We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
58775 County Rd 48, Greenport, NY 11944
E-mail hotel
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$355
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-17
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$320
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-17
Official Site
US$355
US$302
View deal
Expedia.comUS$320
PricelineUS$355
eDreamsUS$355
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (196)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (2)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Greenport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beach
Bicycle rental
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
1029Reviews15Q+A88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 381
  • 332
  • 160
  • 88
  • 68
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KHS wrote a review Jul. 22
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Pros View Decor Amenities in “suite” like mini stove, fridge Waived $37 amenity fee in exchange for late check-in Flexible pet policy Staff pretty helpful if you’re direct and they can help (thank you to Anthony in maintenance for bringing towels!) Cons False advertising - see explanation below Pool - see below regarding updates, also false advertising Lack of towels, no trash can in kitchen Poolside bar was a fold up table with a limited cocktail menu and the real bar didn’t open until 4:30 - I asked for a mocktail midday and was offered lemonade or sprite...heard others say no daiquiris or pina coladas However our biggest concern is how this hotel gets away with false advertising for “separate bedrooms” - for anyone traveling with kids, you will understand the importance of a room being advertised as a “separate bedroom.” We even called to explain we were traveling with a child and needed a separate bedroom. No water in room - mini bar wasn’t even stocked with menu listed We arrived today at 1:30, waited until 4:15 (check-in is at 4) to be disappointed that the room we paid for was not a separate bedroom. All we need is a door in between. Lots of potential here but not quite there yet
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Patrice M wrote a review Jul. 18
Locust Valley, United States16 contributions6 helpful votes
I booked a room for myself and my husband and two other rooms for my children and their spouses. It was a celebration of my retirement and my husbands birthday. When I booked the rooms all work was supposed to be done by Memorial Day weekend. It wasn’t done until July 1st. We left on July 2nd. The pool snack bar was closed, the lounge was closed and the restaurant was closed Tuesday, Wednesday. Continental breakfast was served in a LARGE shopping bag whether you were bring it somewhere else or eating it in the dining room. Every day the same thing with plastic flatware. I asked for butter was told none was available. I asked if the two rooms for Wednesday night could be available by three as we had an early dinner reservation and a sunset cruise. I was told they would try. Had to ask again twice as other people were being checked in early. My husband and I went to the restaurant Thursday night our waiter left after appetizers were served. I had to ask for extra towels 3 times before I got them. We had to call the desk several times because there was no answer. Needless to say we were very disappointed. The view is beautiful and the hotel lovely but for what you are charging the service is sub par.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Glew, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 5 days ago
812patricem, We are sorry about the work not being done on time, there were delays due to certain circumstances. We are sorry you were not able to get into the room early, unfortunately we cannot guarantee early check-ins. We will look to improve our service so we can hopefully welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Kelly P wrote a review Jul. 17
3 contributions
We really wanted to get away for a weekend but didn't want to overcomplicate things. It was the perfect beach get a away. The town of Greenport (which is awesome - great restaurants, shops, vibe) is just 6min away. There are endless farms, wineries, breweries in the area. Most importantly this hotel is RIGHT ON THE BEACH. It makes no sense to stay anywhere else. immediate access straight from your porch to the beach/ocean/pool. The Halyard restaurant (WOW - so good and I'm not the easiest to please when it comes to eating out). Can't say enough good things about this place. One tip - beach is rocky - bring water shoes especially for kids but even adults. If you're questioning where to stay just book this place. You will not be disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Glew, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 5 days ago
kellyphilli, Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here in Greenport. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
belladonna1156 wrote a review Jul. 17
1 contribution
There is a lot to love about this hotel, the location is great, the beach outside your room is perfection, the rooms have great decor, the restaurant on site is delicious - will likely be back. With that being said, some improvements are needed: the pool and beach chairs are in need of a serious upgrade (the pool and “custom canvas chairs” shown on hotel website are not what is actually there - think 80s rubber pool chairs), for a hotel that charges 500-700$ a night peak season, you’d expect some kind of service. The staff is friendly and nice, but alot of them are kids (all for summer jobs) and not exactly well versed in hotel guest experience. For example, you’ll be setting up your own chairs and umbrella on the beach - not that big of a deal, but again, for the prices charged, a certain level of service should accompany that. Overall, rooms were clean (though you’ll need to call for house keeping) the housekeeping staff were exceptional (they tip toed around while my baby napped) and this is a great spot for families. With some improvements, this place will really be top notch.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Glew, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 5 days ago
belladonna, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look on improving the topics you brought up for the future.
Read more
suenurse57 wrote a review Jul. 15
Patchogue, New York1 contribution
We passed by this property many times over the years. This year we decided to spend a few nights. The view and the peacefulness are the clincher. The back door leads right on to a deck that looks over the sound. A few steps and you’re on the beach. It was quiet. It was a beautiful view. It was expensive, but we splurged and we felt it was worth it. We didn’t eat on site because we have favorite places in town.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Glew, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 5 days ago
suenurse57, Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$245 - US$522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sound view hotel greenport, sound view greenport
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sound View Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandNorth ForkGreenport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sound View Greenport
Which popular attractions are close to Sound View Greenport?
Nearby attractions include Antique Carousel (3.1 km), Mashomack Preserve (7.7 km), and Lavender By The Bay (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sound View Greenport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Sound View Greenport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Sound View Greenport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sound View Greenport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Southold Fish Market, Sterlington Deli, and Lucharito's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sound View Greenport?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sound View Greenport offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sound View Greenport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Sound View Greenport?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shelter Island Historical Society (6.6 km), The Village Blacksmith (3.2 km), and 1840 School House Museum (3.1 km).
Does Sound View Greenport have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Sound View Greenport accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.