Plum Point Lodge

Plum Point Lodge

The Motel Rooms: all with a lake view
Traveller (205)
Yurt outside
Room & Suite (50)
Plum Point Lodge
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Himrod
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Plum Point Lodge on Seneca, formerly known as Rainbow Cove Resort, has a long and proud history as a classic lakefront motel, located on Seneca Lake’s western shore in the literal heart of New York State’s Finger Lakes region. Originally built in phases during the late 1950s and early 1960s, the property was owned and managed by members of the same family for roughly 60 years, and encompassed 24 guest rooms, a full-service restaurant, a pool, a recreational building, and approximately 300 feet of premium lakefront. Over the years, the property became the favorite of a dedicated clientele, many of whom made their annual return to this exceptional lakefront hideaway a long-standing family tradition. The property changed hands in early 2017, and is undergoing a complete renovation and repurposing in order to better serve its customers in the evolution of Finger Lakes tourism and its many and varied attractions. Despite these changes at the Lodge, the new owners are committed to retaining
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Water sport equipment rentals
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
258Reviews15Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 133
  • 75
  • 23
  • 14
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Laura L wrote a review Oct 2022
New York City, New York
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Plum Point Lodge is a charming, updated motel about 20 minutes outside of the Watkins Glen town. The rooms were a decent size, clean & updated. We enjoyed the pool (had it all to ourselves!) and the dock & view of the lake was stunning. We enjoyed each evening on the dock, watching the lake & sunset. The restaurant at the lodge, Sapalta, was also delicious. There are many wineries nearby, if you want to do some tastings.

After we left, I had forgotten my keys in the room, and they were kind enough to mail them back to me. Overall we had a nice stay & we will be returning in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make a reservation at Sapalta if you want to eat there.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Plum Point Lodge on Seneca, Innkeeper at Plum Point Lodge
Responded May 5, 2024
Thanks Laura! I am a big fan of the view. Appreciate the kind words.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morgan B wrote a review Nov 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Plum Point in November 2020 and lucked out with unseasonably warm sunny weather allowing us to take advantage of all that the Lodge and the area had to offer (during Covid). We arrived to a great bottle of local wine in our rooms and were able to enjoy a "wine walk" on the docks while our kids played on the front lawn. The view of the lake is simply stunning from almost everywhere on property. Although many of the amenties were shut down for the season we were able to take advantage of the awesome nightly bonfire and brought s'mores fixings letting our kids in on the fun too!
Natalie and the team were able to help us with great hiking and restaurant recommendations as well as wineries offering family friendly options (great space for kids to play, lawn games, etc.).
We had a conjoining room allowing for some extra space. The girl's room had a slightly better layout with a partial view of the water from bed. I would recommend the team look at repositioning the beds in the rooms to take advantage of that view wherever possible.
The restaurant was featuring a quick service style menu for the weekend we were visiting but it delivered on taste and presentation for the breakfast we had on site. Their wine and beer list also delivered some great local options that were better than many we tasted at the local wineries.
The location of Plum Point was awesome as most of our "destinations" were in Watkin's Glen or Geneva and Plum Point was a perfect midpoint cutting down the driving.
Additionally, the Lodge is on a really quiet road right on the water making for a PERFECT RUN on Friday morning with a view that can't be beat.
The area as a whole feels a little like a throw back but in a charming way that makes you comfortable and craving the step back in time.
Upon leaving our girls said, "can we come back next year?" Definitely a hallmark of a successful trip. We'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Request a Lake View and Ask About Service Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Travis, Owner at Plum Point Lodge
Responded Jun 5, 2021
Happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
993debbie1 wrote a review Aug 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has so much potential!
Pros:
1.Location, location, location. Property is situated lakeside. New dock across the street, with plenty of seating overlooking the beautiful clean water of the lake.
2.Restaurant (dinner only) patio or inside with lakeside view. Great food.There was actually a small band playing that night.
3. Accommodating staff trying their best
4. Pool on the property
5.Rooms have been updated a few years ago, with newly renovated bath with marble shower, barn door separating the bathroom from the beds.
6. Small refrigerator in each room
7. Relaxing setting.
Cons:
1. Due to its fabulous location, there isn’t a place for breakfast or lunch within a 15-20 minutes drive,
2. Wi-if/ Internet can be spotty
3. Minimum staffing
4. Toilet was dirty upon arrival (came around 3:45 pm). Asked Noah at the front desk that cleaners come in to remove fecal matter. Left for a few hours and returned to see it was not cleaned. Went back to inform Noah, who cleaned it himself.
5. Cobwebs in corners and ceiling in the room and outside the room. Build up of debris by ac.
6. Debris of leaves and dirt outside the door, which is brought in with our shoes.
7. Bedding is worn, nubby sheets due to excessive washings for many years. Comforters are dated, and threads pulled.
8. Because we were in the motel section, you can hear your neighbors. Especially if they get up at 6:30 am. ( Nothing the establishment can do to improve that)
9. Must be hanging on by a thread, probably due to Covid. Elderly male employee was emptying properly garbage cans and consolidating into 1 larger bag. We then saw him take the empty bags and rinse them in the lake and reused them back in the outside cans.

If they have the staffing, they should use a leaf blower a few times a week at the front doors of all rooms. Also, could take a broom and remove cobwebs around windows and doors. Maids could take a long swifter wand to remove cobwebs in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morgan J wrote a review Nov 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am extremely frustrated and disappointed with my experience here. We booked two nights in a yurt and when we arrived everything looked great! However, the yurts are not equipped with heat and the temperature outside was in the 20s. The hotel staff called me a week in advance and told me there would be a space heater provided as it would be very cold the nights were planning to stay. Technically, they did provide one, but it didn’t work. It was so cold my partner and I could not sleep, even with 5-6 layers of clothing on, and ended up leaving at 4am to go back home (a 4.5 driving distance away) because we couldn’t take it. I would have called the front desk to ask for a heater, however, when they called a week in advance to provide details about our booking they made it clear that we were the only guest checking in that night and because of this, they would not have any staff on the property. They told us not to call for anything until Friday afternoon. So I called Friday afternoon to ask for a credit/refund for our second night’s stay since we left early and they refused saying I should have called earlier in the day so they could try and rebook the yurt. How was I supposed to call earlier in the day when there was no staff on the property and I was instructed to not call until Friday afternoon? The receptionist I spoke to was very rude and rushed me off the phone when I tried to explain the situation. It seems like this place only cares about the money they can get out of their patrons and not much else. I am very disappointed and will not recommend this place to anyone in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Travis, Owner at Plum Point Lodge
Responded Jun 5, 2021
Sorry that you had a bad experience. As it had been explained prior to check in, the phones were forwarded to our overnight attendant who would have been able to assist you at that time. The yurts do have a portable radiant heater for such events of a cold night. If you have any further questions, please feel free to call us and speak to a member of our management team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trish wrote a review Sep 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Based on reviews I thought this place would be better. It is promoted as a lodge but it is really a motel. The room was very small and cramped, the bathroom was the nicest feature but could use a better shower head and cleaning. The pillows were hard and I awoke with a stiff neck and headache. The sheets were threadbare. The a/c unit was noisy. There are no closets to hang clothes, and the dressers were cheap. Draws would fall out if pulled too far. The pool was closed. There was no coffee in the room. There was an odor, maybe cleaning products, but not pleasant. Dogs are allowed in some rooms but I did see one in a non-designated room. And the worse was loss of water. It was off for over 2 hours with no restoration time provided. Because of an unexpected problem at home we had to leave early and asked for a partial refund. We were told it was not their policy unless the room could be re rented but someone named Jason would call me to discuss. He did not. In addition, according to their web site the room was re rented but I was charged the full 4 day price, even though leaving after a 1 1/2 day.
As a courtesy I should have been contacted, I was not. We won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
99Kate99 wrote a review Aug 2023
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose the Plum Point Lodge because of the terrific photos on their website, showing a gorgeous view, a pool, a dock, and renovated rooms. The reality was quite different. Unfortunately, this establishment is being severely mismanaged. I feel that we were bait and switched and want to help others not fall into this trap.
Upon arrival, our room had such a strong odor of bleach it stung our eyes. When we asked about the scent the woman at the front desk told us that the house keeper had spilled the fluid, but "bleach fumes wouldn't hurt us so we shouldn't worry, and there was nothing she could do anyway." After negotiating she offered to find us a fan to help the fumes dissipate but never returned. No discount or alternative room was offered. During our three day stay the pool was never opened, despite being a busy weekend, the $19/person breakfast buffet ran out of food on both mornings (do not spend the money on this breakfast!), and the room and bedspreads were filthy.
As mentioned, we booked in order to enjoy the dock and amenities. Please be aware that there is NO swimming off the dock (which was not listed on their website) so with no pool and no lake access our children were highly disappointed. Also, the restaurant is NOT family friendly at the expensive price point, and the closest restaurants/stores are 15 min away.
With a gorgeous location like this it is a shame that this hotel is being mismanaged to this extent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Have a plan for food. Do not plan on eating at the restaurant. It is expensive and the next...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim M wrote a review Sep 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The waterfront location is great. Looks great in photos and was told there were many renovations. Upon arrival while heading to the room we had some reservations about the place based on the condition of the steps and landings. Not well maintained. It was obvious that some nice renovations were made at some point but housekeeping and maintenance were lacking. Turned on heat/ac unit and thought a plane was revving up for takeoff. Bedspread was tattered with threads coming off. Turned down bed and, well, it looked like somebody had slept in the bed and sheets hadn't been changed. One side of bed sheet was smooth as you would expect a newly made bed to look. The other side of the bed sheet had ridges in it as though somebody had been laying on it.
Front desk offered to have the bed remade or, offered us a different room which we took. That room was very small. Beds appeared to have been changed. Large old dusty cob webs in corners of bathroom
. Toilet wouldn't stop running after it was flushed. After removing the lid and lifting the float three times to get it to stop I literally adjusted the float to get it to work right. It's hard not to track dirt into the rooms on the first floor. And as would be expected dirt on the floors was transferred to the bed after a trip to the bathroom during the night. One of the knobs on a bedside light was missing so it couldn't be used and the conduit covering the cord from the bedside lights to the receptacle were out of place. Oh, and the heat/AC unit was no quieter than the one in the original room. Very hard to sleep.
Staff was very nice. Had a meal at the restaurant and the food was good but overpriced for what you got. No bread or salad with your meal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen G wrote a review Jul 2020
Camillus, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 1 night on a Sunday in July. We brought our boat and having a state boat launch less than a mile away was very convenient.
The grounds are very pretty, with several places to sit on the lawn and along the waterfront. There is also a fire pit on the waterfront.
We did not use the pool, but seems like a nice added benefit. There are 6 yurts behind the pool area, with their own fire pit.
The motel rooms are nicely updated, clean, and the bed was super comfortable. We were on the second floor with a balcony with 2 chairs and a small table.
The restaurant on site, Sapalta, was great. Atmosphere is lovely, food was delicious!
Every staff member was excellent. We had breakfast there the next day and this was wonderful as well.
We will definitely return to a Plum Point Lodge!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Plum Point Lodge
Responded Aug 14, 2020
Thank you for your review! Happy to hear you enjoyed the property and the restaurant! We look forward to your return!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vladmeisterNYC wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This place certainly looks nice in pictures. Upon arrival we realized that the Plum is just another glorified Motel on the lake that has been spruced up and painted pretty.
The room was tiny and dark. How tiny? The second bed protruded into the bathroom entry.
Lighting - it seemed the owners were trying to save pennies on LED bulbs and purchased the very lowest lumens available. Lake view? Only if you stick your head out of the door. An overwhelming odor of something lingered in the room for 2 days. AC/Heating unit would hum 24/7 and would kick in every 10-15 mins with a loud turbine whine. Room had No Closet nor a coat hanger. Only a 6 drawer dresser with one broken draw. Mini fridge had its freezer portion in ice since the ice age and had some unknown color stain on top. Bathroom floor was a linoleum! This is supposedly an upscale place, folks! The quality of the toilet paper is another story. I had better paper at work in the public bathrooms. Toiletries on the bathroom shelf had a month old cover of dust. WiFi is spotty, at best. Well, you get the point.
Perhaps all this would have been ok only if this property were marketed as a Motel, not as a Lodge with the price tag to go along. Unpleasant experience, indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Travis, Owner at Plum Point Lodge
Responded Jun 5, 2021
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, we strive to bring back the "old charm" with a newer up to date look and feel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joan wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
this was my fourth visit to Plum Point Lodge. it never disappoints. it is in one of the most serene areas of Seneca Lake. the rooms are beautifully decorated, beds are so comfortable and the property is kept well groomed. The Sapalta Restaurant has some wonderfully novel fare in a most relaxing atmosphere. Being on the waterfront .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: easy access to ist floor rooms ffrom your vechicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Plum Point Lodge
Responded Sep 4, 2020
4th trip! Thank you so much for your continued support and wonderful comments!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C. Pittsburgh asked a question Apr 2021
McKeesport, Pennsylvania4 contributions
Can you fish from anywhere on site from land?
Answer from Jason Bunnell
Geneva, New York1 contribution
Yes! We have a dock that you can fish from.
Answer from Julie W
Grand Cayman7 contributions1 helpful vote
Pool was open in June and still should be. NOTE: it is not heated but it is in full sun and ALWAYS clean. I would recommend bringing a lock for your bikes and possibly locking them to the chain link fence that surrounds the pool. The Yurts do not have much free space inside. The Yurts are decorated so pretty and cozy, too.
Answer from NataliePPL
Himrod, New York
Hey, Guest staying at Plum Point Lodge are welcome to bring wine from other establishment and consume it in their rooms or on the balconies/ porches in front of the rooms.
Maria A asked a question May 2020
North Windham, Connecticut1 contribution1 helpful vote
Is there a beach at the lodge?
Answer from Bart A
Perkasie, United States2 contributions
No beach just a dock & rocky beach just like the other replier said..
Answer from Jason Bunnell
Geneva, New York1 contribution
We recently renovated the entire property. The building I think you are referring to has been updated and furnished. We also added a large opening on one side that opens up onto a patio. Additionally by the bar there is a room. The bar is open 7 days a week starting at 6pm. We updated the bar as well to include a 4 handle beer tap and it has several local wine an spirits.
twolitespeeders wrote a tip Oct 2023
Baltimore, Maryland9 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t expect you are staying in the Plum House. You will have to drive a long way to do anything or eat."
Read full review
99Kate99 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Portsmouth, New Hampshire30 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have a plan for food. Do not plan on eating at the restaurant. It is expensive and the next closest restaurants are 15 min away. "
Read full review
Vic wrote a tip Aug 2023
New Jersey10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the room to make sure it is clean especially under the cover and sheets."
Read full review
Laura L wrote a tip Oct 2022
New York City, New York57 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make a reservation at Sapalta if you want to eat there."
Read full review
Marty1357 wrote a tip Oct 2022
Towson, Maryland235 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tabora Farm and Winery is an excellent place to have brunch at 11 am.It is about 8 minutes away and it offered quiche, soup and baked goods."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Himrod area.
PRICE RANGE
C$267 - C$360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rainbow cove hotel himrod
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rainbow Cove Motel
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesHimrod
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Plum Point Lodge - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Plum Point Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Plum Point Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Plum Point Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Plum Point Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Plum Point Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Plum Point Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Plum Point Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Plum Point Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Plum Point Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Plum Point Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars