We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Brewster Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Brewster Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Brewster Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
New Hartford, United States
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I've reviewed The Brewster Inn before - Carriage House is excellent, last room (they put us in the Bridal Suite - no)....but this time we treated ourselves to Room 10 in the Inn. It overlooked the lake and was a suite. 3rd floor can be challenging for some with the steps - but OMG it was the best room we...

Thank Linda C
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the love Linda! So glad you enjoyed the suite! Appreciate the feedback.

Hamilton, New York
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Our latest dinner here, on a Thursday in early August, had us on the patio, outside, on a wonderful sunny evening. We arrived without a reservation, but luckily were seated right away. Like every time we come, the food was special, the service professional, and the setting, spectacular. Don't make our mistake, call ahead for a reservation, but do buy...

Thank Bruce S
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! Come back and visit us again soon!

East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at the Brewster many times over the years and each time we stay the place seems more aged. We don't have an issue with maintaining the charm of an old inn. We have a problem with the rundown feel of the place. Carpets are dirty, wallpaper peeling,little electric plugs for charging, really old whirlpool...

Thank StephHorn
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we truly appreciate it whether good or bad. We are a bit surprised to hear that you felt everything was aged. Room 4, the room you stayed in is one of the most highly requested rooms. It just got a brand new mattress (2016), new wallpaper (2015), new carpet (2015), new HVAC (2015),...

Reviewed 18 July 2016

We arrived for a 5:30 dinner on a beautiful summer Saturday evening. There are 3 choices for seating; indoors, a large patio with an awning which overlooks the lake, or patio tables set on the lawn which is close to the dock and the lake. We chose the lawn tables and it was a perfect evening. The scenery, the food,...

Thank dosacquas
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! So glad you had a great dinner and if the coffee is ever luke warm, just let us know and we will brew another pot immediately! And yes, the outdoor bar is fabulous this summer! You don't need reservations, you can just show up any time... it's open 7 days per week, 4pm onward, weather...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic service. The property is lovely. Bed was comfortable. Hoping for a Jacuzzi room next trip. The town is really nice as well. Great lake front views also. The restaurant was quite delicious as well.

Thank Brendan B
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! Appreciate the kind words! Also, (wink, wink) we do some great room discounts in the winter -- and those jacuzzi rooms are pretty fabulous! Look forward to seeing you again soon!

New Hartford, NY
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I'm writing about the restaurant. Parking lot loaded. Huge number of outdoor diners. We ate inside. Kind of stuffy atmosphere here. Very extensive and eclectic menu. Prices moderate...$122 for four people with a drink for each. We shared one dessert. Waitstaff seemed tired of saying the same thing over and over again. But the food was worth all this...Excellent and...

Thank NYBob6
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. So sorry that you felt the atmosphere was stuffy, we do have 4 different indoor dining rooms to choose from and 3 outdoor areas for seating -- so another seating area might do the trick for you. So glad you enjoyed your dinner -- look forward to seeing you again sometime...

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Took off early for a dinner and had a drink at the bar before our 5 pm seating outside. Our drinks at the bar were awesome. We were seated promptly at 5 and Kelly our server was great. I ordered a smoked salmon appetizer and the wife French onion soup And sea bass. Half portion. Everything was was spot on....

Thank ATMGUY63
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Spot on - thanks so much! So glad you had a chance to come early and enjoy a drink ahead of time. You'll have to try the outdoor bar sometime -- it's so fun! Cool cocktails too! Thanks for mentioning that you had a great night with Kelly. She has been with us for 30 years -- we are so...

Irondequoit, New York
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We were in carriage house #24. Large well appointed room. The road was close by but the well built structure didn't allow any noise to disturb us. Staff was efficient and helpful without being intrusive. The grounds are on the lake with a beautiful view of the entire lake. The provided breakfast was self service waffles, bagels, juice, yogurt etc....

Thank Phototrip2011
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! Would love to have you stay with us again!

Sauquoit, New York
Reviewed 4 June 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. My husband had a beef dish and I ad the Brewster inn shrimp scampi. Our dessert was fabulous. Our only disappointment was the cost of the soda. We were charged for each soda. I had a glass of wine which was very good. $3.50 per soda seems a bit excessive given...

Thank joakakaren
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words!

Pittsford, New York
Reviewed 31 May 2016

While the property was historical and the views were scenic, I thought the $200 room would offer a modicum of luxury, or at least some quiet. We sat on the balcony at night and were annoyed with the sounds of a bug zapper nearby. At 6 am the kitchen below our room came to life and we heard every thud,...

Thank globe_dancer16
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I wonder if another room might have been a better option for you. If you would like to discuss, please don't hesitate to email caitlin at info@thebrewsterinn.com.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (29)
Dining (7)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (44)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
17.0 km away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
160 reviews
30.0 km away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
25.5 km away
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
29.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
21.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dewitt (Syracuse)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As the only hotel on Cazenovia Lake, The Brewster Inn is a historic mansion, built in 1890 as the summer home of Standard Oil Financier, Benjamin Brewster. Overnight guests choose from rooms in either the main house or the adjacent carriage house, many rooms of which were renovated in 2015. All rooms and suites have private baths, television, and HVAC. Some rooms even feature jacuzzis, fireplaces, sun porches, private decks and lakeviews. The inn also offers a DiRona Award Winning Restaurant and a Wine Spectator Awarded wine cellar on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Brewster Inn

Address: 6 Ledyard Ave, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1209
Region: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Price Range: $129 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brewster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Brewster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewster Hotel Cazenovia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Brewster Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Marietta, Georgia
8 months ago
New Hartford, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Brewster Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the carriage house is typically quieter, best views are in the main house, top floor facing the back”
 of 5 bubbles angelamarie852017, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are away kitchen unless your a heavy sleeper or night owl. The restaurant/bar quiets down before midnight.”
 of 5 bubbles Diane1Allentown, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just have dinner here.”
 of 5 bubbles NYBob6, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Those in the carriage house are quieter as they are not close to the popular restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles randc843, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“look at the web site; it's complete and accurate. Talk to the staff; they're helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles davidgU4761NW, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5