We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Ngala Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fajara
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ngala Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ngala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 387: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were looking for a relaxing time in the sun after the Christmas festivities. We came across The Gambia and Ngala Lodge. We were not disappointed and it was reassuring on our arrival to find that a significant number of the other guests had returned, some many times, to Ngala Lodge. The Gambia is in the same time zone as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank penylanCardiff
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!! More 

shanklin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just returned to the UK from our latest trip to The Gambia and to Ngala. As before, the welcome was warm from everyone from Peter the owner, Jenny the manager right through to the gardeners. Indeed it is the staff that make Ngala the holiday experience that it is. This was our fourth visit and many of the staff are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank derick h
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to have you to stay and this time was no exception! It is also evident that our staff thoroughly enjoy your visits. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again - soon! More 

Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

...(see earlier review) because in no way can Ngala Lodge be described as poor. It is excellent in every aspect. Our 'Atlantic' room was massive, air conditioned and beautifully furnished with sofas and huge bed and decorated with quirky African objets d'art. The fridge in the dressing room/drinks area is really useful in such a warm climate and is only... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mem_sahib64
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review!! It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. We are delighted that you enjoyed the holiday as much as you did! Thanks again. More 

Tewin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were back in Jan 2014 for our 6th or 7th visit to Ngala and it is easy to see why they get such a high rate of returning visitors. It started well when we were welcomed back as old friends by many of the staff who we remembered from our previous trips. One person that we didn't remember was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darvi43
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are delighted that you had such a good time and look forward to having you back to stay! Does it have to be only once a year?! As to the wicked sense of humour I can only say that it takes one to know one!! Come back and see us soon! More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A fabulous hotel with a handful of rooms! The location is on a main road and overlooks the sea. The service and the staff are incredible with nothing too much trouble. Great menu for dinner and cooked to perfection. The rooms are fantastic with his and hers basins in a huge bathroom, mosquito nets are provided in your rooms. Would... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KatiebrightonSussex
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. And thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you and your friends at Ngala Lodge! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel between 1st Jan -11th Jan 2014. The hotel is situated in beautiful mature gardens with many quirky sculptures, hidden path ways leading to a veranda overlooking the ocean. The gardens have many private areas for sunbathing with steps leading to the small beach, which has a decking are with sunbeds and waiter service. The restaurant also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulgaway
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala Lodge! More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I travel on business and decided to ask my work colleagues to come out for the evening to the Ngala lodge this evening (weds 15th Jan). I had rated this place as one of the best I had been too and believe me I still think it is. I could not fault the food. The food was delicious as always... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Sussexflyers7982
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent visit to our restaurant. We are very pleased to hear that the food was good but are sorry that you consider that the service you received on Wednesday was not up to our usual standard. This is particularly disappointing, for all concerned, given the wonderful review you gave us in November. All... More 

Bolsover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We recently stayed at Ngala Lodge for a week in the new year 1st to 8th Jan 2014. The staff can only be described as perfect -any problem being resolved immediately. The food was excellent with a great chef preparing fantastic vegetable options for my wife and myself. The grounds were looked after by a dedicated staff as is the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mick R
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind words. We are delighted that the vegetarian meals were to your liking and that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you both here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala Lodge! More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

A lovely little hotel with slight dull rooms, nicely decorated and many offering beautiful views across the sea. The beach area is quite small and accessed via steps, but there are some huge expanses of pristine beach within a short walk. The food in the hotel is good and you are not far from a few excellent restaurants, The Butchers... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickb623
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the experience of birdwatching in the Gambia. You may be interested to know that in collaboration with Makasutu we are offering a sunset birdwatching cruise to our guests. The cruise takes place twice a week, Sundays and Wednesday, with strictly limited numbers. Guests spend... More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Ngala Lodge is a superb hotel and for us, the very high guest ratings outlined on Tripadvisor are most certainly justified. Basically, we couldn't fault the hotel on any level. The property has an excellent layout providing for private suite spaces (both inside and out), very clean public areas, including a crystal clear pool, absolutely superb gardens and a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rod G
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was good to have you stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed it as much as you did! I look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala Lodge! More 

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (344)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (151)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajara
2.3 km away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
922 reviews
5.2 km away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,091 reviews
2.6 km away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 km away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
792 reviews
0.6 km away
Leybato Hotel
Leybato Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fajara
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Established in 1995, Ngala Lodge - an intimate, child free, boutique hotel of just 18 unique, magnificent suites, set in tropical gardens, overlooking the Atlantic is the perfect place for a romantic break. Recently voted the 4th most romantic hotel in Africa by TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Awards, with arguably the best restaurant in the Gambia, our guests find it hard to leave.Ngala Lodge - where romance isn't just for Valentines Day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ngala Lodge

Address: 64 Atlantic Boulevard | P.O. Box 4091, Fajara, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Fajara
Price Range: $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ngala Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ngala Hotel Fajara
Ngala Lodge Gambia/Fajara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ngala Lodge staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Ngala Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Atlantic Suite, we had Agnes.plenty of room and good views, jacuzzi on the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles angeladM1683TW, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“need to be fit to access the beach as located down steep steps but well worth it! Corner suites are fab and some have a jaccuzzi”
 of 5 bubbles vwm186220, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All suites are excellent but you pay more for Atlantic views. Each has a private garden or terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles 690janete, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles WOODWARDS1, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor, as you get to socialise when people pass by :)”
  • Not too many drinks else you wil be sleeping down here!
  • Penthouse terrace has a shower
 of 5 bubbles NielsJones, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5