We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 885: English reviews
Maun, Botswana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just spent 9 days at Umngazi with our adult children and their partners as well as twin grand babies. This was our first visit but definitely won't be our last. Everyone was super friendly and helpful and in fact the managers Graham and Michelle went out of their way to assist us. The well priced wine list is deserving...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathy K
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, Thank you so much for this kind review. It was truly a great pleasure to have met you all and to have hosted such a wonderful family such as yours. It was great to see you taking advantage of all that is on offer here at Umngazi and that you enjoyed as a family makes it even more...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had our Christmas holidays at UMngazi and once again they didn't disappoint at all Their rooms are now revamped and they really look nice with comfortable beds The food is just 5 star! Great taste and variety. Very friendly staff and good nannies. I think this is the best family place one can visit, visit and visit again in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donald T
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Donald, Thank you so much for this wonderful review, great to read that your holiday with us was everything that was expected and deserved. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, Graham

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband, 15year old son and I were impressed with our charming 2 bedroom bungalow with comfortable furnishings and linen overlooking the river. We were within easy walking distance to the dining area and thoroughly enjoyed the menu variety which included a traditional South African lunch time braai, Saturday night Seafood banquet & plenty of vegetarian options as well. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shereenh2017
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay here at Umngazi. It was wonderful to read that you and the Family had been looked after and enjoyed the holiday that you deserve. I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Graham

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The weekly seafood extravaganza was a huge disappointment, mainly due to powdery and mushy crayfish/lobster being served. Perhaps a seasonal issue, but apart from mussels, the seafood generally was mediocre. The rest of the cuisine was very good! Our room had a stunning view, and the location of the hotel is awesome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank execoach
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at Umngazi. My apologies for the crayfish, will follow-up on this area, we do have to freeze them due to East Coast Lobster being out of Season from October to March, but saying this we do not normally have a problem with them so not sure...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Trip advisor is such an important barometer for ratings reviews that I've taken the time to review Umngazi. It is beyond doubt the best family seaside location in South Africa - its natural beauty, great location and ultra friendly and helpful staff make your holiday an absolute pleasure - then there is the great cuisine and large selection of wines...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark S
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review, it was wonderful to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us here at Umngazi as well as the beauty of the Wild Coast. Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, Graham

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 19 January 2017

What a wonderful stay! We travelled all the way from Cape Town and ended up in the Eastern Cape with 9 month old twin babies booked into an Ecolodge which are fine WHEN YOU DONT HAVE BABIES?! Umngazi really made an effort to help us out and saved our holiday plans. The reservations team are offered us excellent service and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leana & Hannes D
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Leana and Hannes, Thank you so much for this wonderful review, was our luck that the other property didn't work out for you! We look forward to welcoming you back, for many years to come we hope. Best wishes, Graham

sandton
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Folks raved about this place. I was totally disappointed on a number of fronts. Its a young couple (with plenty) kids venue, NOT a luxury retreat. So, plenty of screaming kids running around (don't think of using the tiny swimming pool). Food was mediocre and bar was constantly out of stock of items with limited top shelf fare. Beach is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 616cedrict
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Quite agree with you Mauritius is a far better destination for you, but be careful not to book over school holidays when you go. Regards, Graham

KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Service was great. Decor in Room was beautifully done. Overall great experience. Kids well catered for. All sorts if entertainment available. Snooker, darts, tennis, booze cruise. Fishing seafood buffet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alanlesleyd
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it was great to read how much you and your Family had enjoyed their stay with us here at Umngazi, just as it should be! We do hope we get to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Graham

Johannesburg
Reviewed 4 January 2017

It was our first stay at Umngazi River Bungalows, however, certainly not our last! The relaxed, homely atmosphere and the cheerful attitude of the staff (and there are lots of them!) make this a dream break at the end of a tiring year - Umngazi is a well oiled machine, everything runs smoothly from first light to the time your...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Desperatetotravel34
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The hotel is located in a fantastic setting. The spa experience was Amazing with wonderful views. Christmas Eve dinner was excellent but the rest of the food was mostly average.Drinks are reasonably priced with a good wine selection. All round great recreational facilities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esther G

352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
7.1 km away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
41 reviews
7.1 km away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
199 reviews
35.8 km away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
23 reviews
10.8 km away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
64 reviews
10.0 km away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Address: i, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Couples should try book in Emolyeni rooms - private and on the river with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles MegCr0sby, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We got 6b - elevated so view of ocean and lagoon.”
  • Whale watching!
 of 5 bubbles diamondek, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean/River view”
 of 5 bubbles sizeka, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you are older and got kids choose the river/sea facing villas. For Older people not that steep to walk .”
 of 5 bubbles marieroos2015, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“River bungalows are closer to the dining area and therefore the children and are also warmer as they face north.”
 of 5 bubbles liebc2016, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5