We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George

Save
Share
44 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7734
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (284)
Room & Suite (56)
Pool & Beach (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-07-15 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Updated 20-07-15 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Landing
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
This "Lake Castle Estate" is the only B&B in the waters of Lake George. Featured in many books and magazines with its outstanding views of the lake & mountains. Historical site, former home of the Gold Cup Winner George Reis. This boathouse has seven rooms all with private baths, some with fireplaces and two person whirlpools.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
311Reviews3Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 265
  • 16
  • 7
  • 10
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Caitlin E wrote a review Nov. 2020
Saratoga Springs, New York1 contribution2 helpful votes
I have tried to think through how to even write this review as I have never written one for a business before nor have I ever experienced something like this before. The experience wasn’t just bad, it was scary. A back story: I was supposed to get married this year. Because of Covid I had to cancel my wedding, my shower, my bachelorette party, etc. My fiancé and two girlfriends made a plan to surprise me and send me off to Lake George to relax and lay in the lake since we live local. Friend #1 was surprising me on Saturday and the 2nd friend Sunday morning. One was staying one night because she has an infant at home, one was staying the other. In fact, my fiancé when booking my surprise even told the person who took the booking this. What happened: I was at breakfast with friend #1 (which by the way, show up at 9am prompt and don’t eat slow or that won’t be enjoyable either but that’s the least of my worries here) and friend #2 showed up Sunday morning and wasn’t allowed to surprise me. She was yelled at for coming on the property and removed. Now, I don’t even know she is here because this is a surprise, which she explained to Joe upon arrival. After she was removed, Joe came flying out onto the front porch angry and I was met with a “I am going to tell you right now how this is going to go”. The owner was so abrupt and hostile that I even said, “sir I think you have the wrong people.” He read us the riot act about having 3 people at his home and we left the front porch without finishing our breakfast scared/concerned/ bewildered. Almost forgot, we are paying over $500 a night to get treated like this but more on that later. All three of us left the property to figure out a new place to eat and a new place to go for the day until friend #1 went home. Found a new place to eat and found a new place to sit in the water with our tubes, perfect. We went back to the room so that friend #1 could pump and get the breastmilk into the fridge/pack up her bags and friend #2 could put her valuables in the room/out of her car/change into bathing suits for the day. This is where things got very bad: We heard banging and screaming at the other side of the door. The owner Joe was livid and accusing us of lying to him because we went in the room together (the room I have paid over $1,000 to be in). At this point I turned my phone video camera on because he looked like he wanted to drag us out with his own two hands (Trip advisor won’t let me add a video, inbox me if you want to see him in action). We tried to calm him down and asked him to stop pointing a finger in our face and screaming. His response was you leave in 5 minutes or I call the police. The friend that is pumping was in the bathroom and he accused her of hiding. We were told we are liars, a disappointment, “something is wrong with our DNA”, made fun of where we went to college, etc. Because we were physically unable to leave within 5 minutes, he called the police. What happened for the next 10 minutes of scrambling out of their and finding a new hotel was something I will never forget in my life. Looking back, I would have asked to talk to the police officer because we later realized he just wanted us to be so scared and flustered that we didn’t get the proper documentation. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE NIGHTMARE PART: To the general public, if you are still considering booking here read the fine print in his contracts. Whether he kicks you out, you cancel, a natural disaster occurs, a family member dies – Joe will still walk away with your money. Just filter the bad reviews and look at what others have gone through with this guy and his negligent responses to those reviews. He mocks, blames, and misconstrues the review of every single customer and takes no responsibility. This behavior is unacceptable. Joe was able to kick us out and still take both night’s money. We were only able to stay one night. My 2 friends & fiancé paid over $1,000 of their hard-earned money so I could have a weekend to celebrate what was supposed to be my wedding all to get screamed at, surprise ruined, kicked out, embarrassed, and mocked. We didn’t get to finish our breakfast, shower, brush our teeth, nothing. I hope you sleep well at night with our hard-earned money Mr. Silipigno, we are good people and I hope I NEVER have to deal with someone like you again in my lifetime.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Patti Silipigno, Owner at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Responded Nov. 12, 2020
This seems to be the second time that you have written a review on this same stay and quite an imaginative narrative. We are still sticking with the our rebuttal as to what really happened. Let us take this opportunity to do so. First we are very transparent about our policies and information for the Bed and Breakfast. One of the things we have is a no guest of guest policy. It as accepted by you at the time of booking the reservation, when you checked in you were explained the same thing and you signed acknowledgment of it. You had decided that it didn't apply to you or your friend that was staying with you. Your first guest arrived and when asked if she could be helped, she told us she was looking for Room 6. We tried to explain to her about our no guest of guest policy; she seemed to understand but not without a few smug facial expressions, smirks and comments. Next we talked with you about the same policy and again not without smirks and comments but said you understood as well. We are hoping someone reading this can understand after three times of explaining this to you, some frustration is starting to happen. To top it off you said you planned a surprise bachelorette party for your friend other guests were coming and you said we have a problem. We had no problem whatsoever. What is appalling is your lack of consideration and lack of respect for other guests or us. There was never any miscommunication with Boathouse information presented to you on booking or on check in. You were informed that two of you could stay. You all got in a car, went down the road to park. The next has got to be the funniest thing, your guest tried to sneak into the room with a suitcase and the two of you followed a couple of minutes later. You basically were telling us to go pound salt you were going to do what you wanted to anyway. With a property that has signage and obvious cameras on the outside grounds, how would you think we wouldn't notice? Once we verified that three of you snuck back in, we knocked on your door, one girl hiding in the bathroom by the way. We explained for policies for fourth time. Since you were becoming belligerent and uncooperative we found it necessary to call the Sheriffs to have you removed from the property. You should be embarrassed and ashamed at your behavior as young adults. Did you honestly think you could pull off a party like that in the same building as the owners? One last thing, respect is earned not a given right as some would think.
Read more
Vin7105 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Robbinsville20 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Let me start out by saying if you plan of visiting Lake George from Spring to early fall, this is the place for couples. Our hosts, Joe, Patti and Laura could not be more friendly! From the time you arrive they all made you feel like family. Breakfast was served promptly at 9am and each day was something different and amazing. The views of the lake from the porch are stunning from dawn till dusk. If the weather is good, Joe will provide you with his personal boat ride tour around the lake. He as so much knowledge and history about the entire area. It is only a few minutes walk to the main street of Bolton Landing, where you will find plenty of casual and fine dining opportunities. I could go on and on about our stay, but the only way to experience it is to book a stay. The Boathouse is open from Spring til early Fall. We are already counting down our days until our return trip in May.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jackie P wrote a review Sep. 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The view and atmosphere is beautiful however the hospitality shown was appalling. After a miscommunication, instead of the owner talking to us in a respectful manner he was abrupt and hostile. He pointed a finger in our face as he yelled, ranted and then continued to make insulting remarks as we tried to calm him down and understand where it was all coming from. If you are looking for a place where you are treated like a welcomed guest go down the road to the sagamore with all the amenities for the same price!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Patti Silipigno, Owner at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Responded Sep. 4, 2020
What you have neglected to do was explain what happened. Let us take this opportunity to do so. First we are very transparent about our policies and information for the Bed and Breakfast. One of the things we have is a no guest of guest policy. It as accepted by you at the time of booking the reservation, when you checked in you were explained the same thing and you signed acknowledgment of it. You had decided that it didn't apply to you or your friend that was staying with you. Your first guest arrived and when asked if she could be helped, she told us she was looking for Room 6. We tried to explain to her about our no guest of guest policy; she seemed to understand but not without a few smug facial expressions, smirks and comments. Next we talked with you about the same policy and again not without smirks and comments but said you understood as well. We are hoping someone reading this can understand after three times of explaining this to you, some frustration is starting to happen. To top it off you said you planned a surprise bachelorette party for your friend other guests were coming and you said we have a problem. We had no problem whatsoever. What is appalling is your lack of consideration and lack of respect for other guests or us. There was never any miscommunication with Boathouse information presented to you on booking or on check in. You were informed that two of you could stay. You all got in a car, went down the road to park. The next has got to be the funniest thing, your guest tried to sneak into the room with a suitcase and the two of you followed a couple of minutes later. You basically were telling us to go pound salt you were going to do what you wanted to anyway. With a property that has signage and obvious cameras on the outside grounds, how would you think we wouldn't notice? Once we verified that three of you snuck back in, we knocked on your door, one girl hiding in the bathroom by the way. We explained for policies for fourth time. Since you were becoming belligerent and uncooperative we found it necessary to call the Sheriffs to have you removed from the property. You should be embarrassed and ashamed at your behavior as young adults. Did you honestly think you could pull off a party like that in the same building as the owners? One last thing, respect is earned not a given right as some would think.
Read more
Rick S wrote a review Aug. 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
As soon as you arrive, you just know. Park your car and peer through the impossibly large hydrangeas at the elegant and well-kept grounds, that include a gas fire pit, plenty of lakeside lounge chairs and a swimming platform. Sure, the rooms are small, but the charm is big here. Joe, Patti and Laura set the tone with expert knowledge of the area, a creative breakfast menu and a warmth that makes you feel like you are visiting some favorite relatives. Take in the views from the porch overhanging the lake, stretch out lakeside and read a book, take a great tour with Joe on his old-school hacker craft, take recommendations on where to hike and dine, and find yourself by the fireside for some cozy conversation. Finally, recap everything from the day before with all of the guests at a fabulous breakfast prepared by Patti. Grab your sweetheart and get up here for a romantic getaway; you'll be glad you did!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't come for the room; come for the location
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
andre d wrote a review Aug. 2020
New York City, New York59 contributions22 helpful votes
Let's start off by saying that Joe, Paddy and Laura are the most wonderful and welcoming people you can hope for. Step into this beautiful lodging and you will be greeted by warm smiles and even better views. We were given a low down of the house, town and then promptly shown our lovely room (Alyssa room) with a private bathroom directly across the hall. We opted in for the boat tour the following morning which was done on Joe's beautiful antique hacker craft. The tour was very insightful, and he really showed his 20yr local knowledge. Followed by that, we hung out on the waters edge and swum in the private area which was amazing. From there, you are only a few steps from multiple dining options for whatever occasion you may want. Breakfast was always a delight and scrumptious. The only comment, and it's definitely not a deal breaker, is that you can hear alot of movement in the house at night from the other guests and if you are a light sleeper that may be something to consider. But really, going to a BnB you have to expect that and in no way dampened our stay. Thanks Joe, Paddy and Laura for a wonderful start to our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$254 - US$400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
boathouse hotel bolton landing, boathouse bed and breakfast
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBolton Landing
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Which popular attractions are close to Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George?
Nearby attractions include Rogers Memorial Park (0.4 km), Indian Tepee Gift Shop (0.3 km), and Bolton Historical Museum (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bolton Beans, Cate's Italian Garden, and The Huddle Kitchen & Bar.
Is Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Bolton Landing.
Does Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.