We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 448: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN University Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were very satisfied with the helpful staff and the clean and comfortable room. The hotel is a 4-5 minute drive to the Cornell campus and 8-10 minutes to downtown Ithaca. There is ample parking space. The hotel is located in a quiet area with a nearby grocery store and sandwich shop. The only concern we had, perhaps unwarranted, is...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al D
East Lyme
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were visiting Ithaca College for our son's audition. This hotel was close by and easy to get to/from. Average food, didn't use the amenities because we didn't have time. Friendly staff. NY taxes are crazy high, but otherwise it was decent for the price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie G
Cortland, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Find another place to stay. Our room was either too hot or too cold. The mattresses were horrible and my husband and I had to sleep separately because I kept rolling into him. Nice location of hotel but that was it

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pam, We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I wished we had the chance to rectify the situation before you checked out, Sincerely, Jim McMann

patchogue, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had to quick find a place to stay before we left home and head upstate to college. I went online the night before and found exactly what I needed at a price that fit the budget (always). Upon arrival I was greeted by a lovely woman who just went above and beyond for us so that we would have...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 809paulinej
Columbus, United States
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I like the location, and have always had a nice room at this hotel, but for me the difference is the Team of people that work here....they offer a degree of personal attention that you rarely see at any hotel today. They get to know their guests by name and all of their preferences and they make the effort to...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
Ithaca, New York, United States
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

The last time I stayed here the room was super clean. This time it was awful & the mirrors and furniture looked like it had not been cleaned in years. Bathroom sink drain had bad odor and needed to be cleaned. Don't know if we would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retiredcrab
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Retiredcrab, I am sorry to hear about your last stay with us. We are very surprised as our Executive Housekeeper inspects the rooms daily. I have printed your comments and will forward to that department. Please don't hesitate to e-mail me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com if you have further comments. Sincerely, Jim McMann

Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The convenience of location and shuttle to the university is a plus, but my gosh the rooms are poor,l ess than clean, and noisy. We barely were able to sleep during the night due to a cadre of drunk, low lifes wh were slamming doors and making a mess of the place. We complained and were told "oh yeah we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert D
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert , I am disappointed to see your review of our hotel. We are checking into our front desk on the noise complaints you experienced. I am also surprised to see your comments on the breakfast as we have gotten many positive comments on the variety of items we present for our customers. We hope you will give another...

New York
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Most of my reviews on this site are positive. This one can't be, as this hotel does something that could cause guests' deaths. First, Good About This Hotel: It's close to Cornell U, in a quiet plaza with several eateries nearby. Hot breakfast is good; there's a complimentary shuttle van. Now The Bad: There were multiple hairs (animal? human?) in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CNYTravelView
Kingston, United States
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This hotel feels like a two star hotel. The room was clean enough, but we did find some hairs on the sheets, and the bottom sheets were not fitted and pulled up in the middle of the night to reveal the bare mattress. Tiles in the bathroom were loose, and the door handle was half functioning. It gives the impression...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin O
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Justin, We are disappointed that your stay was not a success. I have printed your comments for our maintenance and housekeeping department. I am surprised about the that you were not happy with the breakfast as we have gotten many positive reviews about what we have to offer. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jim...

Reviewed 3 November 2016

For visitors to Cornell University, the number one choice for lodging is typically the Statler Hotel, located in the middle of campus and largely run by students of Cornell's School of Hotel Administration. But if you can't stay there...The Best Western University Inn is a great option. Conveniently located a short drive or long walk from campus, it delivers great...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scot M

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
613 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
4.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
207 reviews
2.0 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range: $156 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
West Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a good room is far, far away”
 of 5 bubbles RobertD161, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel promises pet-free rooms, but broke that promise!”
 of 5 bubbles CNYTravelView, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“"All rooms are the same" per the receptionist, which would mean that all rooms have old mattresses and slightly worn rugs.”
 of 5 bubbles jeremysmom, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to Collegetown Coffee just a few steps away in the plaza. Much better fare for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles Fotogrrl247, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think there's an extra charge to accommodate pets; they also have a slightly discounted "hospital" rate.”
 of 5 bubbles 544pk, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5