We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roaring Brook Ranch Resort

Save
Share
2206 State Route 9n, Lake George, NY 12845
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
US$125
US$103
View deal
SAVE US$22
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Lol.travelUS$125
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Roaring Brook Ranch Resort
Updated 20-07-20

About

#30 of 91 hotels in Lake George
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Roaring Brook Ranch Resort in Lake George, New York, is an uncommon retreat in a breathtaking woodland setting. Adventurers love the resort’s location just 2 miles from Lake George Beach State Park and 8 miles from Prospect Mountain. Boasting a variety of onsite activities and amenities, the sprawling destination is brimming with natural beauty and is ideal for a relaxing weekend or week-long getaway, family reunions or a destination meeting. The resort features a full-service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. An outdoor pool, tennis courts, horseback riding, shuffleboard, nature trails and volleyball round out the offerings. Our Pools are currently under renovation and we expect to re-open them in Late July 2020.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Table tennis
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English
123Reviews5Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 24
  • 3
  • 3
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kayg708 wrote a review May 2021
Castle Point, New York8 contributions
We had a group weekend getaway for husband’s birthday. There were about 25 of us and we all enjoyed ourselves immensely. The staff is wonderful! Joseph, his wife, the chef, the waitress, and the manager were all great and made our weekend one to remember. Joseph particularly went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. Great value for room and meals. The food was delicious. I’m not sure what the bad reviews about this are based on, but we all had delicious breakfast and dinner! Also in the rooms the bed and pillows super comfortable. Would definitely go again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It was my pleasure to share your comments with Joseph and the rest of our team. Your encouragement goes a long way in boosting our morale during these tough times and we eagerly look forward to having you back again.
Read more
Redonion53 wrote a review May 2021
Wethersfield, Connecticut30 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
We just returned from our disappointing weekend at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort. We booked a discounted weekend through a travel vendor (as did many of the other guests) and like these other guests, were impressed by the website description of the “luxury accommodations in Lake George”. The pictures of the “renovated rooms completed in 2020” looked very nice, so we decided that it was a great getaway opportunity. Weren’t we surprised when we arrived and saw completely opposite conditions! The rooms were minimally renovated and looked nothing like the pictures on the website! I guess we should have gotten a clue from the piece of decorative molding missing on the outside of our door and the door next to us. And, also when Aaron, the desk clerk who was very friendly, handed us actual keys for our rooms (not card keys, but true keys to unlock the doorknob). The bathroom was out of the 1960s. The only thing that had been replaced was the shower enclosure, but I wouldn’t classify it as “luxury”. The bathroom door scraped the floor every time it was opened. Paint was splattered on the door and the caulking of the tile where it meets the door was dirty, rusted, and missing in parts, along with the non-functional vent on the wall. There were no electrical outlets in the bathroom. The only outlet was on the overhead light from the ‘60s which no blow dryer plug could fit into. This meant blow drying had to be done in the bedroom, but there was no mirror and one of the outlets was loose and hanging out of the wall. The television cable ran along the floor perimeter of the closet and wall and was tacked to the floor. Glad to see that safety was considered, but it just looked shoddy. The air conditioning unit was up so high on the wall that you couldn’t see the settings. I had to climb onto the small refrigerator to see and operate the controls. Later we discovered there was a remote for the unit, but we couldn’t get it to work. And the outlet for the air conditioner was the one hanging out of the wall. The walls are very thin as we could hear the television next to our room as if it were in our room. I believe there is intention of provided rocking chairs outside every room; however, there were a limited number on our balcony. When we used the chairs that are meant for everyone, one guest came back and took “his” chairs while uttering profanity about us. Also, the balcony railings cannot be up to code. There are huge openings where a child or animal could easily fit through and fall from the second story. We had a pet with us that we kept on his leash in fear that he would lunge through the opening. There were 5-6 plastic Adirondack chairs at the firepit; all were broken but people were using them (an accident waiting to happen). The second morning there was only lukewarm water for the shower. There were more guests that day, so that is probably the reason, but still unacceptable. On Saturday, there was a Craft Show in the parking lot. Rap music was blasting when we came back in the late afternoon. The couple in the room below us warned us not to take advantage of the included “3-course dinner”. We thought we should draw our own conclusion, so we gave it a try. It was a 3-course dinner, but the use of these words on the website promotes a better-quality meal...much of it was bar food and the advertised bar had very, very limited beer, wine and alcohol. The dinner food was mediocre, although I did not expect 5-star. On a positive note, our waitress couldn’t have been nicer or more accommodating. As others have commented, there was no phone or electronic device providing contact with the front desk should you need it. You also had to go to the main building to get ice. They are very short staffed which was obvious as the poor waitress ran to serve breakfast and to also check guests out at the reception desk. The beds were very comfortable. The room was basically clean (a couple bugs on the windowsill), but with the outdatedness, it just felt grungy. The only thing that looked like the website pictures was the wooden headboard that was part of the wall and the blanket draped across the foot of the bed. Absolutely misleading. Many other guests had similar comments and all were there on the “weekend special”. It’s very sad because the property has so much potential. Even the little bit of renovation we saw was lower quality and certainly not “luxury” as advertised. We made the best of it, but it was such a disappointment and we felt we had been duped. Shame, shame, shame on the owner for opening the buildings that are not ready for occupancy. I know it’s a pandemic and businesses have been suffering, but this was such blatant mis-advertising. Nothing about our experience was “luxury accommodations” or “premium”.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We continue to work through some very challenging times where a lot of our plans were delayed due to various external factors. We are very proud of our team that is working diligently and remain focused to complete all our objectives.
Read more
katieeck92 wrote a review May 2021
Hartford, Connecticut75 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here off of a travel zoo voucher for 2 nights with our dog and another couple. Went online prior to see the resort and it looked perfect for our stay. Upon arrival we quickly realized this was NOT at all was it was advertised to be. This resort is the furthest from luxury! Yes you can tell it is being updated but in the current state that it is in it should not even be open to guests. Our room was clean but needed some TLC. The paint on the wood panel wall was very chipped and there were lots of dead bugs around the inside of the window. My biggest issue was the bathroom. It was so outdated and dirty. The door to our bathroom did not closed and there is no where to put a towel after showering. Based on pictures we saw online we assumed we were staying in a renovated hotel and this was the furthest from that. Also our door to the room felt like a horror motel. Dirty dinged up and could have been knocked down with little force even when locked. Outside on the porch of the building were rocking chairs. We wanted to sit as a group of 4 in front of one of our rooms so we dragged a chair that no one was using over to our room as for there weren’t enough for each room. After doing this some guests arrived back to their room and proceeded to yell at my husband and I using profanity that we stole their chairs. This was off putting since we did not and the resort does not have enough chairs for its guests. They should put enough to avoid this because we saw it happen multiple times. Around the fire pit were 11 chairs for guests to enjoy. 9 of the 11 plastic chairs were so cracked and broken that no guest could sit there in fear of falling through them and getting hurt! This is not only tacky but also a major liability. Having booked this off a travel zoo promotion we paid for a included 3 course meal. Well yes it was 3 courses of an app meal and dessert but wow how misleading this was! Prior to going to dinner another couple told us don’t do it it’s terrible but we said we have to try and see for our selves. Well we saw and wow! The food was all cheaper restaurant supply food that was thrown into the fryer. The poor waitress tried to spice up the meal by telling us the ‘chef’ makes the sauces and pasta right on site. What a lie. The pasta was inedible and the burger was a frozen Patty so over cooked it was black. We are people in the restaurant industry and knew immediately how duped we were from this promotion. We left there and went into the village and ate and drank where the vibes and food were much better. As for the grounds they are not maintained at all. The grass is knee high and there is stalled construction all over. It is sad because you can see the potential this resort has but in its current state it should not be open to guests. They should wait until they can truly use the word luxury to promote it. This resort should ashamed of lying to its guests and for promoting falsehoods. I would never recommend this resort to anyone and if they said they were going I’d say run as far away from there as you can!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are sorry that we did not meet the expectations that we promised upon. Please contact our resort manager at your convenience to so we can make this right.
Read more
Elouise R wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed here two weeks ago for a few days and were welcomed by Jospeh who was very nice and accommodating. We had an updated room and only had a slight problem with the key and getting the door open. We asked an employee named Anthony for help but he seemed to be busy flirting with a female employee and walked away from us while as we were asking the question. Not a big deal because we ended up figuring it out on our own just slightly off-putting. Overall, in love with this property and can tell that so much work is being put into the renovations. Would love to come back in the future and see what other activities the RBRR offers in the summer season.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort
Responded May 4, 2021
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We appreciate the encouraging comments and also the feedback regarding our team members. Every observation makes us learn and get better. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
janet l wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Visited the roaring brook ranch back in early april. My son in law made the reservation online after calling multiple times and getting no answer. Checking in was fairly easy. Customer service was good upon arrival. When we got to our room it was obvious that there were multiple people living on property long term which gave the hotel a low budget motel feeling. Had an updated room and bed was clean but many amenities still very outdated. Strong smell of marijuana outside but no phone in the room to call the front desk and tell them about it. Was unsure if they would care anyways with new regulations in NYS. An okay hotel for the price but would like to offer some tips for future: -microwaves or coffee makers in rooms -phones in the room to at least call front office -Tv's with more than 4 channels if possible -keep vacationing guests more separated from long term guests (safety reasons and disruptiveness) -update online photos so that they aren't misleading This hotel has a lot of potential if it were to be updated May come back in the future to give it another shot
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort
Responded May 3, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. We are working on completing our upgrade as they had come to standstill due the the exacting limitations of the pandemic. We are going to work through the challenges to achieve our goal and hope we get another chance to welcome you back again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
roaring brook ranch & tennis hotel lake george, roaring brook ranch and tennis resort, roaring brook hotel tennis, roaring brook resort tennis
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLake George
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Roaring Brook Ranch Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Roaring Brook Ranch Resort?
Nearby attractions include Lake George (4.0 km), Prospect Mountain (4.1 km), and Pirates Cove Adventure Golf (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roaring Brook Ranch Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Charlie's Bar & Kitchen, Martha's Dandee Creme, and Bistro LeRoux.
Are pets allowed at Roaring Brook Ranch Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Roaring Brook Ranch Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.