We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Astroea Beach Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Astroea Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Start your review of Astroea Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent staff, food and drinks! Room, TV and Internet speed adequate although could be better but nothing to write home about. Beach had lots of coral on and shells, so bare feet could suffer. Great to see the variety of fish around the shore line. Staff could not be faulted, service, anticipation of your needs and going beyond normal levels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first trip to Mauritius after spending many years going to The Maldives. Astroea Beach was in our opinion so much better. Service was first class and food was excellent. The rum was rather nice too. All of the staff were extremely friendly and special thaks to Vic, Shiva, Connie, Jennifer, Rama, Gerry, Kevin and Priya who made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent a week at Astroea, in summary the poor room conditions are just about balanced by exceptionally professional and friendly staff which resulted in a 4* rating. On arrival we were not happy with the cleanliness of the room, dirty curtains, ants nest in bathroom, generally grimy. However, the hotel manager upgraded us to a Bungalow which was better....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fantastic time we had. Our room was superb. The food was absolutely delicious. Vic and his team were fantastic, nothing was to much trouble for them. They treated every person as if they were family. We were very sad to leave and will definitely be going back. This hotel deserves at least six stars. Maybe it doesn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RayMandy
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RayMandy, We are pleased to hear that you had a very pleasant experience at Astroea Beach and that the team was able to meet your expectations and make you feel relaxed. We have passed on your comments to the whole team and we are all eager to welcome you once again soon. With kind regards Nanda Appadoo Hotel Manager...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Travelled business class, thank goodness, as the flights are long and the 4 hour stopover in Dubai would have been a lot worse without the lounge. The hotel is small and friendly but just not up to standard stated and our first holiday with Kuoni was at the least disappointing. Basic is acceptable in far flung areas but we have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela O
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela O, Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach for your holidays and also for your feedback posted on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you appreciated the dedication and friendliness of the team. However, we are sorry to read that the services offered did not fully lived up to your...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This was the last of 4 Hotels during our visit to Mauritius. We chose it because of its proximity to the Airport and because the Pictures we saw looked amazing and the Reviews good.... It was very disappointing and already started when our luggage was treated inappropriately (bags are valuable to us and were pulled along the pavement) after check...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sonni28
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonni28, Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach for your holidays and also for your feedback posted on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We are sorry to read that the services offered did not fully lived up to your expectations. We value all feedback from our guests as it always helps us to review and improve...

England
Reviewed 22 February 2017

If you are looking a a break to totally relax then this is the place. STAFF Any hotel is as only as good as the the staff The staff are excellent must mention Shivas ( keep going the way you are & you will go to the top) Vic ,Rama Jerry ,kin and the two ladies with a smile to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidjohn
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Davidjohn, Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach and for posting your review following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your valuable comments and we are delighted to know that our staff met your expectations. Your kind words have been conveyed to the team with a special mention to those listed in your review. We all...

Reviewed 19 February 2017

After our second visit to Astroea Beach Hotel, it has become a firm favourite in our family. We love the friendly and caring staff, who go out of their way to make you feel at home and welcome. Each of them bring such warmth to the environment and overall experience! The rooms are, I would say, of 3-star quality but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoolioCandy
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CoolioCandy, Thank you for your loyalty to Astroea Beach and also for sharing your experience to other reviewers. We are delighted to read your appreciation on the different services offered and that our overall team’s professionalism, and helpfulness contributed to make your stay memorable once again. We will share your comments to all our team members here at Astroea...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

A great small hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located right by the sea and you are just metres away from the coral so if you like snorkelling it's great (plus they provide free equipment). The staff where very helpful organising taxis and an excursion for us to go see the giant tortoises on a nearby...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonomo88
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jonomo88, Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach and for posting your review following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your valuable comments and we are delighted to know that our staff met your expectations. Your kind words have been conveyed to the team who are all eager to welcome you again soon. With kind regards...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We have selected Astroea Beach Hotel to spend our whole honeymoon there. Our main criteria was to have privacy in an atmosphere that can be seen in Bounty-commercials. After the first few hours, we have already started to plan our next trip due to the very positive shock that we experienced. The location of the hotel, the kindness of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fejeregyhazikozo
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Astroea Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fejeregyhazikozo, Thank you for having chosen Astroea Beach for this special occasion and also for posting a review on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read your appreciation on the different services offered and that our overall team’s professionalism, and helpfulness contributed to make your stay memorable. We will share your comments to all our team members here at...

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
1.6 km away
Preskil Beach Resort
Preskil Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Mahebourg
2,433 reviews
2.4 km away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
43.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
756 reviews
48.9 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,368 reviews
27.0 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Get away and forget everything else in this exclusive boutique hotel, hidden between the powdery white sand and magical turquoise lagoon of Pointe D'Esny, in the south-east of Mauritius. Exclusively for adults, this haven of peace in the evocative charm is ideal for couples on honeymoon to reconnect and escape the pace of modern life. Between idleness, play, pleasure reading, surrounded by staff dedicated to your every single whim and fancy, time stands still, and indulge in all your desires and pleasures without a second thought. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Astroea Beach Hotel

Address: Coastal road, Pointe d'Esny, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Price Range: $132 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astroea Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astroea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astroea Beach Hotel Mauritius/Mahebourg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Astroea Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Astroea Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only 65 there but some are beach facing giving the best views.”
  • Tide is out
692AlanS, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a Bungalow, they are dirty and smelly as the whole place, but spacious”
Sonni28, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bungalows / rooms at the front (rather than the back) have better access to the beach and nicer views...”
CoolioCandy, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room number 202”
fejeregyhazikozo, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Standard room not so good (had shower problems), we moved to a comfort room.. Better for beach view too,”
826StephenL, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$148
Orbitz.comUS$92
TripAdvisorUS$92
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates