We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western University Inn

CancelonUS$104*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$154*
US$104*
Great Deal
US$129*
US$129*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western University Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Best Western University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Newark, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great visit with our son. The Best Western is not too far from his college or other available entertainment in town. The pool and hot tub were enjoyed by our daughter. We are planning to stay the next time we have a college visit!!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
Ashlyn P, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are glad to hear that our accommodations were enjoyed by your family, and that we will be your top choice when you visit your son in Canton, NY! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards, Wendi Provost Director of Rooms Division Best Western University Inn

Winchendon, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here while on a business trip. Was a bit noisy in the hallways during the day however it did quiet down. The restaurant on premises was an added bonus. Excellent service and great food. The people at the front desk were extremely polite and friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Ashlyn P, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are very happy to hear that our team made you feel at home, and you enjoyed our on site restaurant! We hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future! Warm Regards, Wendi Provost Director of Rooms Division

Carmel, New York
Reviewed 5 April 2017

If you are travelling to visit one of the schools in Canton, this is the right place. Overall, the rooms are very organized and clean. It has a good size fitness area, a swimming pool and sauna. It also has a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can also order room service. My criticism are as follows: a)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11PandaF
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! As for your checkout experience, someone will be reaching out to you to make sure all is well with the charges from your stay. We hope you decide to stay with us again soon! Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Chazy, United States
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Lovely room, great staff, and very pleasant pool room overlooking the golf course. On a prior visit, I had the entire pool room to myself. Very clean rooms. Beds are exceptionally comfortable. Canton does not have many restaurants, so the hotel restaurant is really vital. If I had one complaint it would be to step up the quality. The two...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerrys125
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you took great advantage of our amenities. Please come visit us again soon! Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Really enjoyed my stay, as usual. It is really worth the expense for the quality of the Hotel, Staff and the proximity of the onsite restaurant and lounge/bar. I highly recommend staying here when in the Canton or Potsdam NY area

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbQ34EU
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the recommendation! We hope you come back again soon and enjoy another stay with us! Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Belle Mead, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Fantastic local place to stay in the Canton area. Amenities are wonderful and rooms pleasantly appointed and super comfortable. Food at Lounge and Restaurant is excellent. The staff is always friendly and courteous and makes the stays that much more enjoyable!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petereM1043HU
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all we offer. Please come back and visit us again soon! Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This has always been a reliable place to stay in Canton, close to the village and golf course. But whoever designed the rooms to have beds sit so high off the floor should be fired! I stand 6'1" and I have to almost jump up to get on the bed. The very thick mattresses don't help the situation. Very poor...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raymond L
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Raymond, We do hope you received our response to you via email as well. We apologize about your experience with our beds. It does seems that you had a nice stay otherwise and we hope to see you again soon. Ashlyn Pulvermiller

montreal
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We were visiting Canton for a meeting at St. Lawrence University. There wasn't much choice in Canton, but based on the reviews I saw here, I chose the Best Western. I was pleasantly surprised! The honored my government rate, working with the education field. The room was spacious and seemed to be renovated, clean and well heated. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmtak
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you chose to stay with us. Please come and stay with us again for your next meeting at St. Lawrence University! Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We have a daughter who is a student at nearby St Lawrence University. This local hotel has the best food in Canton. Few restaurants in Canton and this is a good one. The lounge serves food as well as the dining room. Not a fancy setting but have not had a bad meal here. This trip had chicken piccata on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chappygirl
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your thoughtful review on TripAdvisor! It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed our on-property restaurant. We look forward to your next stay with us! Ashlyn Pulvermiller

New York City, New York
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Quiet, clean. comfy, well appointed. Staff nice. Both restaurants are good- excellent breakfast, and in the bar later, a good meal. Only disappointment is they are a little slow on the plowing (at least for people less used to large amounts of snow.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSSnowshoer
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review about us on TripAdvisor! We most certainly received a lot of snow the week you were here. It's great to hear that you enjoyed dining in! We hope to see you again soon. Ashlyn Pulvermiller

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.9 km away
University Suites Hotel
16.0 km away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
314 reviews
15.2 km away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
50 reviews
31.8 km away
Quality Inn Gran-View
Quality Inn Gran-View
#1 of 5 in Ogdensburg
121 reviews
39.8 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy all of the four seasons in the beautiful North Country here at the BEST WESTERN University Inn of Canton, NY. With easy access off of Route 11, this 99 room property is surrounded by a championship golf course and groomed cross country ski trails. An indoor pool, whirlpool, saunas, and state of the art exercise facility compliment the tastefully appointed rooms. With an on-site restaurant, relaxing lounge, business center, and high-speed wireless Internet, it is the perfect destination for those traveling on business or leisure. Our friendly staff, personalized service and meeting spaces make this an ideal location for any special event.Whether you are planning a meeting, banquet, conference or wedding, the BEST WESTERN University Inn is here to serve you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 90 E Main St, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Canton
Price Range: $162 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Inn Canton Hotel Canton
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western
Best Western Canton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western University Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cobourg, Canada
Cobourg, Canada
New Jersey
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a 2nd floor room if you do not wish to take the stairs or elevator.”
11PandaF, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Golf Course View”
WDWCM87, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Largest rooms seem to be on back corridor”
carolinespencer, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Sorry...no suggestions!”
gw1630, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“One where you can't hear the DJ party”
nancyjom2016, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$104* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$129
Hotels.comUS$129
HotelQuicklyUS$154
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates