We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort

Save
Traveller (704)
Pool & Beach (154)
Room & Suite (94)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good51%
  • Average14%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“mr bass”(131 reviews)
“cape point”(106 reviews)
“smiling coast”(81 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
280
425
126
37
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
280
425
126
37
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr basscape pointsmiling coastfruit ladiesbeach barcrocodile poollocal restaurantsjuice boysmini barcalypso restaurantdeluxe roomshower cubiclegreat holidaybed and breakfastrising sunsurf turflocal guide
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 883 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2018

We visited the Buddha restaurant for an evening meal; They specialize in Thai cuisine. Complimentary Tempura prawns were brought as an aperitif, the starters and main course were very good. Of note was the Red Thai curry which was actually a Green Thai curry but...More

3  Thank jade_red
Response from Lobbeh B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Bay Hotel & ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

The recommendation is well appreciated our valued guest. Such comments make us go the extra mile in ensuring customer satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to contact us on info@oceanbayhotel.com for any request prior to your next visit to the Gambia. Best regards!

Reviewed April 25, 2018

This is an outstanding hotel (bearing in mind you are in a very poor country). It is not 5* by European standards . . . probably between a 3* & 4*. Public areas are lovely & the grounds are immaculately maintained, truly beautiful. Our room...More

1  Thank arthurpolly
Response from Lobbeh B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Bay Hotel & ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

We thank you for taking your time to write us this review. Apologies for not offering the evening mosquito repellent spraying of your room, however we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to host you in the near future

Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

Arrived back late thurs 16th April after a wonderful weeks break at the ocean bay. As it’s near end of the season the hotel was extremely peaceful. On arrival we were greeted with a drink and quick check in and were shown our rooms. The...More

Thank kellove78
Response from Lobbeh B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Bay Hotel & ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

The issue with the pool umbrella is well noted and we apologise for the inconvenience esteemed customer. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us, moreover recommending a particular staff - trainee. Thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review...More

Reviewed April 17, 2018

The best part of the hotel is undoubtedly the staff. Always happy, smiling and wanting to help. They really go the extra mile for you. But, too many negatives for this hotel: rooms 3 star standard at best and our room lacked much natural light....More

Thank Tanya K
Response from Lobbeh B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Bay Hotel & ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tanya, The staff - both management and team acknowledge your compliments. Issues about other services are well noted and relayed to the concerned departments for immediate action. Some of the rooms hopefully will be refurbished prior to the upcoming season. Looking forward to host...More

Reviewed April 17, 2018

Our 7th visit and this time we brought my mum and brother to celebrate my mums birthday, 12 in total. Disappointed that when we arrived we had not all been allocated rooms in same block or next to each other, that was despite a tour...More

Thank chelseagirl07
Response from Lobbeh B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Bay Hotel & ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

The Ocean Bay Hotel Management and team thank you and your family for being loyal to us. We deeply apologise for the occurrence which is well noted, not to happen again. Nevertheless, we are elated that besides the aforementioned you had a lovely time with...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (704)
Pool & Beach (154)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (25)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
beckki
March 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Medimax | Reviewed this property |
Smart but not formal.
1
Vote
beckki
March 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Egordon6741 | Reviewed this property |
Splash out and take a cab to the Ngala Lodge. Food is great and the clientele are definitely "old money".
1
Vote
beckki
March 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Medimax | Reviewed this property |
No, Marks and Spencer had none as you had to order beforehand, and I had not. I travelled with sterling with a small denomination of £5 notes to give as tips to baggage helpers etc - they are equally as grateful for our... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for a balcony but they will probably ignore you"
Read review
"DEluxe sea view Block 5"
Read review
"Our suite was very quiet but not worth the extra money due to the bathroom"
Read review
"Book a deluxe room with a sea view and a private balcony"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing