We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Barlow

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Barlow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is certainly nicer than other hotels in Hudson... however for $200 / night, they put me in a handicap accessible room (I'm sure they were not sold out). The location is perfect, but I'd check out the other hotel (Rivertown Lodge) next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbcnewyork
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

Hey! Thanks for your comments. So, you're right. We weren't sold out, and had you asked to be moved we would have been more than happy to move you. For clarification: When you booked your reservation you selected the Accessible Room yourself - we didn't "put you" in the room. Finally, visitors have a great selection of terrific properties in...

Brunswick, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was originally very impressed with how nice the staff person was when I checked in. I was staying there for three nights. After one night I complained that people were smoking (cigarettes and pot) on the patio late at night and it was coming in my room even thought all the windows were shut. At first the person seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HB207
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

Our Front Desk Associate was right - we can't control whether people smoke (pot or otherwise) outside the Hotel just like we can't control whether someone's car alarm goes off in the parking lot behind the building or someone is playing loud music on Warren Street in front. [FYI - The Barlow actually offers a smoking station on our rear...

Bridgehampton, New York
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The Barlow was recommended to me third hand and I was very happy. Staff very friendly and helpful with local information. Room was clean and well appointed. This is an old style inn and not a hotel, so don't expect room service or dining service. There are many very good places to eat with in a short safe walk. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pokey7256
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the phenomenal review! We're thrilled you had such an awesome stay and that The Barlow and our staff were able to make your stay enjoyable. While the Keurig coffeemakers in the guest rooms are great for that first cup in the morning, there are wonderful restaurants right down Warren Street, many of them offering guests of...

Westport, Connecticut
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The Barlow is a nice hotel located in the center of town with an extremely friendly staff. The rooms are nicely decorated with an eclectic mix contemporary that still honors the history of the town. I did feel that is was lacking a place to sit and have a cup of coffee or a cocktail, however.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thunderroadman
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Barlow and that our staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We're happy you appreciated the design of the hotel, blending the historic charm of the building with modern amenities - reflecting Hudson's eclectic nature. Our central location makes it ideal to walk to all the wonderful restaurants, bars, shops and cafes just a...

Reviewed 12 November 2016

Check out YELP reviews. Just do it. If you are interested, allow me to add my own 50 cents. I arrive here with my wife on my wedding anniversary. We wanted a fireplace. They advertised they had one in our room. When we get there, we find that it isn't working. We ask the people to fix it or change...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank stylus98
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

For clarification: Yes. The electric fireplace wasn't working as the guest checking out that morning informed the front desk. When this guest checked in we apologized and offered our standard inconvenience discount of 10% without his having to ask. He stated that "it's not really a big deal" (or an emergency, as he says in his review) and proceeded to...

USA
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a nice one night stay. I was impressed by the friendly staff and the simple, modern decor of this boutique hotel. Great, central location to visit the variety of art galleries, antique stores and restaurants in historic Hudson.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBVT
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great comments! We're glad you had a terrific (albeit short) stay with us at The Barlow. We really appreciate the positive feedback about our wonderful staff who work tremendously hard to ensure our guests enjoy both the hotel and Hudson. We tried to make sure our guest rooms had everything a guest would need without...

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Had a great time at the Barlow, fantastic location and the rooms were really nice. Only deduction was that the room's AC unit was a tad noisy. Otherwise I had zero complaints, we loved it. It is right in downtown, walkable to everything. The staff were helpful as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

On behalf of the management and staff of The Barlow thanks for the great review! We're so glad you had a great time staying with us. While some guests have felt the A/C provided light "white noise", we're sorry to hear you felt they were a little loud. Of course, we'll take a look and make sure the unit is...

Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Like many European hotels , the Barlow is small , only 16 rooms , but the room was most comfortable . We had a queen size bed , and , even in a small space , there was a small sofa, chair, and coffee table . The coffee maker came with choices from different coffees and teas as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beadknitter
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much and thank you for such an exceptional review! You've really captured the essence of what we have tried to create with The Barlow: comfortable rooms with ample space and furnishings as well as modern amenities like Keurig Coffeemakers, DirecTV, and complimentary WiFi. Thanks, too, for giving a shout out...

Valley Stream, New York
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. It is an old restored boutique hotel with upgraded amenities. The location was great. The only thing is that they installed a floor a/c unit and vented it out through the window ok but did not insulate in between the windows to keep the bugs out. We had to kill a few mosquitos until we covered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mykey26
flutterfly17, Front Desk at The Barlow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you noticed the old charm we kept but also made sure our guests were comfortable with the modern amenities. We also feel the location is a true asset. Our guests have the ability to walk out the front door to an array of restaurants and shops....

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

A getaway weekend to enjoy the shops of Warren Street and have some delicious food. The hotel is perfectly located with very comfortable rooms. Loved the shower. But the vibe is more rooming house than Hudson Valley quaint. Empty lobby, no music and the most useless reception staff. We asked for a variety of recommendations for drinks, brunch, ice cream...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
flutterfly17, Front Desk at The Barlow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you felt the location was perfect and loved the spa shower. The lobby does offer a quiet sitting area that guest like to gather, whether it is alone to do some work or a group talking about their day. In couches offer a comfortable common area...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.3 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
168 reviews
16.0 km away
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
227 reviews
23.9 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
791 reviews
36.3 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
1.1 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 16 in Hudson
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Hudson's historic business district. The Barlow offers 16 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites all with en-suite spa bathrooms. Guest room amenities include Keurig coffee brewers, personal safes, refrigerators, 32" flat screen televisions with DirecTV, and electric fireplaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Barlow

Address: 542 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-2826
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Price Range: $177 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Barlow staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Barlow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there aren't any views in any of he rooms and I would stay off of the first floor...”
 of 5 bubbles thunderroadman, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not on the bottom floor”
 of 5 bubbles 386aaronp, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the second floor right next to steps to lobby . If you want the elevator , ask for a room near the back .”
 of 5 bubbles beadknitter, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the ice maker - we definitely heard it at night!”
 of 5 bubbles alanzara, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Our King Suite was comfortable-No comment other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles E5227KGjohnd, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5