are chilly but the days are lovely and warm. There are two tents on either side of the main area, all are the same design and...

Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Our 5-night visit to Zarafa was amazing!! The accommodations were stylish and comfortable. And the setting gave you a sense that you are truly connected to the natural surroundings. Of particular note were the smiling faces and personal warmth of the entire Zarafa team. They make you feel like part of their family, and they even gave us a surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephsmith2014
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Dear Joseph, thank you for your wonderful review of Zarafa Camp. We were delighted to have surprised you with a birthday party here, what better place to be celebrating? It's true that we are in a very remote location, with no direct access to towns or supply stores. This is something which makes Zarafa the perfect destination if you are...

Curitiba, PR
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I am absolutely amazed by this safari camp. Everything in there is outstanding. Part of the relais&chateau group, it's fancy, food is amazing, location in great, service is top. Don't miss it. I could spend a month there :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlaviaPacheco
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Dear Flavia, thank you for taking the time to review Zarafa Camp. We appreciate your compliments and are thrilled that you fell in love with Zarafa, as so many who come visit do. Zarafa Camp is part of the Relais & Chatauex group as well as Unique Lodges of The World, and therefore delivers a high level of service, excellent...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

Zarafa Safari lodge is Luxury second to none . Pierre, Antoinette, Isaac, Mimi , Reuben, Duncan (visiting from their Mara Lodge in Kenya) , Frank, Sandy , KT , Letides, and the rest of the wonderful team who danced and sang for us on our last night will be remembered forever. Rooms so spacious and opulent in true safari style...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimannan6
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you so much for your excellent review of Zarafa. Your explanation of the luxury safari tents are accurate and I'm sure very helpful to others who are reading and deciding which camp to include in their trip of a life time!. This is the magical spot where Dereck and Beverly Joubert, co-founders of Great Plains Conservation, had...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights at Zarafa and wished I had booked at least one additional night. The camp is top rate and the game concession is everything I had hoped. My prime wildlife goal at this camp was to spot leapords and we were fortunate to spot several with cubs. (Thanks Motts) Attention to service was over and above expectations. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bpmeier
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Zarafa. We are thrilled that you managed to spot a leopard while staying with us. We would agree that 3 nights with us is the minimum as this would allow enough time to enjoy all the activities and enjoy the beautiful luxury safari tents. Take care, the Zarafa Team.

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Our visit with 4 couples to Zarafa was way better than any of us could imagine. The staff, headed by Frank, was warm, friendly and so very professional. The Chef and his team provided beautifully presented delicious food, and our tents were maintained in a pristine manner. Zarafa is located in a very remote area of Botswana, with wildlife every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judybaum
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Dear Judy, thank you for taking the time to review Zarafa Camp. With only 4 luxury tents, Zarafa is the perfect place for a group of friends or family to experience a personalised and intimate authentic safari. We're very happy that you enjoyed the food and your time spent with Reuben. Warm regards, The Zarafa Team

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
89.3 km away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
44 reviews
16.6 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
205 reviews
33.0 km away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#27 of 70 in Okavango Delta
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
105.7 km away
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
#14 of 70 in Okavango Delta
181 reviews
71.9 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#16 of 70 in Okavango Delta
69 reviews
40.0 km away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zarafa evokes a sense of luxurious old-style safari with spaciousness and 21st-century eco-consciousness. About Zarafa CampEach of Zarafa's four sumptuous tents with generous veranda is positioned under cool, shady trees, fronting onto the idyllic Zibadianja Lagoon. The spacious bedroom has a lounge, en-suite bathroom with copper bath, indoor as well as outdoor shower, copper heater for cosy winters as well as its own private pool for summer. The main area, similarly furnished, evokes traditional safari ambiance. Lounge and dining facilities may be enjoyed under canvas or on the full-length shaded deck. The camp is run completely on solar heating and power.Environment and WildlifeThe Selinda Concession is dominated by a vast grassy floodplain interspersed with slightly elevated palm islands and aromatic sage bushes. Resident wildlife includes red lechwe, kudu, tsessebe, giraffe, warthog and steenbok. Top predators are lion and spotted hyaena, as well as cheetah, wild dog, side-striped jackal, serval and even aardwolf. Elephant, buffalo, wildebeest and zebra are other herbivores seen throughout the year, complemented with varied bird life.Experiencing Zarafa CampDay and night game drives in custom-built 4x4 vehiclesGuided nature walks (on request)Canoeing and house boat for private dining, evening or day trips into the lagoon and onto the riverCatch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zarafa Camp

Address: | Selinda Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,674 - $2,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Zarafa Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarafa Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Zarafa Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Zarafa Camp staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Zarafa Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tent #6 provides an excellent view of the channel.”
safarGene, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“May need to reserve well in advance since there are only 4 rooms; for eight people in total. All rooms are equally amazing.”
JohnH214, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You cant go wrong”
RobT469, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are perfect!!”
ShanghaiArnie, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Unbelievable vacation.”
redhoarse, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates