We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Belmond Eagle Island Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Start your review of Belmond Eagle Island Lodge
 Click to rate
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this is quite a unique, luxury, expensive lodge, I would recommend this Lodge more for couples or the solo artist then for families with small children. Staff at the lodge is lovely, and the view from the rooms are exceptional overlooking the watering hole from your plunge pool. What really was not great was all the bugs during dinner as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZeeGee10
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ZeeGee10, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and it's wonderful that you enjoyed all the little additional touches at our bedtime turn-down as much as we did creating them, we hope you included a trip to the local village that is not far from the lodge. The helicopter safari is indeed one of the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Belmont eagle island in the delta was a truly amazing experience. Only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the food was average, a bit too complicated attempts. Simpler dishes and more grilled meats would be a better option. And the internet, which is only available in the gift shop, was really poor. Everyone would frustratingly huddle in there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USCKaboom
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear USCKaboom, Thank you for your wonderful review, despite the poor Wifi connectivity currently at the lodges. Due to the remote area of the lodges, the connectivity is indeed slower than in major cities. We are delighted that the rest of your stay was so memorable and that you had such an amazing safari experience with us! Thank you for...

Hong Kong
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The helicopter ride is amazing and it enables you to see animals that you would not otherwise discover like Sitatunga It also enables you to see the expanse of the delta and the huge numbers of animals & birds it supports. However it did overshadow everything else in the lodge at the time we stayed there (except, perhaps for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhongkong
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear dhongkong, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Belmond Eagle Island Lodge. The helicopter safari is indeed one of the many highlights at the lodge as you get to see areas of the Okavango Delta that is not accessible by land, especially during the wet/rainy season. During the dry season we take the vehicles out...

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This lodge with individual tented bungalows was the epitome of luxury. The room, bed, furnishings and common areas were superb. The food was also very good but the hotel staff was sub-standard when compared to the other Belmond lodges in Botswana. They were rarely visible and not attentive at all which was a shame because the facility was the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardK938
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Richard938, Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the lodge facilities and we will look into the service concerns you mentioned to the lodge managers so this can be corrected, we apologize that this was your experience. Thank you for taking the time to review all our lodges, we really do appreciate the feedback....

Reviewed 14 November 2016

This property had by far my favourite accommodation rooms of our Africa Trip. It is a permanent structure, but from the inside looks like a canvas tent with super high ceilings, dining space, deck with private infinity pool. However, the safari game drive didnt have a spotter and it made such a difference. The driver was then looking for animals...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannah M
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hannah M, Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the newly refurbished lodge and rooms so much! We only offer game drives/nature drives in the dry months as these roads are not accessible during the wet/watery months at the Belmond Eagle Island Lodge. During the dry months the game tend to move with the...

Winnemucca, Nevada
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This lodge is so luxurious. Our stay here was absolutely wonderful. The beds are very comfortable, the bathtub is amazing, the views are outstanding and the staff are so friendly. This is a must stay on your safari! I hope that some day...I can return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LianneI140
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Liannel140, Thank you so much for this fabulous review! We do too hope you will return again soon to beautiful Botswana and perhaps try the full collection of Belmond Safari's lodges in Botswana. You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris....

perth
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed two nights at Belmond Eagle Island our third safari lodge. Recently reburbished and definitely the most luxurious amazing tent I have ever stayed in. The food and service was very good. Activities included land drives, motor boat cruises and mokoro canoe excursions. A small third world problem of the Internet only working in the gift shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petalee
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear petalee, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at the Belmond Eagle Island Lodge. You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris Warm regards Louise Pheiffer

Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Excellent location to see the swamps from the comfort of your lounger or from a specially designed speed boat with a knowledgeable guide. Get up close to nature. Very good photo opportunities. The rooms are luxurious and well appointed. Great service and food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charl L
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Charl L, Thank you for your fabulous review, and we cannot agree with you more, it's such a great location to view the Okavango Delta and to get up close to nature. Thank you for your compliments on the rooms and also the wonderful service and food you received. You are welcome to keep up to date with the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This lodge was definitely a highlight of my trip to Botswana. Although there wasn't enough water to go on safari by boat, our guides, OT and "Muffin" made our visit very exciting and fun. We were in a jeep and the animals were not used to vehicles and at times would scatter on our approach. But we saw some incredible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 01serendipity55
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I am in love with this lodge, Eagle Island Camp. It's the grownup sister to Belomd's Khwai River Lodge, but not the twin sister. Khaki was nice, too, very nice. This lodge is located further into the Okavango Delta and the climate, although only a mere thirty minute plane ride, is considerably hotter and there's less of a cross breeze....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Felicia D
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Felicia D, We cannot thank you enough for this wonderful review of your stay at our lodges. The lodge managers, Lin and Kevin has recently taken over the management of the lodge, and we all celebrated when we saw your review come in and we've shared it with all the staff at the lodges too. Reviews like yours fill...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
91.2 km away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
41 reviews
31.8 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
198 reviews
21.7 km away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#26 of 72 in Okavango Delta
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
#13 of 72 in Okavango Delta
133 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 72 in Okavango Delta
111 reviews
78.5 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#18 of 72 in Okavango Delta
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, Africa’s ultimate water-focused safari in Botswana’s Okavango Delta, is the ultimate luxury safari paradise. Nestled in Botswana’s lush Okavango Delta, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the world’s largest inland water systems, the lodge overlooks a lagoon that attracts a breathtaking variety of big game and exotic birds. Explore the region by local canoe, roam on foot or take to the air in an exhilarating helicopter flight overlooking the magnificent Botswana landscape. A wonderful secluded retreat, Belmond Eagle Island Lodge offers a safari vacation that brings together the excitement of discovery and an experience of the real Africa: this is the spirit of Belmond through and through. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Eagle Island Lodge

Address: | Xaxaba Island, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,213 - $1,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Eagle Island Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Eagle Island Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Okavango Delta
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge Botswana/Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Eagle Island Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Eagle Island Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Amazing lodge!”
 of 5 bubbles LianneI140, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms great. Quieter/more private to the left of the main entrance”
 of 5 bubbles CharlL98, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are equally as good.”
 of 5 bubbles 01serendipity55, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They were all good.”
 of 5 bubbles L4522JRjennifers, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lodge 1 is the most private, though all offer extraordinary views”
 of 5 bubbles toddbsell, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5