We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Club Santana, Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sao Tome Island
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Club Santana, Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Club Santana, Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to have lunch at Club Santana on Good Friday. Although on the pricey side for the portion of fish served, it was simple and delicious. As a day visitors one can opt to use the swimming pool at a price of 15 Euros and towels are supplied. Another option is to take your own towel and take a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SampaioS273
ClubSantanaMgr, Directeur général at Club Santana, Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you chose our resort to enjoy Good Friday. As you mentioned and on top of pizza, sandwiches and crepes, our recent new menu offers a large choice of seafood including sushi as well as several BBQ grilled fresh fish served with fresh vegetables for just 12€. Pricing is worldwide a big...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous location right on the coast with its own beach and well manicured grounds. The rooms/cabins are very comfortable and private. As a half board concept the food is actually good and as a bonus there is excellent diving with the on site diving center. Unexpected treat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolandesVolador
Management response:

Thank you so much for your time spent in filling this superb comment. It is true that we often forget to highlight our diving masters expertise. Our Padi center is a true asset with state-of-the-art equipment, employees fluently speak Portuguese, French and English and diving in São Tome is really unexpected. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

In terms of paradise resorts it doesn't get any better than this. Located on a paridise bay(which I have no doubt was once loved by pirates) it benefits from calm seas year round. The water temperature is amazing, what could be expected from an island on the equator? On site the list of amenities is excellent,they have boats to tour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlindo B
Management response:

Dear Arlindo, Thank you for having taken time to write such a laudatory comment. Your words have already been shared with our employees and they will help in motivating the team who puts all its efforts in pleasing our guests. As you are one of our many loyal guests who keeps coming back, we are looking forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Not knowing where to go on Xmas eve, we decided to choose the expat package and to have dinner at the Club. The menu sounded good on the phone, even for 80 euros. But the truth is that it is way way too expensive for what we've been served. What a disappointment... event the chocolate was not good. Terrible dinner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thievy
Management response:

Dear Thievy, Not knowing who you are since you fairly post review under an avatar, I am very sad to read that you did not like our 7 courses Christmas menu (Smoked Salmon, foie gras, sorbet, roasted turkey, goat cheese salad, chocolate parfait, sorbet) served with wines and Chamapagne. The menu we delivered was traditional and we went for this...

Luanda
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Excellent location, perfect either for business/vacation. Either suitable for family as per solo. Sympathy of managers and all staff to be mentioned. Take a chance for fishing or diving, if it the case to you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ECALuanda
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 June 2016

At the last minute we decided as a family of three to take a short break to São Tomé after having heard about it from a friend. Our stay was one half board basis which includes dinner, bed and breakfast. Unfortunately none of us speak any language other than English so it was quite entertaining traveling to a country where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard H
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

A seven day family trip that was long over due. I can recommend Club Santana 101%. Its just a place that has all you can need, easy to get to. Rooms are super..Net, food, ambiance is un passed. I really hope we will be back. Fly with Tap Airlines. Portuguese co. Its very private and has options for boats...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff P
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Club Santana is a very cozy hotel with beautiful beach and amazing ocean. Rooms are very clean, cozy and big. There are conditioner, tv, dryer in the room. Breakfast and super are very tasty with different delicious, especially very tasty fish. In the hotel work very pleasant stuff. We can also see nearest Island on a boat with local man....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia W
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 11 November 2015

The resort is in a beautiful location just near the beach and offers good rooms, a restaurant and several attractions like the pool area, a trip by boat to a small island near the resort and another trip to see a waterfall and a traditional "Roça". Dinner is very good and you can choose between two options of entrees and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhbraz
Greater Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Fantastic beach resort with very friendly staff. The restaurant is fantastically located with a nice view over the ocean. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beach is perfect with good service. they offer additional tours for free such as a boat trip with snorkeling and a tour to the coffee factory. All together the best place of Sao Tome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bart D

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Tome Island
9.8 km away
Pestana Sao Tome Ocean Resort
36.7 km away
Pestana Equador - Ilheu das Rolas
0.0 km away
Omali Sao Tome
Omali Sao Tome
#2 of 3 in Sao Tome
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Miramar by Pestana Hotel
10.0 km away
Sweet Guest House
Sweet Guest House
#1 of 18 in Sao Tome
38 reviews
34.9 km away
Praia Inhame Eco Lodge
Praia Inhame Eco Lodge
#1 of 2 in Porto Alegre
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sao Tome and Principe is a particularly special place, and Club Santana Hotel embodies the best of what makes this country wonderful, rendering it truly unique. Surrounded by a luxurious tropical landscape, and bathed by crystal clear waters, at Club Santana Hotel you'll certainly find the peace you've been looking for, away from the stress and busy lifestyle, and a little closer to your ideal of a perfect vacation. Paradise is waiting for you, with the serenity you desire, the greatest comfort, an excellent service and a unique hospitality. Come and enjoy the simple life of the fishermen, the rich history and the ancient smell of cocoa. We're expecting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Club Santana, Beach Resort

Address: Praia Messias Alves | Distrito de Cantagalo, Santana, Sao Tome Island CP 144, Sao Tome and Principe
Region: Sao Tome and Principe > Sao Tome Island
Price Range: $344 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Santana, Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Club Santana, Beach Hotel Sao Tome Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Club Santana, Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Club Santana, Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms closest to beach and for a double/queen bed as you may get 2 singles”
RichardH81, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you need to have wifi in the room chose one near the reception.”
mhbraz, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I would avoid the wooden hut , they have a (slight) better view but bathrooms are a bit moldy which could be frustrating for the price you pay”
vivavesta, 27 Feb 2015 | Read review
“I did not sleep in this resort, and cannot figure out how to not rate the rooms on the list above:)”
Veter, 7 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose a bungalow close to the beach. You can sit outside in the afternoon or evening and just enjoy the view”
Maria37_12, 25 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5