We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,142: English reviews
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I'll be honest after reading some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive, but now I'm glad we decided to go. Like others have said, this isn't a 5-star hotel. It is a bit outdated and could use some sprucing up, but that didn't keep my kids from having one of the best vacations they've ever had. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathys426
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

The last line of your post is our motto "Overall, it is a great place to take your kids at a great value." We all work hard each day to do just that, family fun at affordable prices. We hope to be a little bit better on each visit. Thank you, David O'Halloran

brooklyn
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This was our 4th visit to Pinegrove, and it was possibly more enjoyable than the previous ones. I travelled with my 2 sisters and my 10 year old nephew and 8 year old niece. The kids were busy from the minute we arrived until we dragged them away to return home. We arrived early enough on the first day to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank goodaunt
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

5th time will be a charm, just kidding.. Big Thanks for being our guest 4 times! Repeat guest enable us to spend a little less on advertising and a little more on improvements. Last year we devote everyday to "CLEAN". The results were amazing, our housekeeping staff met the challenge and their hard work has paid off. This year we...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We've been here 3 times over the last 7 years and always have a good time. It is kitchy, and definitely budget. You just need to get into the spirit of the dude ranch theme to enjoy yourself. This is not where you go to relax and find peace and quiet. Be prepared, the rooms are cramped and the beds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie W
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

First time called "Kitchy", got a feeling that may not be a compliment :). Tank you for finding the good and pointing out our challenges. We are not a fancy resort, just lots of fun for kids & parents, comfortable & clean and a great value. Thank you, I promise to look up the word "Kitchy". David

Massapequa, NY
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Spent this past weekend there with 4 families kids ranging from 11 to 16 years old. The teens actually asked if we can come back again next year. Fun is what YOU make of it. The rooms are okay - nothing spectular - would keep socks on and not walk barefoot but how long does one actually stay in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobkat10
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

Great to hear you all had fun! I'll make sure Paintball Steve knows that you singled out what a great job they did. Finding a place that teens enjoy with their parents is not easy, very glad your stay was fun. Thanks David

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Listen up, tenderfeet: it's a ranch, not a four-star Michelin hotel. Yes, it's a little down at the heels, dusty, slightly threadbare, the decor is almost-corny Western and the food is not prepared by Mario Battali. What this resort lacks for travelers with a perpetual first-class mindset, it makes up in spades for those families who possess an adventurous spirit,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank UrbanCurmudgeon
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

As an owner, I can be subjective about the Ranch I love, but coming from a guest...THANK YOU!

Wayne
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I agree with the last reviewer in that the staff was amazing and they had to be, it was a nightmare to stay in the rooms. I supposidly got the most upgraded room at 480 a night and it was worse than a motel 6 , the sheets were old and sand paper like and I feared for bed bugs...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stefanie S
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

Wow, you really didn't like the Ranch. I'm sorry you found our rooms and facility far below your expectations. While we strive to provide a value vacation for family fun, we understand that we are not for everyone. Our staff works extremely hard keeping the Ranch clean and making improvements every day. You mentioned Bed Bugs, being just hours away...

Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We had vacationed at Pinegrove before about nine years ago but always in the summer months so you are very limited as to your activities. I feel the outdoor activities were misleading - the ice skating was awful at best, there was a frozen area of ice that was very choppy. Nothing to hold on to with just a wooden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mom4kids
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

Mom4kids, please call and ask for David, I would love the opportuinty to speak you you concerning your last stay. David 800-346-4626

New JerseyUnited States
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I went to pinegrove with a bit of skepticism at first due to the mixed reviews. After ariiving there, I truly cannot understand why there were so many bad reviews. My family had such an awesome time. You have to know that when you go to a horse ranch you are not staying at the Waldorf Astoria. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arthur M
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments on Tripadvisor. Pinegrove will never be a manicured country club type resort. Our goals are different, we want families to enjoy the country together as a family unit. We also encourage families to join in activities with families they never met before. While this may be your cup of tea, it is not everyones. Pinegrove will...

Long Beach, NY
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Oh man, this place! We read all the negative reviews (well, not all of them), but decided that, since there are so many positives too "how bad can it be." Ahem. First, let me say there are some very nice things about Pinegrove. The horses are beautiful, extremely well-cared for, and all the people who work with seem like dedicated...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Seth102966
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I apprecaite your recognition that we love our horses and it shows. I will resond to each of your concerns, respecting the fact that you took the time to write them. Of course, my answers will be subjective, I love my Ranch. AC/Heat Units & Carpeting: Pinegrove has replaced...

Merrick, New York
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We booked in the morning (impromtu) and arrived in time for happy hour which was free! There were also delicious fresh veggies and dip. The kids headed right for the snack bar. After check in we went to the snack bar and I was pleasantly surprised that along with the free burgers, dogs, fries, icecream, they also offered a veggie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stacy g
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review

Thank you! I printed your comments and share them with staff...they do all the hard work to make each guest stay the best it can be! We will keep working to make the Ranch better each day, look forward to seeing you soon. David

675 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (642)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (127)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (305)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
12.7 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
430 reviews
12.2 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
317 reviews
21.1 km away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
805 reviews
35.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
5.0 km away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include Room, Meals, Activities & Entertainment. Choice from Restaurants plus a Food Court for lunch and Free Snack Bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback Riding, Hayrides, Indoor & Outdoor Pools with Doubleflume Waterslides, Kids Playground, Bouncing Pillow, Mini-Golf & More. Family Fun at Afforable Rates! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Price Range: $503 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in 168, had a nice view of mountain and parking lot. Im not sure but the rooms on the second floor seemed to have nicer views.”
 of 5 bubbles 709dorothyl, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Santa Fe for quiet; Nevada/Wyoming near the pool, arcade and snack bar. We love Dakota - 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles StarFoot8, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Keep in mind it's a DUDE RANCH, not a 5 star hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieI184, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't sleep here”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I personally prefer the Dakota rooms, but there really isn't a bad room in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles shortysmom411, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5