We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Save
Share
101 Olympic Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$188
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
FindHotelUS$213
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (709)
360
Panoramas (80)
Room & Suite (546)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 33 hotels in Lake Placid
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Award winning resort located in the heart of the Lake Placid village, overlooking Mirror Lake and adjacent to the Olympic Center. 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar and Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch).
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English
1624Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 669
  • 602
  • 231
  • 79
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kush wrote a review May 4
6 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel had amazing views and never before seen perfection with the lake and mountains. So close by to everything ; staff was excellent and restaurant and bar was perfect! Highly recommend! If walking, bring comfortable shoes for the walk up the hill!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bethany Gage, Guest Services / Front Office at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful review. We could not agree more about the mountains and lake being perfect and we are so glad that you were able to take it all in! Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another Lake Placid getaway. Best Regards, Bethany Bradford Guest Service Manager
Read more
Susan B wrote a review Apr. 2021
Albany, New York8 contributions6 helpful votes
I have stayed here several times without incident. A group of friends stayed here for one night. The hotel seems clean, but does not as clean as some hotels I’ve stayed at during the pandemic. I like when things are wrapped in plastic after they are cleaned so you know for sure they were. Remote controls are probably the dirtiest thing you touch. The room was comfortable enough although one couple got upgraded to a room with a fireplace and paid the same price as we did. We are IHG members and they are not. The worst thing is that I forgot to pack $125 worth of face/eye cream etc and they don’t have it. I called within 24 hours of when we left. I was told they don’t usually keep that kind of thing. I’m not talking about a trial size shampoo, these were full sized brand new products. Very disappointed with the interaction of the person who informed me. I realize it was my stupidity for leaving them, but I was surprised at the response.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Bethany Gage, Guest Services / Front Office at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback from your recent visit. Here at the Crowne Plaza Lake Placid safety is our top priority and we are taking all necessary precautions to ensure clean and safe guest rooms. It is displeasing to read that we did not meet your expectations and that we did not find your lost items, for that I truly apologize. We take feedback like yours seriously and I will be sure to pass your comments along, so that we can provide better service in the future. We hope that you were still able to enjoy your stay with us and that we will have the opportunity to host you again sometime to show you the true level of service that we are known to provide. Best Regards, Bethany Bradford Guest Service Manager
Read more
FlipFlopsOff wrote a review Apr. 2021
Inlet Beach, Florida27 contributions9 helpful votes
Utilizing COVID to short change the guests, is just wrong. You can have great customer service no matter the situation, it’s about attitude & caring. This mgmt team is using the pandemic to scale this hotel back to the bone. And the staff, in their lack of enthusiasm, has followed suit. You get electricity & sheets, that’s it. COVID is not an excuse to reduce Exoenses. We run vacation experiences ourselves, and this just isn’t right. We’ve never seen such a disgruntled, absentee, group of employees. Someone needs to call this group out. We can not recommend this hotel at this time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ray Damp, Owner at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Responded 2 weeks ago
FlipFlopsOff, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Lake Placid. I am so sorry our Hotel did not meet your expectations during this most troubling time. Things are not normal and I am sorry you feel our Covid response is a cost saving measure, this hotel will continue to take steps to protect both our guests and staff from transmission. The Staff and Management takes great pride in our TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Award and for consistently being one of the top ranked Crowne Plaza Hotel's in the country in regard to Guest Service. We will continue to strive at making Guest Service our Number One Priority.
Read more
rockland_traveler wrote a review Apr. 2021
Clarkstown, New York82 contributions55 helpful votes
We stayed in the Deluxe 1 King Bed Suite in the Adirondack section of the hotel. The room had a nice full kitchen, including a dishwasher. The main room had a really nice living room and dining room with a fireplace. We had a beautiful view of Mirror Lake. The bathroom was nice and big. The bedroom had a jacuzzi tub and comfortable bed. The only bad part of the room was that the elevator was broken the entire time we were there. That made bringing the luggage in and out a little more of a pain than it needed to be. The hotel is conveniently right in the middle of town. The first day we walked back and forth from the hotel. The hill that the hotel is a top of is pretty steep. The next time we went in, we drove and parked in the municipal lot at the bottom of the hill. The parking rates were very reasonable and worth the price. Went to the hotel restaurant for dessert one night. They are following Cuomo's no alcoholic drinks without food to the max. We really just wanted a drink before going to bed, but we had to order dessert. The desserts were good, but pricey. Would definitely stay here again if we ever go back to Lake Placid.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bethany Gage, Guest Services / Front Office at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. It was our pleasure to have you here at the Crowne Plaza Lake Placid and we are pleased that you enjoyed both your deluxe suite and the breathtaking views right out your window. We are pleased to read that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Placid soon! Best Regards, Bethany Bradford Guest Service Manager
Read more
nysingle wrote a review Mar. 2021
New York City, New York727 contributions333 helpful votes
The hotel is nice - pretty big rooms, nice facilities, great staff. It's a short, steep walk into town which can be tricky when snowy / icy. The town is literally at the bottom of the hill. There are many restaurants and attractions but check the hours (many places are closed Mon-Wed). There is a Hannaford supermarket nearby (5-minute drive). Whiteface is 9 miles away. The rooms are nice and clean. I had a nice view of the lake (probably got a freebie upgrade). Most importantly, the building seems weather-proof. I slept through a night of 50-mile gusts and -25 wind-chill temps (I am a light sleeper). There is a small fridge, microwave, and Keurig in the room, all of which worked well. I had a small shelf for luggage / ski stuff and a small balcony. There is free parking and a small pool / hot tub (still open during Covid). The one tricky thing is that the hill is really tough in the snow. My poor little Prius barely made it. However, there is another way to the hotel via Hillcrest which is much less troublesome if you're not in a AWD/4WD vehicle. I had a very good rate from the IHG website. I have a feeling that I can't afford this hotel during a normal travel year. I would absolutely stay here again. The hotel is probably amazing in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bethany Gage, Guest Services / Front Office at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Responded Mar. 8, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback from your recent visit. We would have to admit that it is amazing in Lake Placid during the summer, so you should definitely come back to enjoy it! It is pleasing to read that you had such a nice overall stay with us and we truly appreciate the kind words. It seems like you were truly able to take in all that our hotel and Lake Placid has to offer and we are so glad. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and we look forward to your next Lake Placid adventure. Best Regards, Bethany Bradford Guest Service Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza resort & golf club lake placid hotel lake placid, crowne plaza resort and golf club lake placid, crowne plaza lake placid, lake placid crowne plaza
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLake Placid
NUMBER OF ROOMS
249
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Nearby attractions include Herb Brooks Arena (0.3 km), Lake Placid Olympic Museum (0.3 km), and The Olympic Center (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Conveniently located restaurants include Emma's Lake Placid Creamery, Smoke Signals, and Wyatt's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza Lake Placid located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Lake Placid.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Crowne Plaza Lake Placid offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.