We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites

Save
Share
400 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$82
FindHotelUS$109
PricelineUS$82
Expedia.comUS$82
StayForLongUS$109
TravelocityUS$82
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (80)
Videos (3)

About

#47 of 91 hotels in Lake George
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Surfside on the Lake Hotel & Suites is open year ’round. Our Hotel is one of the few Lake George Hotels ideally located in Lake George Village. We are located directly on the beautiful shores of the “Queen of American Lakes” and nestled in the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains. Surfside is an independent, family owned hotel that takes pride in a well-maintained property. Whether you are on vacation or away on business in Lake George, you will find comfort in all of our different room types. Surfside is a 154 room resort with 41 Suites, some with two bedrooms. Many of our rooms have a view of Lake George or are lake front with private balconies. The standard rooms (no view of the lake or pool area) are only a short walk to the beach or pool. Surfside has a private 233′ sandy beach with BBQ grills and children’s playground, an outdoor heated pool (in season), a 1,200 sq ft boardwalk deck, and a 2,500 sq ft 2-level relaxation deck all with breathtaking panoramic views of Lake George. These spaces are all furnished with Adirondack chairs, chaise lounges, picnic tables, and benches. Our lake view Club Hamilton restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating and serves an a la carte breakfast only (in season). Our 3,100 sq ft Rooftop Cabana Bar and restaurant serves your favorite lunch and dinner options as well as your favorite frozen drinks, cocktails and locally sourced spirits/ beer. Open rain or shine, this outdoor dining hotspot and Tripadvisor award winning venue offers a panoramic lake view, live entertainment and quality service.
Read more
Room & Suite (80)80
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Board games / puzzles
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
537Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 160
  • 158
  • 88
  • 49
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jerome W wrote a review Jan. 2021
Delmar, New York1 contribution
The rudest staff in Lake George!!! After the 2020 Car Show was cancelled I decided to go anyway to fulfill my obligations of my reservation. Upon arrival they handed me my room keys and we proceeded to our accommodations only to find the room in complete disorder with trash on the floor, beds unmade and the most disgusting bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel, the toilet had not been flushed and there was urine all over the floor and on the toilet seat. At this I went to the hotel office to discuss the situation to aless than receptive staff who after some deliberation agreed to give me a different room. This gesture would have been enough to satisfy my disappointment with the original room had the staff not remained rude and uncooperative, with a few exceptions of polite and professional staff members. Fast forward 4 months and I receive a phone call from the hotel about renewing my room for this year, I ask if I will receive the room that I was upgraded to the previous year as the staff member had told me back in September would be mine at this point they passed me off to whom I would assume is the manager she almost immediately raised her voice and became belligerent and I once again informed her as to what her staff member had agreed upon 4 short months ago. I then asked what their policy was if the show was cancelled once again this year as a quick Google search indicated that the show would be cancelled again this year at which point she insulted my intelligence and ability to understand what I am reading on the internet and then told me she is cancelling my reservation and promptly hung up the phone. So in conclusion this is an extremely dirty and unkempt establishment with an apparently unhappy and disgruntled staff who take their anger out on the patrons. PLEASE LOOK ELSEWHERE FOR A HOTEL!!! I don't normally write a review but felt obligated to after two consecutive bad experiences with this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lizzie D wrote a review Sep. 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
This was a last minute Labor Day weekend trip for just me and my husband. We had never stayed at Surfside before but have been to Lake George quite a few times. After reading all of the negatives reviews I came prepared for the worst. I packed my own cleaning products, toilet paper, sheets, pillows, blankets, towels, coffee pot, coffee, and even an aerobed to use just incase. When we arrived, check in was a breeze and the staff was lovely. We headed to our room in the North WIng. Parking was no problem. Plenty of availability. The underground lot was nice and cool. I opened the door to room 711 expecting to see a run down, dirty smelly room (according to other reviews) and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, smelled fresh, bathroom looked updated, bedding was clean, beds comfortable. Carpet had been vacuumed, coffee pot and cups were clean. There were plenty of towels and extra supplies but I did take in my own towels and coffee and left the other unnecessary items in the car. Even though housekeeping could not enter the room, there was a woman outside every morning asking if we needed any extra supplies or if there was garbage or dirty towels she could take. The grounds were beautiful and we ate breakfast every morning in the restaurant on the outside deck. The food and view were great, as well as the staff. We didn't use the pool or lake rentals but everything looked clean and well kept. The people staying at Surfside looked to be enjoying themselves and at night there were a few guests who were loud but they were just having a good time and kept to themselves and their group. I give Surfside two thumbs up and will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
R J wrote a review Oct. 2020
2 contributions
This hotel is the worst. I have worked in hotel management and if I ever treated my guests the way I was treated here... wow. They charged my card erroneously when the reservation was booked to be charged upon arrival. Then they denied me because the covid restricted states allegedly changed “that day”. But admitted it was not posted on the 3rd party site in which I used a week prior. They clearly had all my booking info, but still no heads up. They literally pushed me out of the lobby and locked the doors on me at 9pm at night with nowhere to go, after driving 8 hours. I even pleaded for allowing me 1 night as I was passing through, and that is allowed per state restriction, but the rude nasty front desk person was not having it. She was upset that she had to wait until 9pm for her last check in and was clearly upset with me because of that. Very unprofessional! Funny thing... I eventually had no problems getting a room down the street... I guess the state restrictions are different a block away. Avoid the discrimination of this place!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Owner Owner, Owner at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Responded Oct. 16, 2020
Your card was charged a 1 night deposit which is required of all reservations. If you choose not to pay in full at the time of booking, you are still required to pay a 1 night deposit. The NYS Travel Restrictions have existed for quite some time. States come and go based on their statistics, but for the most part the list has changed very little. The guidelines state that if you are coming from a banned state, you must quarantine for 14 days. Hotels must deny guests who are not essential travelers if they do not stay at the hotel to quarantine for 14 days. If they do not and are found to be in violation of these policies, the hotel can be hit with excessive fines. You acknowledge that you understand at least part of the guidelines (you know that if you were passing through with one night, you could stay), however your stay was for more than 1 night and thus why you were denied. We are simply following the guidelines the state has in place. The office closed at 9PM as posted on the door. You were rushed out after you threw a cup full of pens and the keys at the front desk agent. Those actions alone would make us deny your reservation. The agent did call management during the interaction and was told that these are the guidelines and no exceptions would be made. If other hotels do not choose to follow the guidelines, that is their decision. However, we will continue to follow the guidelines set forth.
Read more
Jena S wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Amenities and property were great. Very close to town. HOWEVER, management and front desk staff were extremely unpleasant, difficult, and nitpicked absolutely everything. They provide orange rubber bracelets that probably cost eighteen cents but if you don’t return them they will charge you twenty dollars. It also seemed that staff were not all on the same page. If you can deal with that, nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Owner Owner, Owner at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Responded Sep. 6, 2020
JMSAC, Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay wasn't quite up to your standards. We would love an opportunity to discuss your issues further. Aside from that, as of June 2020 our property has implemented a wristband program, this program is to ensure that guests can enjoy our property without overcrowding by non-guests. We have someone on the property checking wristbands to ensure that only checked in guests are using the amenities. Only actively checked-in persons with reservations at the hotel are permitted to use the pool and beach. Unfortunately, this does mean if a guest has family staying at another property, that family will not be permitted to use our pool or beach. Day passes cannot be purchased. Wristbands are required to be returned at check out, otherwise they are subject to a $20 charge per band. This ensures that we get our wristbands back so they are not traded to people who are not registered with us and it holds the guest responsible for the hotel's property. The fee is simply a deterrent, not a money making opportunity.
Read more
MARY T wrote a review Aug. 2020
West Islip, New York58 contributions24 helpful votes
Pros: it is in a good location, you can easily walk it into town. It is also lakefront with a small beach. The people who work there are courteous. Cons: 1. The check in is at 4 although it is stated on Expedia check in at 3. It was explained that check in time was recently changed due to COVID cleaning protocols, which is understandable, however no effort was made to inform us of the change. This was a big deal as we had traveled from quite far. 2. The laundry detergent used on the sheets caused a severe allergic reaction to my daughter. When we called the office to make them aware of it, we were on hold for about 20 minutes and ultimately nothing was done about it. We went to Walmart and bought sheets and a blanket. 3. Online it stated the room had a kitchenette. There was no stove or small cook top. It had a mini refrigerator, toaster, sink and microwave. Plates, cups, utensils were provided. Thinking there would be some type of cook top and oven, we brought up food which we were unable to cook. 4. The room was supposed to have a partial lake view. You could only see the lake if you leaned over the balcony. 5. The beach is quite small and very crowded. It was difficult to find a lounge chairs because people would put their belongings on lounge chairs to hold them for themselves. 6. There were plumbing issues with the toilet. 7. The decor was strange, bright multi colored psychedelic comforters and mirrors that made you look distorted, like in a fun house. 8. This is a motel, Not a hotel. The description and pictures online make it seem nicer than what it really is in order to charge a higher price. 9. to access the motel’s small beach area, you had to wear an orange wrist band. If you lose it, there is a $20 charge 10. Only one car per room is permitted. 11. The employees we dealt with were kind and courteous but spread very thin.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
surfside on the lake hotel lake george, surfside on the lake george
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLake George
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Lake George Olive Oil Co. (0.4 km), Shepherd Park (0.2 km), and Lake George Historical Association and Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Charlie's Bar & Kitchen, Lake George Baking Company, and Guiseppe's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lake George.
Are any cleaning services offered at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.