We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Placid Bay Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Placid Bay Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Placid Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Tipton, Michigan
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Tyra and Ara are awesome managers of this little Resort on a cove of Lake Placid.., we loved our little place. Stayed in a little efficiency,where we can microwave food in the morning for breakfast. located so close to downtown, within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. have two nice canoes that you can paddle around the lake at no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the 4/5 review! I agree; our managers do an amazing job! They truly enjoy their work. I'm very happy to read that you loved your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as guests. Please think of us the next time your travels bring you to Lake Placid.

Rome, New York
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed in the Mallard Cottage for two nights on a weekend, it was a fantastic cottage! We were able to store our kayaks right next to our cottage and put them in the water anytime we wished and enjoy the beautiful scenery of Lake Placid. Drove up to Whiteface Mountain and then enjoyed it's view right outside on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmsharp2016
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the outstanding 5/5 review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Mallard Cottage. The Mallard is truly a unique and wonderful accommodation at the Placid Bay Inn. We like to think of our property as a little oasis in the village of Lake Placid - close enough to downtown and shopping, but...

Churchville, New York
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We went back to Lake Placid after not having been there for many, many years. We found the Placid Bay Inn to be very comfortable. The hostess was very informative about what to do and where to go around town, restaurants, etc. We had a beautiful room on the 2nd floor, enjoyed spending time with other guests around the pool....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret L
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4/5 review. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Placid Bay Inn. I'm so pleased to read that Tyra was able to give you her local knowledge on " what to do and where to go". Our cottages are truly beautiful and are a wonderful accommodation choice for a family vacation...perhaps next...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2016

10 motorcycle buddies and I stayed here for 2 nights after the September long weekend. Great accommodations, a pool for socializing, great staff and excellent value. Not right downtown but close enough. Hope to return next year

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mike M
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the outstanding 5/5 review! It was a pleasure to meet you and the rest of the guys.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2016

My husband and I stayed for 4 days in the Country Comfort cottage with our daughter, son-in-law and their 3 year old. It couldn't have been more perfect. There were 3 bedrooms upstairs and a LR and full kitchen downstairs. We could relax in our own place for breakfast and not have the hassle of searching for a restaurant every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJMc11
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the 4/5 review. I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Placid Bay Inn. Your granddaughter is a precious little girl. I hope she had an amazing time meeting Santa Claus at Santa's Workshop! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went to Lake Placid on Labor Day weekend. We arrive at the hotel one hour before check in time and the room was ready. We got a small cozy room with kitchenette, super clean ( I always check for hair or bed bugs). This place has a great service and attention to detail. It's a 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilyIg
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing 5/5 review! We truly appreciate your compliments about your stay. I will pass along your comments to our housekeeping staff in regards to the cleanliness of the rooms. They have been taught by the best- the owner, and they do a fantastic job! Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to...

NJ
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel over Labor Day weekend and can't wait to go back! We arrived after 9pm, which is considered "late arrival" so we were told they'd leave the key in the room and the door unlocked. Unfortunately, there was a mishap and the room became occupied. We were initially feeling defeated and skeptical, but after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doozie23
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Unfortunately, the desk manager had made a mistake which has not happened in many years, but being human these things can happen. After I got you settled, the desk manager came back to work and everything was straightened out that night. He was devastated that...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Cozy, comfortable rooms, one with kitchenette. Close to city center, great view of Whiteface Mountain, two canoes to explore the lake. Great quiet place to stay. Supermarket, restaurants, laundromat all within walking distance. Peninsula trail nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronaustx
sunintree, General Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice, concise review of our property. We are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay and found our lodging comfortable and convenient for your stay in Lake Placid. We look forward to having you as a repeat guest.

cobleskill,ny
Reviewed 31 August 2016

My son and I went to Lake Placid to hike and we did not plan to spend much time in our room...so I went on the cheap side. Upon checking in we were greeted by a very friendly woman who provided us with a wealth of information on what to to do in Lake Placid. We were given printed materials...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nyfamilyof4
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to give folks a good clean product with a nice atmosphere at a good price. Instead of offering discounts for AAA or AARP we extend the best possible price to everyone....

toronto
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Stayed for 3 nights during very busy high season in room #5, ground floor. PROs: Very clean. Big room. Large fridge. Comfortable wide canoes free for guests. Gorgeous gardens. Friendly staff. Nice view of Lake Placid/Whiteface mountain. Affordable. $150/night beats the $270 being charged on Main Street... however... if you cannot sleep well... it spoils the experience. CONs: Night 1....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ADK_Dreamer
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate your feedback. The mattress/box spring is a top of the line Serta Perfect Sleeper with pillow top. It is was recently purchased in the past 6 months. The mattress is rated a #5-6, 10 being the softest and 1 being the hardest. It is...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,191 reviews
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.7 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.9 km away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
498 reviews
0.8 km away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range: $152 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Placid Bay Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Whitney Point, New York
4 months ago
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
2 months ago
Whitney Point, New York
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Placid Bay Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite 16 is on second floor, small but offers great view of lake and the sunrise.”
 of 5 bubbles kdavies1575, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 20 only had 2 steps to enter - room 8 was on the 2nd floor -easy steps”
 of 5 bubbles Sowpel, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is road noise but our window faced the back of the building. I'm not sure about the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Iloverockandroll, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would think they are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles meldol2016, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner 2nd floor room had beautiful view of Lake and Mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles snydercyn, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay